Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Do you hire a copy editor or proofreader?

Comments Showing 1-25 of 25 (25 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sam (new)

Sam Friedman (sam_ramirez) | 83 comments Quick question for y'all: I need to know whether I need a copy editor AND a proofreader (one person does two passes), just a copy editor, or just a proofreader. I had an editor do two passes, one developmental and one line edit. I've also self-edited the full novel four times, and my novel is currently being (sort of) beta-read on Wattpad. I also have personal professional editing experience, but only for things like academic articles, grant requests, and technical documents only.
Did you hire one or both of these services?

message 2: by Ken (new)

Ken (kendoyle) | 364 comments If you've had a line edit and have done several rounds of editing, I'd go with a good proofreader. That's what I did for my books. (I'm also an editor by profession, like you, for scientific/technical work.)

message 3: by April (new)

April Wilson (aprilwilson) Unless your editing skills are supberb, you need both. You certainly need a proofreader. Be careful, though. Make sure you hire a proofreader who understands the difference between editing/proofreading fiction vs. nonfiction. There's a huge difference, and I've learned that not all proofreaders understand that.

April

message 4: by Morris (new)

Morris Graham (morris_g) I have employed both. Even though I am a professional editor, and do edit much of my own stuff, I always run it by my editor because, like most authors, I have blind spots sometimes concerning my own works. I have several beta readers who read it through and give me feedback. More is always better.

message 5: by Christina (new)