From the Bookshelf of Ms. Reviews & Bookmarks

A Mercy
by
Why we're reading this
THE HAUNTED AND THE HOLY
Marilyn Sanders Mobley

Review of A Mercy
By Toni Morrison
Alfred A. Knopf

Readers fam…more

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

No group discussions for this book yet.

What Members Thought

Ms. Online
THE HAUNTED AND THE HOLY
Marilyn Sanders Mobley


Review of A Mercy
By Toni Morrison
Alfred A. Knopf

Readers familiar with the fiction of Toni Morrison will not be surprised that her latest novel returns to the subject of slavery, one she has already mined with exquisite power. Though the psychological implications of enslavement are as much on her mind as they were in her Pulitzer Prize-winning Beloved, in A Mercy she probes the machine of slavery itself— the routine acts of closing deals and settling
...more
Kelly
Jan 17, 2012 rated it really liked it
This book is short at 167 pages but that is beneficial since it often requires rereading of passages. This is due to the narrator switching several times and the reader not always being sure of who is doing the talking. Despite this (sometimes frustrating) aspect, this book is beautifully written. It is like a puzzle when put together which makes the work more worthwhile. Morrison is so eloquent and does such a good job of wrapping the whole story together in the end. Often in this work her writ ...more
Kristen
Mar 12, 2009 rated it it was ok
I thought I'd love this book and was surprised not to. The time period and subject matter promised to be interesting -- the 1680s in the land that would one day be VA and MD, with a cast of characters that included a slave from Africa via Barbados, her daughter -- born into slavery and given up by her mother for a life she hoped would be better, a native American woman, a free African man, indentured servants, European settlers of various religious persuasions. But I felt the character developme ...more
Laura (booksnob)
Oct 03, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to Laura (booksnob) by: Clare
This first Toni Morrison book that I have loved and understood. Well understood may be not be entirely correct since Morrison writing is somewhat difficult for me at times. Nonetheless, I would recommend this book to an average reader, it was entertaining, historically accurate and thought provoking. I couldn't put it down. I may need to go back and reread some of her other books I read in my youth. Or maybe not, I don't think I could read the Bluest Eye again.
Looking forward to discussing this
...more
Morgan
Aug 27, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Usually listening to audiobooks puts me to sleep, but listening to Morrison read her own text worked for me. The novel felt too short; I wanted to know more about these characters.
Nikita T. Mitchell
Jun 23, 2009 rated it did not like it
Long gone (ok only recently) are the days when I read a book to the end, for better or for worse, before judging it. There are just too many good ones out there... Sorry Ms. Morrison. Next!
Kristi
Oct 17, 2008 marked it as to-read
Shelves: sad
Angie
Sep 12, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Mo
Sep 12, 2009 marked it as to-read
Sueb
Mar 18, 2010 marked it as to-read
Alma
Jan 16, 2012 marked it as to-read
Megan
Jun 10, 2015 marked it as to-read
andrea
Dec 31, 2008 marked it as to-read
Shelves: borrow-it, fiction
aarthi
Dec 02, 2008 marked it as to-read
kim
Feb 05, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Marie
Oct 09, 2008 marked it as to-read
Jessica
Jun 04, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Cherelle
Apr 01, 2014 rated it did not like it
Susan
Jul 12, 2012 rated it really liked it
Deidre
Apr 28, 2012 marked it as to-read
Bridgett
Apr 03, 2012 marked it as to-read
Edina
Nov 18, 2009 marked it as to-read
Leah
Oct 29, 2009 marked it as to-read
Shelves: fiction
Diana
Aug 30, 2009 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Becs
Aug 04, 2009 marked it as to-read
Wild Women Reviews
Jul 25, 2009 marked it as to-read
Ashley
Jun 17, 2009 rated it really liked it
Jillian
May 18, 2009 marked it as to-read
« previous 1