Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Red River, Vol. 16 (Red River, #16)” as Want to Read:
Red River, Vol. 16 (Red River, #16)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Red River, Vol. 16 (Red River #16)

4.43  ·  Rating details ·  964 Ratings  ·  14 Reviews
Kail's trusted commander Rusafa, under the influence of Nakia's black water, has made off with Yuri and turned her over to Nakia's henchman Urhi. Kail is not fooled--his suspicions land squarely on Nakia, and he has her placed under house arrest. Kail then prepares to perform a public prayer, promising the Queen Dowager that she will be put to death if Yuri does not appear ...more
Paperback, 191 pages
Published January 1st 2007 by Viz Media (first published March 26th 1999)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Red River, Vol. 16, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Red River, Vol. 16

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Lexie
Mar 25, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: gns-owned-read
Welcome to Book 16 - Rusafa proves that he is a MUCH better man then basically every other guy that has wanted to be near Yuri is (with the possible exception of Kikkuri and Ilbani, who are very clearly KailxYuri FOREVER). Interestingly as these books progress Nakia (and Urhi) start relying on human nature flaws that pretty much Yuri's posse don't possess. At least not in such a way that Nakia can use them against her.

Anyhow! Awww love! ignore the age gap ignore the age gap ignore the age gap wh
...more
Nidah (SleepDreamWrite)
Another good volume.
Katie
Jun 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga
see full review @ Katie's Corner
Miss Ryoko
Jul 30, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: library-book, manga
First of all, Kail is a horny bastard XD Always after something slightly intense happens to Yuri, he's basically like "Let's bang." I'm glad she finally told him no this time :-p

Second of all, if Yuri is like super good at fighting martially and all, then WHY does she never fight back during all these times she's getting kidnapped? I mean, for real? She could probably beat the crap out of all the people and easily get away. *sigh* It's slightly frustrating for me because she's supposed to be thi
...more
Soobie can't sleep at night
Beh, come previsto la Shinohara è andata a riprendere il filone narrativo aperto dalla confessione di Lusafa. Che comincia a starmi sempre più simpatico, povero.

Certo che 'sta storia dell'acqua nera comincia ad essere un po' vecchia. È sempre quella e nessuno sembra credere che ci sia Nakia dietro. Dai, caspita, un po' di fantasia.

Nel frattempo la regina acconsente al matrimonio tra Yuri e Kail a patto che lei diventi il comandante della guardia reale. Ma ancora non si capiscono i motivi.
Lauren
Oct 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga
What first drew me to this series was the romantic historical aspect. I loved how a modern day girl gets pulled back into the past. I don't know what it is about those stories that attract me so much, maybe it is the difficulty for the girl of fitting in and having to rely on the guy so much to be able to get along in the world.

I would really recommend this series to fans of Inuyasha, it has a lot of the same concepts.
Jenny Crenshaw
Apr 07, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Red River was one of the best stories I've ever read. It was well plotted out. The connections I made with the characters was amazing and abnormal. I can say that this is one of the cutest mangas I've seen.
Victoria
Aug 14, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Is a great book to read
Brianna
May 04, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: manga
pretty good
Destiny
Jul 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Love this series. Must read for fans of Inuyasha and From Far Away.
Stephanie
Apr 08, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga-shoujo
I love this series and my review is on vol. 1 as to why I love it so!
Sannie Hald
So I read vol. 16 without reading any of the others as I got it by buying 3 random mystery mangas.. I actually liked it!
Candice Ngo
rated it it was amazing
Feb 02, 2016
Kon
rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2013
Marie
rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2017
Samantha Pol
rated it really liked it
Nov 10, 2011
Briana Burlingham
rated it it was amazing
Nov 14, 2016
Gen Shikouken
rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2011
Nelly
rated it it was amazing
Jan 21, 2014
Daniela
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2015
Chibi
rated it really liked it
Oct 13, 2013
Monica Chau
rated it it was amazing
Feb 22, 2013
☆Georgia
rated it it was amazing
Jun 09, 2012
Anoshka
rated it it was amazing
Jul 10, 2014
Skip*Beat
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2015
Karen Haim Briga
rated it really liked it
Oct 29, 2015
Moekari Katoa
rated it it was amazing
Sep 16, 2012
Gaia
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2015
Nandar
rated it really liked it
Mar 31, 2012
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • From Far Away, Vol. 12
  • Fushigi Yûgi: Genbu Kaiden, Vol. 03 (Fushigi Yûgi: Genbu Kaiden, #3)
  • Sensual Phrase, Vol. 18
  • Tail of the Moon, Volume 9
  • Tokyo Crazy Paradise, Vol. 18
187 followers
Chie Shinohara (篠原千絵 Shinohara Chie, born February 15) is an award winning Japanese manga artist best-known for Red River, known in Japan as Sora wa Akai Kawa no Hotori: Anatolia Story. She has twice received the Shogakukan Manga Award for shōjo, in 1987 for Yami no Purple Eye and in 2001 for Red River.
Aside from her comics work, she has also written several prose novels. She has published the six
...more
More about Chie Shinohara

Other books in the series

Red River (1 - 10 of 28 books)
  • Red River, Vol. 1 (Red River, #1)
  • Red River, Vol. 2 (Red River, #2)
  • Red River, Vol. 3 (Red River, #3)
  • Red River, Vol. 4 (Red River, #4)
  • Red River, Vol. 5 (Red River, #5)
  • Red River, Vol. 6 (Red River, #6)
  • Red River, Vol. 7 (Red River, #7)
  • Red River, Vol. 8 (Red River, #8)
  • Red River, Vol. 9 (Red River, #9)
  • Red River, Vol. 10 (Red River, #10)

Romance Deals

  • Hidden Secrets
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Breath of Malice
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Kian (Undercover Billionaire, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Greensleeves
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Everything We Keep (Everything #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • From Thin Air (A Black Swan Historical Romance, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Sweet Caroline (Lowcountry Romance #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • All the Breaking Waves
    $4.99 $1.99
  • To Hope (The Broken Roads #5)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Royally Bad (Bad Boy Royals #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Royally Ruined (Bad Boy Royals #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Finishing Touches
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Roses
    $11.99 $3.99
  • Accidentally in Love with...a God? (Accidentally Yours, #1)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Splinter (Reliquary, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Claimed (Servants of Fate, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Keeping You a Secret
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The PMS Club
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Gypsy (The Promised Land, #3)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Bodyguard (Hollywood A-List, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Willow (The Promised Land #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Mosaic (Reliquary #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Lullaby Sky
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Secretly Hers (Sterling Canyon, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Tycoon Takedown (Lone Star Burn, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Come High Water (A Black Swan Historical Romance, #3)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Before I Knew (The Cabots, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Paradise of Glass (The Glassblower Trilogy #3)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Trusting You & Other Lies
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Once Haunted, Twice Shy (Peyton Clark, #2)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • The Story of Beautiful Girl
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Lullaby Girl (Angie Pallorino, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Say Goodbye for Now
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Bridged (Callahan & McLane, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Love Is
    $4.49 $1.99
  • The Unimaginable
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Hating Game
    $11.24 $1.99
  • Unbeautifully (Undeniable, #2)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • His Darling Bride (Echoes of the Heart #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Traitor's Kiss (The Traitor's Circle, #1)
    $7.80 $2.99
  • Augusta (The Promised Land, #5)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Twisted Truth (Rogue Justice #1)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Morning Glory (Drifters & Dreamers, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Worth the Wait (St. James, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • My Best Friend's Ex (Binghamton #2)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • A Totally Awkward Love Story
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Charmingly Yours (Morning Glory, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Sit! Stay! Speak!
    $8.99 $1.99
  • In the Barren Ground
    $4.99 $1.99
  • About the Night
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Violet's Wish (Oklahoma Land Rush, #2)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Exploited (Zero Day, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • About That Fling
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Promises to Keep (Love in Provence Book 2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Taken Home (Lone Star Burn, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hard to Handle (Caine Cousins, #2)
    $4.99 $1.49
  • The Austen Escape
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Garnet (The Promised Land, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Strawberry Hearts Diner
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Truth Be Told (Rogue Justice #2)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Born of Shadows (The League, #4)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • A Merciful Death (Mercy Kilpatrick #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • From Wine to Water (Angels & Outlaws, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Worth the Risk (St. James #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Dove
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Ladies' Room
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Too Hot to Handle (Romancing the Clarksons, #1)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Accidentally Hers (Sterling Canyon, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Kissing Max Holden
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Known (Bone Secrets, #5)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Omega (Penton Legacy, #3)
    $4.99 $0.99
  • Taking Charge (Lone Star Burn, #4)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Vanished (Callahan & McLane #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • All the Lies We Tell (Quarry Road, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Hidden (Bone Secrets, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Seven Nights in a Rogue's Bed (Sons of Sin, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Ivy Tree
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Evening Star (The Drifters & Dreamers #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Misadventures of the First Daughter (Misadventures, #3)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Daisies in the Canyon
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Claiming Felicity (Ace Security, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • All the Beautiful Brides (Graveyard Falls, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Barefoot in the Rain (Barefoot Bay, #2; Barefoot Bay Universe, #2)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Only You (Sweet Torment, #2)
    $4.49 $0.99
  • A Merciful Truth (Mercy Kilpatrick, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Claiming Alexis (Ace Security, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Unlucky in Love (Lucky, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • A Merciful Secret (Mercy Kilpatrick, #3)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Difference Between Us (Opposites Attract #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Bullets & Bonfires
    $3.99 $1.49
  • White Lace and Promises
    $3.99 $0.99
  • To Commit (The Broken Roads #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Yard Rose
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Otherkin
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Driven by Fire (Fire, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Taken, Not Spurred (Lone Star Burn, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • One Summer Day in Rome
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Sixth Grave on the Edge (Charley Davidson, #6)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Chasing Down a Dream: A Blessings Novel
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Pursuit of Love
    $11.99 $1.99
  • After the War Is Over: A Novel
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Kissing Mr. Right (Colorado Hearts #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Riding the Storm (ACRO, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • It Had to Be Him (It Had to Be #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Love Goddess' Cooking School
    $10.99 $2.99
  • That Way Again
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Never Let Go (Haven, Montana #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Forever Surprised (Forever Bluegrass #6)
    $2.99 $1.49