Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Hidden Code” as Want to Read:
The Hidden Code
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Hidden Code

by
3.92  ·  Rating details ·  72 ratings  ·  16 reviews
For fans of Lara Croft and The Da Vinci Code comes this exciting young adult adventure!

Eleven years ago, Hannah Hawkins’ parents disappeared while traveling abroad. Presumed dead, Hannah and her uncle are shocked when a letter from her mom arrives right after Hannah’s sixteenth birthday. By piecing together cryptic hints from the note and other clues left behind, Hannah re
...more
Hardcover, 328 pages
Published September 10th 2019 by Cbay Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Hidden Code, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Hidden Code

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  72 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Hidden Code
Lacy
As soon as P.J. Hoover announced that The Hidden Code was being released as an audiobook, I knew I had to get it. I enjoyed it as much as I did the first time. 🎧🤗

Original Review:
The Da Vinci Code meets The Conspiracy of Us meets National (International?) Treasure. 3.5 is my official rating but I'm rounding up because I enjoyed the book.

Hannah's scientist parents disappeared 11 years ago looking for the mysterious Code of Enoch. We don't know much about it except that it can save or destroy the
...more
Alexa Abee
Dec 09, 2019 rated it liked it
You can check out this review and my other reviews at Writing the Universe

Title: The Hidden Code
Author: P.J. Hoover
Pub. Date: September 10, 2019
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

This will be a short spoiler free review!

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It was a fun adventure read and I’m always down for an Indian Jones/Lara Croft/National Treasure kind of story. It was a little predictable and made for a pretty easy read. Once the ball starts rolling, it doesn’t stop until the end. This almost felt like a prequel to
...more
M.J Rice
Dec 23, 2020 rated it it was ok
I would like to start off by saying I thought the idea was phenomenal! It was unique and well thought out. However, I feel as if this story was lacking a bit in terms of characters, and basically getting me excited for what was going to happen next.
#1: Characters:
It is 100% just me, but I found the characters super boring and cliche. Hannah had an "I'm not like other girls" complex that really annoyed me. She was said to be very intelligent, but nowhere is it stated her specific expertise. I und
...more
Liz Friend
The story: Hannah’s parents disappeared years ago and everyone thinks they’re dead—everyone, that is, except Hannah. When the teen finds the tracing of a missing artifact, she and frenemy Ethan Oliver realize it’s part of an ancient puzzle...the solution to which could change life on earth forever and bring Hannah’s parents back from the dead—or possibly just destroy life on earth. Is it wrong to care more about your own family than about everyone else on the planet? If the evil corporate bosses ...more
Taylor
Feb 18, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own
This was a really fun read. It is very similar to Jules Verne’s Journey to the Center of the Earth with a bit of Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code thrown in.

Hannah’s parents went missing eleven years ago, and when a letter shows up at their estate, there’s a chance they might be alive. With the son of her enemy, Hannah and her uncle travel across the world to uncover the Code of Enoch, the map of genetics that allowed Noah to recreate species after the Flood wiped them out.

This was fast-paced with int
...more
Debbie VanZandt
Jan 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Hannah Hawkins doesn’t believe her parents are dead in spite of the fact that the disappeared 11 years ago. Could the missing pieces of the Code of Enoch hold the key to finding them? Hannah sets off on a trek across the world with Uncle Randall and Ethan, a childhood friend turned enemy (?), boyfriend (?), to find out. Dr. Bingham and Amino Corp are hot on her trail. They also want to find the Code. But for what purpose?
For readers who enjoy suspense and intrigue, here’s a great new series to l
...more
Britta Jensen
Apr 08, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The Hidden Code is perfect for adolescents, especially struggling readers. It has the right combination of action, adventure, history and science to hold young readers interest while balancing a lovely smouldering romance that is never overboard. I love young Hannah's quest to find her parents and her globe-trotting adventure is wonderful! It's completely refreshing to read about a young woman who is more interesting in science, adventure and being a hero than she is in designer clothes or wheth ...more
Amy Bearce
May 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My teenager and I both enjoyed this book! Hannah is trying to figure out what happened to her parents, who disappeared years ago while trying to find the legendary Code of Enoch. Hannah must work through a series of clues to find the answer of what happened to her parents--and if the Code of Enoch is real. This story has intriguing mystery, exciting adventure, and some romance woven in, too. It's a fast, fun read! ...more
Sarah Lisenbe
Jan 27, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2021
The Hidden Code is a fun YA adventure story that will appeal to fans of National Treasure/Indiana Jones/pretty much all treasure hunting stories. It centers around ancient flood myths, missing parents, and an evil corporation, and concludes with a set up for a sequel. It reads young, making it perfect for audiences 12-15 or anyone who likes treasure hunting stories.
Abbie
Oct 07, 2019 rated it liked it
P.J. Hoover's new novel is in the spirit of Indiana Jones with adventure, buried clues, and a globe trotting race. A fun read.

Read more at Bookish Adventures.
...more
Jayce Senter
Apr 15, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mysteries, ya
I love books like this. It is part Divinci Code, part Hatchet, part romance.

I really enjoyed it. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because it slowed down some in the middle and I found myself distracted by other books and it took me a little while to pick it back up.
...more
Mandy
Apr 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
(4.5 stars)
Sarah Grun
Jul 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
Enjoyable, fun, fast paced adventure.
Emily
Feb 11, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Wow. A thrilling adventure incorporated with bits of historical information. I loved it!
Kristen Nelson
Jun 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Intense book with a great adventure! Fun young adult novel! I hope there's another! ...more
Jennifer Jackson
Nov 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Great adventure for teens and young adults. Has a good bit of mythology worked in but not with an overly dramatic magical way.

Hannah is a very independent young lady who uses her brain and the help of her friend and uncle to peice together what happened to her parents who have been missing for 11 years. Her journey takes her around the world and into all new depths as she follows the trail of clues to find her lost parents.

I would recommend this teens and young adults who like a little adventu
...more
Theseus Dorian
rated it did not like it
Apr 28, 2020
Robert D. Koelmel
rated it it was amazing
Feb 16, 2020
Jacqui Isser
rated it really liked it
May 13, 2021
Jylian
rated it liked it
Dec 31, 2019
Steve Russell
rated it really liked it
Jun 03, 2019
Jo
rated it really liked it
Feb 03, 2020
Dana
rated it really liked it
Feb 01, 2019
Lindsay Rankin
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2019
Nancy Hawkins
rated it really liked it
May 17, 2019
Amy
rated it really liked it
Feb 22, 2019
Rachel
rated it it was amazing
Jan 29, 2021
Billie
rated it really liked it
Oct 13, 2020
Faida orrie
rated it it was ok
Nov 05, 2020
Tennessee Lawrence
rated it liked it
Nov 24, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Lion of Mars
  • The Canyon's Edge
  • Starsight (Skyward, #2)
  • The Menagerie (Menagerie, #1)
  • The Book Charmer (Dove Pond, #1)
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January
  • Bloom
  • The Girl in Red
  • One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)
  • The Carrow Haunt
  • The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow, #1)
  • The Beauty, Vol. 1
  • Kill Joy (A Good Girl's Guide to Murder, #0.5)
  • Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
  • The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S. (as told to his brother)
  • Boy Bites Bug
  • The Escape Artists: A Band of Daredevil Pilots and the Greatest Prison Break of the Great War
  • Love & Olives (Love & Gelato, #3)
See similar books…
365 followers
P. J. Hoover first fell in love with Greek mythology in sixth grade thanks to the book Mythology by Edith Hamilton. After a fifteen year bout as an electrical engineer designing computer chips for a living, P. J. decided to take her own stab at mythology and started writing books for kids and teens. P. J. is a member of THE TEXAS SWEETHEARTS & SCOUNDRELS. When not writing, P. J. spends time with h ...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
2 likes · 0 comments