Indie Book Club discussion

Writer's Corner > Self Publish or not?

Comments (showing 1-18 of 18) (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sarah (new)

Sarah (saraheb94) | 5 comments I wonder if anyone could help me please...

I am currently writing my first young adult's book and I suppose you could accuse me of looking ahead here, but I'm thinking about whether or not to self publish using Amazon for example, or whether to send a copy of the manuscript to a Publishing company.

I would like to get my story out there because I think my idea is quite original and my friends and family agreed.

Although I don't want to lose any authortiy over my work by going through a publishing company, I doubt I would be able to handle the process of self publishing along with all the promotion etc. as I am a student teacher and have a very busy schedule.

Futhermore, I don't even know what would happen if I gave my book to a publisher(the process and such).

I'm also at a loss of knowing which publisher to try and use. I know that it would be best to look for a publisher that already has books of the same style as my own, but that is proving difficult.

Could anyone recommened the best course of action or tell me anything that may help me make the right decision?

Thank you :)

message 2: by Christopher (new)

Christopher Bunn | 40 comments Sarah, congratulations on writing your book. Huge achievement. As far as your questions...I'll give you my two cents. There's a lot of different ways to answer, so I'll ramble a bit.

First, what exactly do you want out of publishing a book? A career? Validation as a writer? Income? You probably need to answer that question first before drilling down on which way to go.