DumbleDORKS discussion

Harry Potter > What to read after HP

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dan (new)

Dan (danlewis) Hey everyone! I'm new to Goodreads and to this group. One thing I'm certainly not new to is the HP series. I've read the books more times than anyone would deem sane. Now I'm trying to branch out and find some similar work. Perhaps something more mature but still incorporating a magical element. Most recently, I read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and The Magicians series by Lev Grossman. I loved them! Anyone have any other suggestions for a 20-something HP lover who wants something a bit more mature?
Thanks everyone!

message 2: by Helena (new)

Helena Aeberli (thekindlyones) The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson. It's got some very HP elements and I'd totally recommend it!

message 3: by Just (new)

Just Chris (justchris934) | 2 comments There are a lot of books concerning the Arthurian Legend, and Merlin that you could check out. I was also recently introduced to the Mercy Thompson series. That series is going to be 11 books, and its based on our own world, but where witches, wizards, werewolves, vampires, etc live secretly in the world much like wizards to in Harry Potter. They don't go off to a secluded area like Hogwarts, but instead are everywhere around you. For example, Mercy Thompson, who is a fae, is a mechanic, and services vehicles for humans all of the time, unbeknownst to them.

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini!!!! If you've read Harry Potter you must read the Inheritance Cycle. The first book is called Eragon.

message 5: by Katherine (new)

Katherine (kitsilver) | 5 comments Yes! Inheritance forevs! Also 39 clues, Percy Jackson, and Seven Wonders if you're under 14 or 15, and Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, and Divergent if you're over 13 or 14.

message 6: by Nina (new)