Fiction is the telling of stories which are not real. More specifically, fiction is an imaginative form of narrative, one of the four basic rhetorical modes. Although the word fiction is derived from the Latin fingo, fingere, finxi, fictum, "to form, create", works of fiction need not be entirely imaginary and may include real people, places, and events. Fiction may be either written or oral. Although not all fiction is necessarily artistic, fiction is largely perceived as a form of art or entertainment. The ability to create fiction and other artistic works is considered to be a fundamental a ...more

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)
Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird, #2)
Manners & Mutiny (Finishing School, #4)
Tricky Twenty-Two (Stephanie Plum, #22)
Avenue of Mysteries
Cam Girl
The Guilty (Will Robie, #4)
The Bazaar of Bad Dreams
Hidden Bodies (You, #2)
Queen (The Blackcoat Rebellion #3)
Along the Infinite Sea
All In (The Naturals, #3)
The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto
Just Visiting
Forget Tomorrow (Forget Tomorrow, #1)


  • The Curse of Damini by Debajani Mohanty
    The Curse of Damini
    Release date: Jul 14, 2015
    Enter for a chance to win a copy of “The Curse of Damini” by Debajani Mohanty.

    Married to the scion of Bengal’s finest Zamindar family, she enters a ho…more View Details »

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 1 copy available, 605 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 08 - Dec 04, 2015

    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more

  • The Visitors by Simon Sylvester
    The Visitors
    Release date: Dec 29, 2015
    Win a galley of THE VISITORS, a thrilling mystery set on a remote Scottish island!

    For fans of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, a teenaged girl’s coming-of-…more View Details »

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 20 copies available, 450 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 17 - Dec 10, 2015

    Countries available: US

  • This One Thing by Damian Maher
    This One Thing
    Release date: Oct 13, 2015
    Enter for a chance to win one of three signed copies of This One Thing by Damian Maher!

    “There is no love in the gay world!” Daniel is told.
    “Be a serva…more View Details »

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 3 copies available, 376 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 05 - Feb 01, 2016

    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more

  • Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike, #3)
    Go Set a Watchman
    The Grownup
    Station Eleven
    Fates and Furies
    The Lake House
    The Bazaar of Bad Dreams
    Slade House
    A Man Called Ove
    The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry
    The Heart Goes Last
    A Little Life
    Welcome to Night Vale
    Winter by Marissa MeyerQueen of Shadows by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasRed Queen by Victoria AveyardThe Heir by Kiera Cass
    YA Novels of 2015
    1,415 books — 7,063 voters
    Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuireFifty Shades of Grey by E.L. JamesThoughtless by S.C. StephensBared to You by Sylvia DayFifty Shades Darker by E.L. James
    Intense And "Angsty" Romance
    1,994 books — 6,013 voters

    A Game of Thrones by George R.R. MartinJ.R.R. Tolkien 4-Book Boxed Set by J.R.R. TolkienThe Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussThe Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. LewisThe Eye of the World by Robert Jordan
    The Best Epic Fantasy
    2,521 books — 17,758 voters
    Insurgent by Veronica RothCity of Lost Souls by Cassandra ClareThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenPandemonium by Lauren OliverRapture by Lauren Kate
    YA Novels of 2012
    1,325 books — 10,534 voters

    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee1984 by George OrwellThe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. TolkienThe Catcher in the Rye by J.D. SalingerThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Best Books of the 20th Century
    6,355 books — 42,908 voters
    Allegiant by Veronica RothClockwork Princess by Cassandra ClareRequiem by Lauren OliverThe Indigo Spell by Richelle MeadUnravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
    YA Novels of 2013
    1,519 books — 10,769 voters

    To Kill a Mockingbird
    The Great Gatsby
    The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
    The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, #2)
    The Catcher in the Rye
    Animal Farm
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    The Kite Runner
    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
    The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe)
    Lord of the Flies
    Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
    Pride and Prejudice
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)

    Elizabeth Strout
    Elizabeth Strout Olive Kitteridge
    Her Current Bedtime Books: Strout shares with Goodreads the stack of books currently by her bed.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Christopher Paolini
    The greatest enemy is one that has nothing to lose.
    Christopher Paolini, Eragon

    David Foster Wallace
    Fiction is one of the few experiences where loneliness can be both confronted and relieved. Drugs, movies where stuff blows up, loud parties -- all these chase away loneliness by making me forget my name's Dave and I live in a one-by-one box of bone no other party can penetrate or know. Fiction, poetry, music, really deep serious sex, and, in various ways, religion -- these are the places (for me) where loneliness is countenanced, stared down, transfigured, treated.
    David Foster Wallace

    More quotes...
    Around the World in 80 Books Reading takes you places. Where in the world will your next book take you? If you love world lit…more

    8,998 members, last active 5 hours ago

    Addicted to YA “One must always be careful of books," said Tessa, "and what is inside them, for words have the…more

    19,156 members, last active 2 minutes ago

    "The BB's" Welcome to Bookshelf Bitches! Currently not accepting new members at this time. We are a group…more

    29 members, last active 10 minutes ago

    All About Animals We read books about all types animals, reptiles, sea life, birds, and insects. Also, any book wi…more

    539 members, last active 5 hours ago

    Casting My Heart (Spellbound Creatures Book #1)
    2 chapters — updated Aug 07, 2015 01:21PM — 21 people liked it
    The Water Nymphs {(FINISHED)}
    5 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:30PM — 22 people liked it


    Tags contributing to this page include: fiction, fiction-general, general-fiction, narrativa, and popular-fiction