Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Adding New Books > Need a little help, please...

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gerald (new)

Gerald Dawson | 6 comments I am a newbie as a goodreads author and have discovered that even following the guidelines on posting a new book to my author's page that the link to send someone to a site where they can purchase it isn't working. I'd like to find out what I am doing wrong...please help

Gerald

message 2: by Cait (new)

Cait (tigercait) | 5005 comments Gerald, most of the purchase links work from the ISBN or ASIN fields. If your books are for sale through major booksellers such as Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes&Noble, or Kobo, you may have multiple editions of some books and you probably have an ISBN or ASIN for each edition.

* If you have a 10-digit ISBN, you can enter this in the ISBN field
* If you have a 13-digit ISBN, you can enter this in the ISBN-13 field
* If you have an ASIN, you can enter this in the ASIN field (there is a toggle next to the ISBN fields) instead of entering an ISBN, even if you also have an ISBN

On ISBNs:
* If you have a 13-digit number from Barnes&Noble which begins 294-, this is from their proprietary ISBN-13 sequence; you can enter this in the ISBN-13 field and leave the ISBN field blank
* If you have a 13-digit number from Kobo which begins 123-, this is from their proprietary ISBN-13 sequence; you can enter this in the ISBN-13 field and leave the ISBN field blank
* If you have a 10-digit ISBN and also a 13-digit ISBN which begins 978- and has the next 9 digits matching the beginning of the 10-digit number, you can enter the 10-digit ISBN in the ISBN field and the 13-digit ISBN in the ISBN-13 field; otherwise use only the ISBN field or the ISBN-13 field, not both

Does that help?

message 3: by Gerald (new)