2021 Reading Challenge discussion

The Princess Bride
This topic is about The Princess Bride
ARCHIVE 2013 > JUNE 2013: The Princess Bride: Introduction to Chapter Five

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kara, TBR Twins (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kara (karaayako) | 3941 comments This thread is for the Introduction through chapter five.

Enjoy!

Londa (londalocs) | 117 comments Is anyone reading? This is my first time discussing with this group and I don't know how you all usually start. My edition has two introductions (25th ANN year & 30th ANN year), The Princess Bride, Buttercup's Baby Explanation, Buttercup's Baby Chapter One.

I skimmed through introduction parts and started with the explanation of how he came to abridge 'Morgenstern's work'

What did you all think of his childhood story and his description of his wife and son? I have never researched the book before, so it took me a while to realize his trick with the whole Morgenstern thing. Once I did, I thought it was a clever writing style, but it still started to bore me and I wanted him to just get to the story. All the introductions felt drawn out and almost put the brakes on my reading the book before I even got started.

message 3: by Kara, TBR Twins (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kara (karaayako) | 3941 comments Hmm...looks like we're a little slow this month. :)

I saw the movie first, so I thought it was totally bizarre that there was a whole back-story about the abridging. I didn't like it at first, but then it kind of grew on me. I ended up really enjoying it.

message 4: by Nik (last edited Jun 20, 2013 07:59PM) (new) - added it

Nik (bleepnik) | 852 comments I watched the film many years ago, but never read the book. My edition has one introduction, which ends with his son's birthday. Interestingly, I rarely read introductions and forwards, and this time I just happened to do so, without realising that it's actually relevant to the story.