Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > SparkNotes guides vs. the actual work

Comments (showing 1-13 of 13) (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Heather (new)

Heather (autumnsymphony) | 3 comments I'm searching and adding to my shelves SparkNotes guides and finding a few guides that are combined directly with the literature they're about. For example, this has several guides/notes/etc about it that are combined. Since I'm rather new at this, I was wondering - should these be separated, then updated with the information specific to the guide? I'm not entirely sure if I can even do that as it's got 11 ratings - at what point does it require a superlibrarian to step in?

I'm just checking around to make sure I don't do anything to make more work for someone else later on. I'd rather lessen the general errors around here, not add to them! (=

JG (The Introverted Reader) | 461 comments They should definitely be separated. If you have better information to add, do so. It really helps if the primary author isn't the same as the author of the original work. They're less likely to be combined that way. It will help to add a librarian note saying that this edition is the SparkNotes edition and should not be combined with the "real" work. You can do all of this. We only need superlibrarians to delete books with more than five reviews, and that doesn't sound like something you're asking about.

If you need better instructions, just ask and we'll be happy to help! :-)

message 3: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 23813 comments Mod
No, notes alone should NOT be combined. I separated out the three I saw and tagged them with Librarian's Notes.

message 4: by Heather (new)

Heather (autumnsymphony) | 3 comments Thanks so much, both of you! As I'm continuing my adding, I'll take care any such errors I catch.

message 5: by Sherry (last edited Aug 20, 2009 03:12PM) (new)