Beyond Reality discussion

General SF&F discussion > Alternating POVs

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Timothy (new)

Timothy Ward (timothycward) Opinions vary, obviously, but as an aspiring author, I'm curious what my generation thinks about a few POV questions:

1) When do you feel it is too late to introduce a new POV?

2) What do you think about stories that insert a secondary character as a POV? (even if there are already three for the main characters, and even if their POV chapters or scenes will be minimal)

I would like to say that I can utilize POV switching for places that make the story better, but I get that readers have expectations. I don't mind bending those, but I also don't want to take them out of the story.

message 2: by Andreas (new)

Andreas A fresh sample that I read recently uses POVs in an unexpected way:
Abercrombie in The Heroes introduces POVs for just a couple of paragraphs in battle scenes - as soon as they die, he switches over in a cinematic way to the next POV who caused the first one's death.

message 3: by Timothy (new)

Timothy Ward (timothycward) That's the kind of helpful example I'm looking for, Andreas. Thanks!

I recently finished Beyond Exile, which blends first person journal entries, third limited and third omniscient. The third omniscient took a little to get used to, as he would switch from soldier to soldier, sometimes in the same paragraph, but reflecting as a writer, it started to make sense. I wouldn't want to have read those scenes from only one pov because of the action I'd miss, and once I realized what his cues were for switching, it didn't take me out. I learned to expect the head hopping and thought it added to the frantic pace of running from zombies.

Isis Unbound by Allyson Byrd won a Stoker Award a couple years ago, and she freely switched povs in a third omniscient style.

message 4: by Kelly (last edited Nov 27, 2013 07:40AM) (new)