Maki Enjōji is a Japanese manga artist. Among her works, Happy Marriage!? is one of the best known and it has been published in English under VIZ Media’s Shojo Beat, in French by Kazé, in German by Tokyopop and in Italian by Star Comics.
This series is certainly on a downward trend, getting stupider with every volume. The introduction of a new romantic rival (in a chapter actually entitled: "The Second Act of Love: The Appearance of a Rival! Huh? Does That Mean -- ?!") is incredibly clumsy and unwelcome as a super rich, emo, spoiled brat patient fixates on our nurse heroine. He uses blackmail, sexual harassment, and attempted rape to win her over, because that's just sooo romantic. Or so 1980s soap opera. (Hey, Luke! Hey, Laura!)
I was ready to ditch this series, but I found out yesterday that there are only two volumes left. I could try to rationalize and say I was intrigued by a *shocking* second romantic rival introduced on the last page cliffhanger in this volume, but really it was the irrational completist compulsion I suffer that drove me to place library holds immediately. So we all have that to look forward to . . .
I can’t believe we only have two more volumes of this series left. I can’t wait to read them and see how this series that surprised me with its romance and humor will end.
There's some decent character development, finally, but I hate the whole "threat of sexual violence as a misunderstanding" that the female lead either "refuses to report or gets trapped into dealing with on her own and later awkwardly explains to upset boyfriend" trope. It happened here (and her response is beyond cringe worthy), it happened in this author's previous series (by the love interest, of all characters), and it even happened in Skip Beat! (but the actual threat was handled better and the aftermath was dragged out in a ridiculous and over the top way that made it *kind of* funny), and in other series. But this has a medical setting. Sexual harassment of nurses could easily be expected and handled differently (although that wouldn't check the "rival's" advance part of the shojo formula) - and has already been addressed in earlier volumes.
2,75/5 After the last volume I was really excited about this one because finally they are a couple but this was very boring and meh. Sakura is still over the look because she’s dating tendo and now everyone knows. However she meets this random guy and has to spend the day with him doing activities until he has an accident and since she’s a nurse she takes him to her hospital. Later on she discovers he is the heir of a really important family business and he kind of does what he wants. He should go to another hospital but now he wants to stay with Sakura because he was never interested in girls and dating until her. He basically forces the hospital to admit him in and he kisses Sakura in front of tendo which doesn’t react at all. Sakura gets mad because she was expecting something different but tendo wasn’t mad about it. He didn’t want to let her go to be the private nurse because he hates rich kids who thinks they are allowed to do stuff with a passion. In the end they both talk and get together again but she leaves pulmonology to take care of this new patient. Kamijo is very demanding and he has a heart condition and got a seizure. He’s doing what he wants and sakuras job is not easy by any means. He threatens everyone if they don’t do what he wants and he will send tendo and other doctors to another hospitals so Sakura has to do whatever he wants because she was thinking about how that can affect tendo and his studies if he moves to another hospital. Tendo is mad as hell because he barely sees her and she’s always with this new patient. One night she has to take his temperature after a huge fight they had and he tells her about his past. How he found out about his condition and how lonely he was always in middle school and High school. Now he’s an adult and he doesn’t know what he’s doing . He uses money and influence because without it nobody would be around him. He asks her to stay close until he falls asleep and they end up sharing the bed, which infuriates tendo and he tells Sakura to be careful. He can report a sexual harrasment and they will kick Kamijo but she doesn’t want that because she spoke to him and wants to help him to get better. Tendo is still unsure about it. Later on Kamijo tries to get between tendo and Sakura and he was trying to provoke her and he ended up getting nervous and having a seizure. Sakura was on top of him and one woman saw her and she though she was attacking the heir. He tried to explain but the lawyers might get involved and there’s not much he can do when his parents take part. Sakura is back to pulmonology but she feels terrible. She wanted to help Kamijo and she found out about his condition and made it worse and she feels useless. Tendo and the others are there for her. The nurses understand how exhausting is to deal with patients from time to time. Later on Kamijo goes to visit her because he’s going to go to another hospital and he apologized to tendo and now to her. Unrequited love is fun and he understand her better now and her feelings for Tendo. He’s gone but later on he is back because he confronted everyone and now he’s in the hospital so he can see her more and more. He has a plan but tendo appears and tells him to go to his hall. By the end, Tendo and Sakura go together to a memorial service and it’s their first trip together as a couple. Sakura had some stuff to do at the hospital so now she’s late and Tendo is speaking with some women. Once he arrived there was an incident with one men and Tendo saved him and now everyone knows he’s a doctor and they want to speak with him. They have an amazing bedroom with an incredible bed and Sakura is so happy. The family of the patient wants to thank Tendo for his services and Sakura goes to choose a kimono and overhears a conversation between the two ladies that were with Tendo before. They don’t understand how someone as handsome as him can be with someone like Sakura and think he might be into ugly chicks. Sakura feels hurt but Tendo wants to take her strolling and to make some plans and she’s determined but in the end she remembers what the girls said and she wants to stay in. Tendo is confused by her reaction and he leaves because he has something to do and he meets the girls and goes with them (?). Sakura tries to follow them without success and she wanders around while crying until Tendo finds her because she left her wallet and her phone back in the room. He wonders what happened and she tells everything about it. Tendo doesn’t care about the looks or rhe skin because under it we all look the same and he values other stuff. He apologizes for taking to those girls and Sakura knows they don’t have much time left but she wants to go on a little date and they do it. They spend sometime strolling around together and doing stuff and Tendo wants to take her there again. She asks him again about the looks and what does he like about her and in general he believes she’s really cute. Later on, Sakura goes to the spa and sees the girls from before and she’s naked but she doesn’t care. The girls admire her body because she has a nice one. They left and they are back in Tokyo and Tendo has to go straight to the hospital because he got a report last night and wants to see some patients but then he sees someone at the train station and I wonder who that person is. If it’s the ex girlfriend I’m going to be confused as hell but now I’m intrigued. Honestly this volume was just boring because the Kamijo plot was a bunch of nonsense (still I don’t understand what he’s doing at the hospital or why is he into Sakura all of the sudden) and I was hoping to see more of tendo jealous but he doesn’t show it? We just get told he’s jealous but his actions don’t say the same so lm kind of lost with his character and his love for the main character. Anyways I can’t wait to read the next volume
I would give this zero stars if I could........ This was so shit and the author is really lousy and inconsistent regarding issues like sexual harassment towards female nurses. It's so shallow and it's ridiculous that the rich guy was treated kindly and positively by the narrative (and Sakura) when he threatened to rape her. Tendo outright calls it sexual harassment and tells Sakura to report it, but she doesn't think it's a big deal, and moving forward, it is never treated seriously and it's brushed off. The author brings up the issue of patient harassment (multiple times throughout the series), but then either never says anything about it or brushes it off as if it's no big deal. So, which one is it???? Is it inappropriate and dangerous or just no big deal because he's just an attractive, lonely guy??
Apart from that, it was boring and I don't like any of the characters. Honestly this whole volume felt like filler, why should I care about this random rich guy with some mysterious illness? This was all so pointless.
It is getting dumber and dumber. There is a power dynamic that I don't like, light gaslight all the time from the ML toward the FL. I loved reading maki enjoji since a teen. I guess as an adult who studied brain development and behavioural. I finally understand everything that is wrong when it is presented as okay behaviour. I'm gonna finish reading, but for sure, I'm not liking this story, I won't risk reading the other ones again with the fear of disliking them and destroying my teen memories of it
J'aime toujours bien ce shojo qui change un peu des autres, mais on a passé un cap niveau cringe dans ce volume. L'héroïne se fait embrasser de force par un patient et elle est triste parce que son petit ami ne l'a pas "disputée pour avoir manqué de vigilance". Gloups.
This entire review has been hidden because of spoilers.
Nanase is about to start her career as a nurse under Dr Tendo who happens to be the reason she became a nurse in the first place. Five years prior, the two met while trying to save a stranger after which Nanase fell in love with the doctor. Now, not only does Dr Tendo not remember her, but he is also remorselessly demanding and the reason for the nurse shortage in their department. Nanase however refuses to be bullied out and earns the title of The Valliant one for trying to stand up to the grouchy doctor.
While I don't like it quite as much as Happy Marriage?!, this combines all things I like about Enjouji Maki. Nanase and Dr Tendo are a bickering couple that is just super fun to read about. I wouldn't call a particularly deep story but it's just plain and simple fun. While An Incurable Case of Love does try to add a bit of seriousness by going into stories of loved ones lost through illness, I didn't feel like those elements added much to the story.
Although this is largely a RomCom, I actually really enjoyed the hospital setting and how it was handled. It felt like a lively area where we also got to know some of the main characters' colleagues - while they were never fleshed out, it did create a sense of reading about a workplace community. I thought the nickname Valliant One was endearing and it was fun to see how all the staff kept tabs on the developing relationship.
Nanase, or rather the Valliant One, was quite a nice lead character. I liked that she didn't immediately continue liking Dr Tendo just because of his looks but most importantly, I like that she comes to care for her work for her own sake and always strives to better herself. In a way, she did end up choosing her workplace over Dr Tendo. Even though she often doubts herself, I think she makes a strong character in many ways.
Dr Tendo is unapologetically grumpy - he's not a brooding hero with a sad past. He's just the way he is, he knows it and doesn't care what others think of him. Of course, he learns to be more friendly in his own way and Nanase helps him loosen up, but I like that there's no particular reason behind his moods or any story that's supposed to make us feel sorry for him.
I suppose a lack of depth is what keeps me from loving it, but there is otherwise nothing I can fault it with. It's a fun RomCom, an easy read with likeable characters and nice art. I'm definitely hoping this wasn't the last of Enjouji Maki!
nanase sakura is a nurse in the pulmonary department. when she’s not tending to patients, she’s going on dates with the hottest doctor at her hospital.
kairi tendo doesn’t have any bedside manner for a doctor. he’s fallen in love with one of the nurses in his department and their in the beginning of their relationship.
🩺 grumpyxsunshine
SPOILERS
chikashi kamijo is a twenty-five year old billionaire that’s used to getting everything he wants. he’s set his sights on nanese. he has a circulatory disease and is checked into their hospital. he’s requested nanese to be his personal nurse and she reluctantly accepts. without her consent, he kisses her in the middle of his hospital room in front of her current boyfriend. the fucker even pined her onto the bed and almost tried to go further. she should have immediately reported his behavior & got transferred to another unit.
kairi was green with jealousy as another man started move in on his girlfriend. he was able to outwardly keep a straight face, but internally he was absolutely pissed, complete with carton-like steam pouring off of him.
kairi arranged for their first trip as a couple. he arrived first and ending up assisting someone in a medical emergency. the entirety of the female guests surrounding him after they learned he was a successful doctor. later on, nanase overheard two of the women describing her as an ugly chick. those women were fucking full of shit. their thought bubbles were brimming with compliments. they were just jealous that she had him and they didn’t.
Today's manga post is on An Incurable Case of Love, Vol. 5 by Maki Enjōji. It is 192 pages long and is published by Shojo Beat. The cover has the two main characters on it hugging. As it is the fifth in the series, you need to have read to the first four volumes to understand the story. There is no foul language, mild sexuality, and no violence in this manga. The intended reader is someone who likes funny medical romance stories. The story is told from third person close of the main character, Nanase. There Be Spoilers Ahead. From the back of the manga- Nanase became a nurse to chase after Dr. Kairi Tendo. Now the feelings are mutual, and they’ve become a couple. It seems their love should only deepen from here on out, but when Nanase tries to help a certain someone, it leads to a disruption in their romance!
Review- Nanase is still finding her feet in her new relationship when she helps a young man having a suizure. He then decides that he is going to steal her from Tendo. So Tendo gets to feel a little jelous about Nanase. I liked seeing him, having to deal with other people seeing all the good qualities about Nanase. But trouble is coming in the form of ex, I think. This volume was good, come character development, relationship movement but Nanase still has some issues with herself that she needs to work through. It will be fun to see the drama is coming.
I give this volume a Five out of Five stars. I get nothing for my review and I bought this manga with my own money.
Ugh, I’m starting to think josei might not be for me even though I’m in the demographic for it. I did not care for this at all. I hate the miscommunication. I hate that the FMC keeps saying “Dr. Tendo” even in her inner dialogue – I know saying first names and nicknames are a big deal in Japanese culture. It still seems frustrating after their relationship has progressed. I hated the Kamijo subplot. Two lines I found particularly irksome: (1) “my boyfriend, Dr. Tendo tends to talk like this when he’s in a good mood. It’s a bothersome personality trait. I’m slowly getting used to it.” 🥴 (2) when he’s ready for another round and she has this nervous look. “Are you all right with one more round?” FMC: “you already know the answer. You know I can never refuse you.” 🤦🏻♀️
This volume felt rushed. Rushed with the introduction of the new “love” interest, rushed with the “romantic tension,” rushed with the plot, and rushed with the conclusion of that subplot.
At first, I liked Sakura, but I’m starting to dislike her more and more. She was over-trusting, amenable, and credulous—even a pushover!
The only upside of this volume was the last chapter. It was mundane but felt more down-to-earth and handled at a pace usual for manga.
But… Enjōji (the author) has An Incurable Case of LoveBad Writing. I just got word back from the doctors—it’s incurable.
I initially gave this 2 stars, but I was feeling generous. 2.5 stars rounded to 3.
reviews in French + English /!\full review /avis sur l'intégralité
Mon avis : Pour le dessin on voit direct que c’est maki enjoji en tout cas j'aime cette qualité de dessin. Un des gros défauts du manga c'est que l'on n’a aucune notion de temps car j'ai l'impression que le manga est sur 2 ans. Le positif : on voit une relation d'adultes qui se crée au fur et à mesure avec ses moments de joie, ses doutes etc... Mais je trouve qu’il y a une déception dans l'oeuvre. Les 2 derniers volumes très clairement ont été sur du je rallonge encore et encore la série et c’est bien dommage dans certains mangas la série se finit, exemple 6 volumes et on sait que le 7ème sera du pur bonus. Mais là non, nous sommes obligés de les lire et cela gâche vraiment tout. Alors que les 5 premiers volumes ont été sur un 'j'adore énormément" sinon je n'ai pas grand chose à reprocher à l'histoire.
Review: About the drawings, we clearly notice at first sight the style of Maki Enjōji, which I really love. One of the biggest flaws of the plot is that we don’t really understand the timeline. I feel like the story happens in a two-year span. On a good side: as we go along, the readers witness a relationship between adults who experience joy, doubts, etc. But I still feel disappointed: the last 2 volumes are full of fillers. And it’s too bad, because I really loved the first 5 volumes. In other words, it’s like the last couple volumes were kind of a bonus story but we were still “forced” to read them to know the ending. Otherwise I have nothing bad to say about the plot.
I didn’t like the new love interest for Nanase and, would’ve rather had Dr. Kisugi been made more of a love rival for Dr. Tendo instead of that rich patient. The rich patient was very disrespectful to Nanase’s boundaries and while I understand that Nanase is a very kind character, I think she shouldn’t have readily became friends with him after what she was put through. I did really like that Dr. Tendo was much kinder to Nanase for a good portion of this volume and that we got to see a more tender side to him. With the way that the last chapter ended, I’m especially curious to see what happens in the next volume.
This entire review has been hidden because of spoilers.
O relacionamento de Sakura e Dr. Tendo parece estar estável, mas o facto dele não demonstrar o que sente pode complicar-lhes a vida. Iremos conhecer Kamijo, um jovem poderoso que rapidamente se encanta por Sakura. E mesmo sabendo do relacionamento dela, mantém-se persistente. Gostei da leitura porque deu para perceber o quanto os protagonistas gostam um do outro, mesmo que nem sempre o digam. Acho que o aparecimento de Kamijo fez com que eles fossem obrigados a comunicar para não se magoarem, e isso trouxe a primeira discussão. O fim desta série está próximo, e estou muito curiosa para saber o que vai acontecer, pois parece que alguém do passado do Dr. Tendo está de volta.
Je suis passée à côté de ce tome que j’ai trouvé bien moins intéressant que les précédents. Nanase & Tendo sont égaux à eux-mêmes, dans les non-dits, quiproquos, maladresses, mais je n’ai pas du tout aimé le nouveau personnage. Et du coup, je trouve que ça casse un peu la dynamique du manga. Certes, on voit une nouvelle facette de Kaïri qui se dévoile au fur et à mesure des tomes mais le tout est un peu répétitif. Bref, j’espère un mieux dans la suite que je lirais bien sur vu qu’il ne reste plus que 2 tomes. Je veux savoir comment se termine leur histoire.
OML DR. TENDO IS FUCKING FINE!!! I SWEAR THIS MAN!! 🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵🥵 HE SAID "I LOVE YOU NANASE". Bruh Kamijo can suck a nut lol...i know he's the drama but I feel like I like seeing Dr. Tendo jelly. But it's sad the see him be insecure :( especially with the whole fun outing they had and he wants to do those things but with his job he can't. Also, I'm upset Nanase felt insecure about her looks but in the end Dr. Tendo assured her that her looks may be a factor but it's not the whole reason he's with her. ALSO WHAT WAS THE LAST SCENE? WHO WAS THAT??
Another brilliant volume by Maki Enjoji. I am enjoying watching the characters develop throughout each volume as they're faced with different circumstances. In true shojo fashion we get a rival for Nanase's affections. I'm interested to see if he's a single volume character or if we will be seeing him again. But watching Dr. Tendo deal with his jealousy and being open about his emotions just gives all the feels. Cannot wait to read the next volume.
Even in the drama, I really hated the addition of the sick rich boy coming in trying to separate our main couple. (The happenings in the manga and drama are slightly different.) I’m actually quite mad at how terribly sexual assault against Sakura, a nurse, is handled. Luckily, it didn’t drag and go into rape. Nonetheless, our main couple were somewhat sweet and pretty passionate in this. That’s nice. 3.5/5
A challenger has appeared and Dr. Tendo is not happy! Tendo off his game is amusing and surprising. And poor Nanase is at a loss by this new obstacle to her and Tendo's relationship. I'm worried about Nanase's confidence. She's always second-guessing things. It doesn't help that she takes to heart the things that the other nurses say and then there's Tendo's hot/cold behavior. This volume was ridiculous fun; a big step up from the last one. I couldn't put the book down!
Après avoir dévoré les quatre premiers tomes de la série en peu de temps, c’est tout naturellement que je me suis plongée dans celui-ci à sa sortie !
Nanase et Kaïri sont enfin en couple et tout se passe relativement bien pour eux après les difficultés qu’ils avaient rencontrées précédemment !
C’était sans compter sur un personnage désagréable qui va faire son apparition puisqu’il s’agit d’un patient mais c’est surtout un jeune homme « pourri-gâté » qui pense qu’il peut tout acheter avec de l’argent !
Avec son attitude, il va mettre la relation de Nanase et Kaïri à rude épreuve et je dois admettre que j’ai adoré le détester !
Un tome différent des autres mais que j’ai beaucoup apprécié ! Je suis triste qu’il ne reste plus que deux tomes à paraître. Le tome 5 sera quant à lui disponible dès le 8 avril prochain ! ♥
This volume sksksksk. At some part, reminded me in past when I was in internship in mental health hospital. Kamijo is remind me for one of my patient. I couldn't agree more if I don't know how to not to focus in only one patient but sometimes, it's hard to do that😭😭😭 and when see kamijo clingy to sakura, damn, it's so SKSKSKSKSK moment for me.
4.5 I think for this one!! Actually I am changing that to a 5.
I really enjoyed this volume but then again I am a sucker for jealousy at times. I really enjoyed the first chapter in this volume and the last chapter the most.
The harassment Nana dealt with and her guilt, etc is not uncommon in the medical field at all. I think it was also treated realistically as well (sadly).
This entire review has been hidden because of spoilers.