Random Ramblings discussion

Self-respect

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sarah, The Random Nerd (new)

Sarah (agentsd) | 11810 comments Mod
What does it mean to have self-respect? Can you learn to respect yourself? How?

Jocelyn (Ducky) (ducky113) | 2640 comments I honestly have no idea.

message 3: by Sarah, The Random Nerd (new)

I suppose I have vague ideas, but I'm still learning and expanding the ideas in my mind. A friend of mine has very basic ideas, like self-respect being respecting yourself enough to wash yourself daily and nourish yourself and all that, but I tend to think there's more to say about self-respect on an emotional level. Making sure your relationships are healthy, not letting the opinions of others be the sole way you judge yourself, taking care of your needs, even if you have to put them above the needs of others sometimes, etc.

Jocelyn (Ducky) (ducky113) | 2640 comments Yeah, it's sort of about being on good terms with yourself: not lying to yourself, knowing that you are you and that is special, not letting people drag you down easily. Stuff like that.

message 5: by Sarah, The Random Nerd (new)

The funny thing about that is I think a lot of times we don't know that we're lying to ourselves, because it's so subconscious, and of course we believe ourselves because sometimes it's the thing we trust most.

Jocelyn (Ducky) (ducky113) | 2640 comments That makes sense, I think. It makes sense that we wouldn't trust anyone but ourselves. We sort of know that we're real, and what we think is pretty powerful.

message 7: by Sarah, The Random Nerd (new)

It's scary though, because that also means that we take our own word as law. So if we think we're great--that's that. But if we think we're awful, oftentimes we won't listen when people tell us otherwise.

Jocelyn (Ducky) (ducky113) | 2640 comments Agreed. You have to listen to others but believe in yourself.