Action/Adventure Aficionados discussion

Authors > Why didn't I know this about this guy? (Facts about authors that I didn't put together)

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by The Pirate Ghost, Long John Silvers Wanna-be (new)

The Pirate Ghost (Formerly known as the Curmudgeon) (pirateghost) | 5327 comments Mod
Ever look up an author only to find that the man had been involved in something that was totally out of character from what you thought? Either bad or good, post it here...(of course those of you who know me, know I like the good stuff better than the bad.)

message 2: by Danielle The Book Huntress (Winter Frost Queen) , Literary Adrenaline Junkie (last edited Dec 28, 2012 04:48PM) (new)

Danielle The Book Huntress (Winter Frost Queen)  (gatadelafuente) | 4710 comments Mod
I thought it was really cool when I found out that James Rollins was a veterinarian. I'm a veterinarian who likes to write, so it was very encouraging to me. People tend to think that scientists are too right-brained to be creative, but I love art as much as I love science.

message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim (jimmaclachlan) | 794 comments I was surprised to find out that L.E. Modesitt Jr. was some kind of economics expert. He worked as one for the government & it lends a lot of realism to his fantasy worlds. His wife teaches singing. His Soprano Sorceress series isn't my favorite, but the musical sorceries are well done.

message 4: by The Pirate Ghost, Long John Silvers Wanna-be (new)

The Pirate Ghost (Formerly known as the Curmudgeon) (pirateghost) | 5327 comments Mod
Both Cool. I liked that about Rollins and I had no idea that Modesitt was an economics major. That's interesting. Now I understand some details in the few books of his I've read.