On the Southern Literary Trail discussion

The Clearing
This topic is about The Clearing
Group Reads: Post-1980 > The Clearing: Final thoughts, February 2014

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Larry Bassett | 0 comments OK! So who are the strong women in this book and why do you think so?

Larry Bassett | 0 comments I am just beginning Chapter 9 and am still looking for evidence of strength in any of the female characters. Let me be so bold as to say that none of the female characters have been terribly significant through the first eight chapters. We have had the wife, the absent wife and the housekeeper/cook in the first third of the book. This is an overwhelmingly male society here in the swamp, not to mention on the battlefield.

message 3: by Laura, "The Tall Woman" (new) - rated it 4 stars

Laura | 1948 comments Mod
I think both wives are strong because they can actually handle the climate of the south that Lillian for sure is not used to in the north. They are surrounded by mostly men without families who are uneducated and have tendencies to get drunk and out of hand. They must deal with the fact that their husband has cheated with the house maid and has a son which neither one originally has when Walter is born. These are just a few thoughts but they handle it all with a lot of grace and humility and dont run home to the familiarity and the comforts of where they came from They make demands like bringing in family men, a school , church services and they embrace this son that's not their blood into the family.

message 4: by Laura, "The Tall Woman" (new) - rated it 4 stars

Oh Larry, I just read you're second comment. I think I've told you too much, please forgive!

Larry Bassett | 0 comments Laura wrote: "Oh Larry, I just read you're second comment. I think I've told you too much, please forgive!"

That's OK here, Laura! I am spoiling for a spoiler.