Ask Emma Donoghue - Tuesday, April 22nd! discussion

Featured Chat - 2014 > Ask Emma!

Comments Showing 1-50 of 140 (140 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by Cynthia (new)

Cynthia Shannon  (cincindypat) Welcome to the group! Emma will be answering questions throughout the day on Tuesday, April 22nd in this thread only. In the meantime if you have a question for the author or just want to introduce yourself feel free to do so in this thread.

message 2: by Lizzie (new)

Lizzie (LizzieRW) | 1 comments Hello my name is Lizzie. My question would be for Emma, I read your book The Sealed Letter last year based on true events. How much research did you do for this book?

message 3: by Carly (new)

Carly Murphy | 1 comments Hi, my name is Carly, and I'm a writer and a big fan of Slammerkin and Room. I wondered if Ms. Donoghue could "talk" a little bit about her character development process.

message 4: by Lynsey (new)

Lynsey (bookgeek92) | 1 comments Hello, my name is Lynsey. Question I have for Emma is what inspires her writing?

message 5: by Yamilé Nadra (new)

Yamilé Nadra Hi everybody. I thank Goodreads, Emma, Cynthia and the rest of the mods for making this event possible, and for inviting me to take part in it.
I'm from Argentina, but I'm lucky to have a good enough level of English to have been able to read and truly enjoy "Room". Although the subject matter is a hard one, I think it was superbly written.
Children's POW in stories always catch my attention (I may read some books with themes I usually don't read if they have this well portrayed child telling the story).
And, Emma, your Jack is just wonderful. Even more so because he's really complex and multilayered.
In my opinion, you deliver one of the best portrayal of children I've ever read (and I've read lots).