Book Buying Addicts Anonymous discussion

How many of you want to write a book of your own?

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bean (last edited Jan 31, 2008 08:43AM) (new)

Bean (beanfrijoles) i'm not even halfway into it and already i am in love and this is another book i am having a relationship with. and it is so refreshing after having just finished a Faulkner.

Apparently they are making a film of it, which seems to be happening to every bestseller or whatnot, which comes out June of this year.

the IMDB profile leaves hints of a confirmation of the inevitable: that the book is always better. i still think i am going to see it, but some qualms of staying true to the story. For example, Rachel McAdams? she's great, but there is a reason that Clare is supposed to resemble a Botticelli.

edit: oops, apologies, i didn't see the similar post to mine. i'm new to Goodreads.

message 2: by Che (new)

Che (ladibug) 1)Brother Odd- Dean Koontz
2)Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister- Gregory Maguire

message 3: by Brent (new)

Brent | 12 comments Part of my addiction has always been connected with wanting to write a book (or many) of my own. I dreamed of it when I was a kid and then decided I couldn't. Two years ago a group of kids at work challenged me to follow my dream, and I began to write. Now I have finished a rough draft of my first manuscript. The amazing thing is that I found two best selling authors to mentor me through the process. They have an amazing program where they are helping me with every step of the process. They are even teaching me how to market the book as well as writing it. They give me hope when I feel overwhelmed.

message 4: by Malcolm (new)

Malcolm (malcolm1952) | 4 comments Well done Brent. Remember that writing is mostly re-writing and marketing your book is just as much work as writing it. Malcolm Watts author
Reflections from Shadow

message 5: by Meirav (new)