THE Group for Authors! discussion

Writer's Circle > Purpose of putting a book on Goodreads

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Carl (last edited Mar 19, 2013 05:43PM) (new)

Carl Lee (carllee2850) | 42 comments My book, A Stone's Throw Away, by Carl Lee, is available on Amazon.

While soliciting reviews from an indie list, I received a response that asked why my book wasn’t on Goodreads.

I had joined this website back in 2010, posted a few chapters of my work, had a few people come look, but that was it.

Decided this place was pretty dead, and basically haven’t been back since. When I did come back, I deleted what I posted and found one person friended me. (I accepted, and will accept all new connect request as well)

Now I see this site is no longer dead. And though my seniority is up there, I’m really a newbie.

Questions:

What’s the purpose of putting my book on Goodreads?

I see a lot of book covers, is that what the indie reviewer meant to put on GoodReads?

If so, maybe there’s more than one way to put your book on Goodreads? I’m not interested in posting chapters here again for the world to read, I could just give it away on Amazon, if that were my inclination. Which, I think, brings me back to questions 1 & 2. (hope I’m being clear with what I’m trying to convey about my dilemma as to putting my book on Goodreads)

message 2: by C.P. (last edited Mar 19, 2013 05:42PM) (new)

C.P. Lesley (cplesley) | 199 comments Carl, Goodreads is, in effect, an Internet book club. So one advantage to listing your book on GR is that readers who have found your book elsewhere can rate or review it here, which may spark some interest in those readers’ friends.

You set up an author profile, link to your book, upload your cover (and a sample if you like), and wait to see what happens, if anything.

message 3: by rivka (new)