Weekly Short Stories Contest and Company! discussion

164 views
Writing and Publishing > Websites for reading and writing.

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by M (new)

M | 11041 comments Annetta came up with the idea for this discussion thread. Her question: “What websites do you frequently visit for reading and writing, and why?”


message 2: by Edward (new)

Edward (edwardtheresejr) | 2434 comments For writing, I end up getting lost in tvtropes.org a lot. In fact, I have three tabs of it open right now.

TvTropes is a collection of techniques writers use in all mediums. These tropes are given some clever name ("Sunnydale Syndrome" being one of my favorites), a description that's usually very precise, and plenty of examples of said trope being played straight, averted, inverted, subverted, lampshaded, deconstructed, or otherwise played with.

From their homepage: "Tropes are devices and conventions that a writer can reasonably rely on as being present in the audience members' minds and expectations. On the whole, tropes are not clichés. The word clichéd means "stereotyped and trite." In other words, dull and uninteresting. We are not looking for dull and uninteresting entries. We are here to recognize tropes and play with them, not to make fun of them."

You can learn a bit about the history of writing and develop a perspective of when certain idea works. (The wiki doesn't usually pass judgement on examples of tropes and certain not the tropes themselves, but you can use your own discernment when reading familiar examples.) Oh, and don't worry; spoilers are hidden ... unless It Was His Sled.


message 3: by Caitlan (new)

Caitlan (lionesserampant) | 2869 comments I love TVTropes. Fantastic.

Well, the website I frequent the most is DeviantArt. I post all of my writing to it, and I follow a lot of really talented writers there.


message 4: by Saira (new)

Saira (herumouni) | 667 comments I didn't know DeviantArt did writing.

I go to writing.com to post my writing. Members can set their stuff to registered users and higher or allow anyone to review their writing. they have different entry forms for different styles of writing, and for certain things you do have to pay, but if you really use it, is worth it.


message 5: by Caitlan (new)

Caitlan (lionesserampant) | 2869 comments DeviantArt hosts every single kind of art form out there.


message 6: by Daniel (new)

Daniel Rosler (ronnydazzler) | 92 comments Kat, what's the deal with DeviantArt's free vs premium subscriptions?


message 7: by Edward (new)

Edward (edwardtheresejr) | 2434 comments She'd know better than me, but so far as I can tell premium allows to set prices using DeviantArt currency for permission to use or for services like criticism or commissioning a whole new piece. I'm not sure if you need premium to pay for commissions, but I'd assume so.


message 8: by Caitlan (new)

Caitlan (lionesserampant) | 2869 comments Okay, so, basically, deviantArt is a free platform to use. You can post your art there, get feedback, join groups, interact with others, almost anything you can imagine.

But they've got to make money to keep running somehow, right? So they created the Premium Subscription. It adds a new dimension to the site that wasn't there. You can use more boxes to customize your pages. You can use journal skins to spice up your journals. You can request a formal critique on all of your artwork.

Here's a basic overview that they give: https://www.deviantart.com/checkout/?... (the chart on the side)

Basically, its like adding a fourth dimension to a 3D site that exists in a 2D world.


message 9: by Martin (new)

Martin | 82 comments Okay, so I know some sites for reading comics and stuff.

Okay so, Smack Jeeves is a cool site for reading people's comics. They make comics for every fandom and a lot of cool original ones! You can even post your own! Im just gonna warn you guys that this one isn't 100% kid-friendly and comics range cute and fuzzy to death-y and swear-y. Here are some comics. Super Cute + Nice concept
Swearing but a cute art style.

Mspaint Adventures is a cool website with comics by Andrew Hussie. There are many comics but I'd recommend Homestuck and Problem Sleuth. (the links are to the goodreads's pages but both can be read fully for free on the mspaint adventures link) Both have swearing and other stuff but both are popular. And Homestuck, well, its REALLY long. (8725 pages for Homestuck and Its not even a complete comic, but WOW is it good!)


Did I do this right?

Oh well.


message 10: by Garrison (new)

Garrison Kelly (cybador) | 9054 comments You know what else a paid Deviant Art membership is good for? Not having to look at disgusting advertisement banners for tooth pulling games. Looking at that particular banner so many times caused me to lose my appetite for a while.


message 11: by Martin (last edited Mar 07, 2014 05:14AM) (new)

Martin | 82 comments If you download addblock for computers you dont have to look at adds ever. And its free. But its not a reading or writing site so...


message 12: by [deleted user] (last edited Jun 26, 2014 10:55PM) (new)

Booksie is a writing website my friend and I found, it's all about writing.


message 13: by Taliah (new)

Taliah Lagons | 77 comments http://www.Writing.Com?rfrid=taliah_l

Writing.com—most obvious site name ever. I'm kind of addicted to all the contests and stuff, and the people there are really nice!


message 15: by Anne (new)

Anne (annefrn) | 916 comments As someone without formal training in writing, I found Fiction University very helpful. (it's a blog by Janice Hardy and although it focuses on novels, it has some very good general writing tips, too.

Writer's Digest and Scribophile are also interesting.


message 16: by C. J., Atm Seeker in the "Lin Kuei" (new)

C. J. Scurria (goodreadscomcj_scurria) | 4214 comments Kind of wish this guy still had his website because it influenced me as well as many writers. He is on Twitter now but have trouble seeing if he has a new site because it seems he just has links to others' sites (though I could be wrong!).

Unknown Screenwriter: https://twitter.com/UnkScreenwriter


message 17: by Caitlan (new)

Caitlan (lionesserampant) | 2869 comments http://www.scribophile.com/dashboard/ Scribophile is a really great place to get guaranteed critiques.


message 18: by Emmanuel (new)

Emmanuel Nataf Hey guys!

Here's a quick message to present you Reedsy! We are building a community of top publishing professionals (editors, illustrators and soon marketers) to work with authors: https://reedsy.com/

Reedsy is very curated: so far, 300 amazing publishing professionals selected among 6,000 applications. They are coming from the best publishing houses with hundreds of bestsellers in their portfolios. Here are some of them:

Editors:
Jane Friedman: https://reedsy.com/jane-friedman
Rebecca Heyman: https://reedsy.com/rebecca-heyman
Kiele Raymond: https://reedsy.com/kiele-raymond
Averill Buchanan: https://reedsy.com/averill-buchanan
Tom Flood: https://reedsy.com/tom-flood
Richard Sheehan: https://reedsy.com/richard-sheehan
John Hudspith: https://reedsy.com/john-hudspith
Dominick Montalto: https://reedsy.com/dominick-montalto
Harrison Demchick: https://reedsy.com/harrison-demchick

Designers:
Emma Graves: https://reedsy.com/emma-graves
Mark Karis: https://reedsy.com/mark-karis
Kerri Resnick: https://reedsy.com/kerri-resnick
Alejandro Largo: https://reedsy.com/alejandro-largo
Nicole Caputo: https://reedsy.com/nicole-caputo
Kate Gaughran: https://reedsy.com/kate-gaughran
Daniel Cullen: https://reedsy.com/daniel-cullen
Mark Ecob: https://reedsy.com/mark-ecob

Any thoughts or comments are more than welcome!

Emmanuel

reedsy


message 19: by Garrison (new)

Garrison Kelly (cybador) | 9054 comments http://www.inkitt.com/home

There's a contest going on at this website for short fantasy stories and I recently entered the WSS classic "Sitka the Nose Biter" in that competition. If you guys would send a few votes my way, that would be awesome. Here's the link to my story and at the bottom of the page is the heart icon where votes are taken. If you haven't read it yet, do so. You'll enjoy it!

http://www.inkitt.com/stories/14288


message 20: by Priyanka (new)

Priyanka | 262 comments http://foldingstory.com/

A website to create new or add to any old micro-fiction story of 150-character length within 4 minutes. Fun way to get rid of the pesky bug called writer's block.


back to top