The Sword and Laser discussion

Among Others
This topic is about Among Others
2013 Reads > AO: Audible version - half way through

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Duncan (3dmonkey) | 33 comments I just started part 2 of the Audible version, enjoying it quite a bit. It took me a bit to get used to what I would characterize as somewhat of a stream-of-consciousness style, but I am thoroughly engrossed now.

My question to others listening along: is the narrator shifting her accent from Welsh to English? At fist it seemed very thickly Welsh, but it seems now as if she has modified it to sound like it has been affected by the upper crust English girls the main character is boarding with (and mostly hates.) I'm not an accent expert, so maybe I'm wrong, but it does seem very cleverly done if so.

Duncan

message 2: by Serendi (new)

Serendi | 820 comments I'm not that far, but someone linked a bio of the narrator, who's an actress living in New York and working with a dialect coach, so it seems reasonable.

Leesa (leesalogic) | 625 comments I'm about where you are and I'm completely enchanted at this point. I find that if I read anything soon after listening, I read it with a Welsh accent.

I haven't noticed her shifting unless she's using another voice for another character.

I love her rolling rrrs.

Katie (calenmir) | 211 comments Y'all are making me wish I listened to it...I went on youtube and searched for "Welsh accent" just to get a fix, ha!

Nathan (tenebrous) | 377 comments I never noticed that it changed that much listening to it, though someone in the book later comments Mori's accent had shifted.

Duncan (3dmonkey) | 33 comments I got to the part where she says her friends tell her that her accent is sounding more "posh." I'm now convinced it is intentional on the part of the actress doing the narrating, and I think it's positively brrrill!