Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors discussion

Introductions > Intro

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Armen (new)

Armen Chakmakjian | 6 comments My name is Armen Chakmakjian. The first part of my name "chakmak" is the word for Flint in several middle-eastern languages. Currently I'm a Manager of Product Development at Intuit's Platform as a Service Group (PaaS-G) managing Intuit QuickBase and the Intuit Partner Platform

My main reason for being here is that I've written a Sci-Fi novel and published it on Kindle and I'm here to learn more about everything.

Here's a few things about me:

* I love gadgets, whether electronic or a swiss army knife
* I play the guitar
* I teach Sunday School in the Armenian Church
* I like a nice glass of wine with my dinner
* I'm working my way to an MBA at Bentley U.
* I went to RIT and got a degree in Computer Engineering
* I graduated from Fairfield Prep
* I've worked for Digital, Teradyne, Lakeview and Intuit
* You can find me on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter
* My blog is at http://mynamemeansflintstone.wordpres...
* My book website is at http://web.mac.com/armenchakmakjian/U...

My favorite quote of all time, which I need to paraphrase now because I've lost the original text, was attributed to Admiral Spruance after Midway. It goes something like "Historians will write that this event or that choice made the difference here or there. While you're there though, it's a hell of a lot of groping around in the dark". When I first wrote this I forgot my other favorite quote which is a bit more serious: “Gentlemen, you will permit me to put on my spectacles, for, I have grown not only gray, but almost blind in the service of my country.“ which was said by George Washington, putting on spectacles for the first time in front his officers in 1783, while reading a note from Congress about their back pay about which they were talking rebellion.