Writerpedia discussion

advice requests > Cant write a frikken' short story

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chloe (new)

Chloe Smith (literatepea) okay, i love to write, ive been writing for about seven months (though it seems much much much longer than that) and i cant write a frikken' short story! And i thought it would be easy!
Its not that i cant come up with ideas, its the exact opposite. I cant STOP coming up with ideas.
I'll get an idea - usually very small and basic.
And then i invent and invent and invent when really i should tell tell tell.
I was proud, because for the first time, i wrote a sci-fi SHORT story. seven pages. i was very proud. Only i cant do it again. it was basically one time thing. i need lots of advice from all you amazing short story writers! thank you so so so much!

message 2: by Marc (new)

Marc (authorguy) | 26 comments I know how you feel. I started with an idea that I thought would extend to maybe 200 pages, and it went to over 400. Every time I try to write a short story it ends up a long story. I had 6 ideas for a short story contest and could only use one because it was the only one I could tell in 3500 words. Fortunately, a friend has an anthology coming up about vampires, and some of my story ideas can be done with a bit more room to tell them in.
That's the hard part about short stories, the lines have to be more boldly drawn, the characters more powerful, because you've got only a little space to put the story. Making the same words do double- or triple-duty is a skill not every long-form writer can learn or do well.

message 3: by I.J. (new)