Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

XI. Misc > Need advice--Is this a good idea?

Comments Showing 1-37 of 37 (37 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Groovy (new)

Groovy Lee | 15 comments I have a new book coming soon, and I could use your input. I'm a detailed author. And I thought that at the end of the book, I would invite readers to tell me certain things about the story if they so choose. I like to know what part of the story they liked, what part they didn't. Did they have a favorite character other than the hero and heroine? Were they surprised at any point? You know, the kind of things they talk about in a book club?

Do you think that's a good idea?

message 2: by Lenita (new)

Lenita Sheridan | 1010 comments Yes, it's a very good idea. It's kind of like a book study guide, or you could make it one.

message 3: by Groovy (new)

Groovy Lee | 15 comments Thanks, Lenita. Good idea.

message 4: by Jim (last edited Aug 10, 2015 01:45PM) (new)

Jim Vuksic | 1075 comments Groovy wrote: "I have a new book coming soon, and I could use your input. I'm a detailed author. And I thought that at the end of the book, I would invite readers to tell me certain things about the story if they..."

Groovy,

There is nothing wrong with an author directly requesting opinions from readers; however, since such a request meets the criteria for solicitation, a reader, electing to post a review of the book on a literary website, would be obligated by the FCC (Federal Trade Commission) to include a disclaimer stating so. Some consider solicited reviews to be questionable.

Since you already have a growing following, I suggest you not include the request and allow the novel to garner input from readers on its own merits.

Whatever you decide, I wish you success.

message 5: by William (new)

William Soppitt | 14 comments Different.