Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Operation Frog Effect” as Want to Read:
Operation Frog Effect
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Operation Frog Effect

4.56  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  21 reviews
If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act?

Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form--Operation Frog Effect is perfect for fans of Andrew Clements, Rob Buyea, and Sarah Weeks, and for anyone who wants to make a difference.

Hi--
It's us, Ms. Graham's class. We didn't mean
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published February 26th 2019 by Random House Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Operation Frog Effect, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Operation Frog Effect

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.56  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  21 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Laurie
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Interest Level: 3-6

Have you ever had a teacher that was completely awesome and made a huge impact on your life? At White Oak Elementary School, Ms. Graham is that teacher and the impact is made on eight very different students. Emily doesn't understand why her two best friends, Aviva and Kayley, won't talk or sit with her on the first day of fifth grade. Kayley actually doesn't like Emily and is extremely stuck up. Sharon doesn't seem to have a voice because she always seems to get interrupted a
...more
Ms. Yingling
Copy provided by the publisher

Ms. Graham's fifth grade class is an exciting place to be. She lets the students help form classroom rules and homework policy, they work in groups, and there is even a class pet, Kermit. The students are also keeping journals, and we hear from the perspective of eight of them. Blake likes to draw his entries, and he and his mother struggle with housing and other issues. Aviva's mother is in the country without proper papers, and both miss Aviva's grandmother in Mex
...more
Jessica
Mar 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
Oh, wow. Seriously. That's pretty much the extent of my ability to actually review this book right now, because I am so gosh darn impressed with it. Have you been burning to read a book from the perspective of an amazing class of 5th graders, that will leave you wanting to be a better person at the end of it? Well, welcome to that book. I've stated before how much I love when authors don't talk down to this age group of readers, and how important it is to treat them with respect. Sarah Sheerger ...more
Laurie
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Have you ever had a teacher that was completely awesome and made a huge impact on your life? At White Oak Elementary School, Ms. Graham is that teacher and the impact is made on eight very different students. Emily doesn't understand why her two best friends, Aviva and Kayley, won't talk or sit with her on the first day of fifth grade. Kayley actually doesn't like Emily and is extremely stuck up. Sharon doesn't seem to have a voice because she always seems to get interrupted and corrected when t ...more
Arielfranchakyahoo.com
Feb 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Can I just say how much I love this book? I can’t wait to add OPERATION FROG EFFECT to my classroom library because I know it will be a big hit with my middle school students. If your kiddo, tween, or teen is a fan of big-hearted books like WONDER and also enjoys the fun of the WIMPY KID books, then this is the perfect combo!

OPERATION FROG EFFECT by Sarah Scheerger addresses many difficult issues, but in a light-hearted format and in a manner in which kids can relate. Through letters, graphic n
...more
Jamie
Nov 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
Soooooo cute.

When I read for a frontlist order, I often skim and then skim again and read the first and last chapter and MAYBE work my way backwards (I know, weird) until I get the gist.

But this one has me smitten, mostly because I’m a sucker for stories of inspiring teachers, but I also loved how well realized the eight fifth graders at the core of this story were. It’s hard to give so many characters distinct personalities but this one nailed it. This is the kind of book I’ll save for Adam t
...more
Lesley
Mar 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019
When their teacher explains the Butterfly Effect, “It’s the idea that a small change in one thing can lead to big changes in other things…Anything and everything we do—positive or negative, big or small—can influence other people and the world.” (153, 155) and tasks her 5th graders to think about what they could do within their social-issues projects to make a difference, they do—with repercussions they did not imagine.

Told through their daily journals, readers learn about the lives and feelings
...more
Susan
Feb 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to @kidlitexchange and the publisher for the free review copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

It’s the first day of fifth grade and the kids in Miss Graham’s room are feeling hopeful and quite pleased with themselves, because they’re the top kids at White Oak Elementary. They’re seated at tables of four. Some are with their friends, and of course some are not; it was just an empty chair. Some are happy with their table mates, and some are quite annoyed; especially when they learn
...more
michelle
Dec 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
Sarah Scheerger writes a marvelous novel following a group of kids in a 5th grade classroom. They are bonded together by a really amazing teacher who uses some unusual teaching methods to help them see the world better and to understand that every little thing they do has an impact, good or bad, just like the flap of a butterfly wing. When they are thrown together into two groups of four and then one large group of eight, they realize how important it is to work together and to respect that what ...more
Stormi (BMReviewsohmy)
Mar 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
Operation Frog Effect is about a group of students and an extraordinary teacher who used a bit of 'out of the box' teaching methods to get her students to think about real life situations. One of her projects was about social issues and the students who were put in groups had to decide on a issue then think of how they could change things.One such group decided on the homeless and when the teacher told them they should 'immerse themselves' into their issue they did something not so great which r ...more
Storm Reads
Mar 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
Operation Frog Effect is about a group of students and an extraordinary teacher who used a bit of ‘out of the box’ teaching methods to get her students to think about real life situations. One of her projects was about social issues and the students who were put in groups had to decide on a issue then think of how they could change things.

One such group decided on the homeless and when the teacher told them they should ‘immerse themselves’ into their issue they did something not so great which r
...more
RedPoppyReading
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
“Operation Frog Effect,” by Sarah Scheerger, is among the very best of middle grade fiction. Told through the perspective of eight fifth graders as they write in their class journals, this is the kind of book that fills you with optimism for the future and encourages you to strive to be a better person. Ms. Graham has a creative way of running her classroom and teaching her students, through her innovative education philosophy her students learn the power of friendship, and standing up and takin ...more
Andrea Doyon
Mar 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I love frogs. I don't know what it is, but their cute, wide faces get me every time. Which means as soon as I saw the cover to "Operation Frog Effect" it was love at first sight (yes, I judged a book by its cover). But after reading the book, I can safely say that it was even better than I had anticipated. It is told by a steady rotation of narrators, each with its own distinct personality and writing style, who give one piece of the larger puzzle that is Ms. Graham's fifth grade classroom. Much ...more
Karen McKenna
Mar 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Told through eight alternating perspectives, Operation Frog Effect is a powerful example of how your voice matters. Voice was our theme this year in middle school, and this is the perfect book to explore that topic. I love the eight different "voices" you hear in the story. Each character is unique and strong in their own ways. I loved seeing the Spanish when Cecilia writes, the verse poems from Sharon, the screenplays from Henry, and the graphic novel type illustrations from Blake. The format d ...more
Rebecca
Jan 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Fast paced book that is told from many different students perspectives. Letters to their journals, to each other and through comics, this book will appeal to a variety of students! Many life lessons in this book that the students and the adults learn along the way. It was great to see characters such as Aviva transform for "Minnie Mouse" to the "Boss." With middle school just around the corner, these students learn about friendship, finding their voices and doing what is right (instead of what m ...more
Allison
Mar 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: chapter-books
OPERATION FROG EFFECT has something for every MG reader. The multiple narrators use a variety of writing styles to tell this thought provoking story. I love how this book shows young people that they can make a difference.
Michele Knott
Feb 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book will be enjoyed by middle grade readers. A realistic fiction story that is told in multiple voices from students in a classroom and in a journal format - social justice issues are lightly explored and discussed.
Perfect for readers who enjoyed BECAUSE OF MR. TERUPT.
Jill Ramig
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This wonderful story is told through journal entries of 8 students in Mrs. Graham's class. The students have different writing styles. One is even writes in cartoon form. Mrs. Graham is a master at teaching social issues. As the students struggle to get along, appreciate each other and contribute to the class they are forced to come together for a big cause. Fans of Rob Buyea's Perfect Score will love this book.
Stephanie
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2019
Pamela Groseclose
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2019
Gina Perry
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2019
K.C
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2019
Martha
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2019
Marjie   Thomas
rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2019
Julie
rated it really liked it
Jan 23, 2019
Sydney
rated it it was amazing
Nov 22, 2018
Christina Williams
rated it really liked it
Jan 19, 2019
Lisa
rated it really liked it
Jan 20, 2019
Betsy
rated it really liked it
Jan 05, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »