Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > To change or not to change....

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kim (new)

Kim | 5 comments Hi, I'm a new librarian and before I go changing a pet peeve of mine, I thought I'd get some advice (because I am new after all).

There is a series I love that has been given a series title of "Eugenides, Book x" by Megan Whalen Turner. The reason this bugs me is because Amazon and almost every other blogger out there is calling this series "The Queen's Thief, Book x".

So, do I change it?

Thanks, Kim

message 2: by Eva Marie (new)

Eva Marie (evamarie3578) | 755 comments Don't take my opinion because I'm not a super user but I figured I'd throw my two cents in anyway.
I wouldn't change it myself. Amazon and a lot of others sites have mistakes sometimes and I think the basic premise of us being able to make changes is to have listing correct in relation to what the author has done. If the author is Turner that you mentioned above, I myself would leave it as she wants.
Someone else will surely chime in though and I do know how it feels to have a pet peeve like that! :)

message 3: by Kim (last edited Jun 10, 2009 10:18AM) (new)

Kim | 5 comments Thank you for replying.

I don't believe the series title came from the author. Her website nor the publisher has given it this title. I believe it came from someone here within Goodreads. Even Wiki uses "The Queen's Thief" title. By changing it, it makes it easier for people to do research on it. By leaving it, it adds to the confusion.

message 4: by Eva Marie (new)

Eva Marie (evamarie3578) | 755 comments Ah- I thought the title came from the author or publisher. Have you checked the librarian log for that book listing? It might be able to clue you in to who added it, if it was added by a GR member. Maybe then you could inquire to why it was done?