Indie Authors Monthly Magazine For Authors and Readers discussion

The Prophecy (A Dragon's Tale, #1)
This topic is about The Prophecy
Book Discussions > Character Driven - writing

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mark (new)

Mark Boyd | 13 comments As a relatively new author, I am always curious as to how authors develop their styles. The more I write the more that I find myself being "character driven" and getting as many "aha's" during the course of the story development as I hope the reader does with the finished product. I have never used an outline. I typically don't know wholly where the story will end up when I start for the day but I am always pleasantly surprised when I finally see the threads my characters are weaving for me. I sometimes feel like a "newbie" director with a room full of seasoned actors putting the movie together. Does that make sense to anyone else??

message 2: by L.L. (new)

L.L. Watkin (LLWatkin) | 41 comments It does sound familiar. I would rarely start without any outline but commonly it concerns "world events" - ie forces external to characters which are driving the plot, invasions, bombing, political shenanigans and so forth. Within that the characters have to react true to themselves and I leave that very flexible as I go along.

message 3: by Rachel Annie (new)

Rachel Annie (snapdragoness) George RR Martin breaks down his ideas of two kinds of writers in this quote. Pretty neat metaphor.

message 4: by G.G. (new)

G.G. (ggatcheson) | 169 comments Oh love that quote!
I guess I'm a gardener myself. A few times I had plans for the story to go one way and somehow my characters changed it for me, and it always turned out for the better. I guess they know their lives better than I will ever do. :P

message 5: by Mark (new)

Mark Boyd | 13 comments The Prophecy (A Dragon's Tale, #1) by Mark Boyd