Arrangement and Description: Archivists At Large discussion

Books for the profession > So you want to be an archivist...

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michele (new)

Michele | 23 comments Mod
What book(s) would you suggest for someone who says they're interested in special collections or archives as a profession?

message 2: by Maria (new)

Maria Wang (dodo117) | 3 comments I am also interested in Special Collections Records & Archives as a profession. Would any professional have a recommendation for a MLIS degree program at a specific university? There are also 3-year dual degree programs offered with MLIS and MA in Art History. Would you say the MA comes in handy in the long-run? Any advice offered is greatly appreciated!

message 3: by Jenny (new)

Jenny | 3 comments Hi Maria, I graduated with an MLS, specializing in Archives and Records Management, from the Univeristy of Maryland, which was a great program and close to DC, so the internship and practicum options were plentiful.

When looking at a school I think there are a number of things to consider: location, cost, employment rates for students after graduation, where students end up working after graduation, internship and practicum opportunities while in school (the first job can be difficult to get if you've never interacted with a collection), financial support (grants, scholarship, assistantships), and where there's a local arhival community you can interac with(it's important to get to know other archivists).

The dual degree is a personal choice and entirely based on your interests. I opted not to pursue a dual degree with a MA in history, although I love history, I couldn't decide on a focus for graduate school. It can be an asset and differentiator, but it's not necessary for finding a job.

Jennifer

message 4: by Jenny (new)