Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hush, Little Bunny” as Want to Read:
Hush, Little Bunny
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hush, Little Bunny

3.74  ·  Rating details ·  419 ratings  ·  84 reviews
Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from a papa bunny to his little one—from David Ezra Stein, Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Interrupting Chicken and Leaves. Fans of Kevin Henkes and Beatrix Potter will adore this gorgeous book.

Come, little bunny, don’t be shy . . .

“Hush Little Baby” is a lullaby that parents have sung to their children for gene
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published January 22nd 2019 by Balzer + Bray (first published 2019)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hush, Little Bunny, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hush, Little Bunny

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.74  · 
Rating details
 ·  419 ratings  ·  84 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Hush, Little Bunny
Melisa
Feb 06, 2019 rated it it was ok
Stein's art is adorable and spot on but the rhymes are forced and it's not his best work. Sweet but there are better spring stories. ...more
Ms. B
Nov 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture, 2019
This story that can be sang to the tune of "Hush Little Baby" could be a board book. ...more
Bea
Lovely art, sweet message but the flow and rhythm don't quite work. ...more
Julie
The Goodreads entry says this is for "fans of Kevin Henkes and Beatrix Potter." This book definitely shares the sweet, innocent quality of Henkes's illustrations, and is reminiscent of Stein's other books about animals and the natural world such as Leaves and Honey. I love the story of the father bunny and his little bunny as they go on adventures around the farm that pictured in the background in a few scenes, all done with bright, sunlit colors using mixed media on watercolor paper. The story ...more
Shaye Miller
Dec 14, 2019 rated it liked it
This book just BEGS to be sung! In muted, earthy colors, this picture book is a play on the original song Hush, Little Baby.

Hush, little bunny, don't you cry.
Papa's gonna give you the big blue sky.
And if that big blue sky clouds over,
Papa's gonna give you a patch of clover.


Through rain and wind storm and even bullying bunnies, Papa looks out for his little bunny with utmost care. Awww! Even the font of the title makes me feel nostalgic for books from my early childhood. The artwork in this book
...more
KC
A retelling of "Hush Little Baby". Wonderful illustrations but a bit too long. ...more
MaryLibrarianOH
"Hush Little Baby" for bunnies. Papa and baby bunny have a wonderful relationship as they explore the natural world from the end of winter to the end of spring. The rhythmic language make it a wonderful cuddle up story for sharing with little ones. The illustrations are both classic looking as well as timeless. ...more
Hanna Yost
Mar 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
All the points for being a good read aloud told from a dad's point of view. Gifted a copy to my cousin (single dad) who was thrilled. ...more
Tammy
Apr 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Beautiful art and words.
Karen Arendt
Jun 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Perfect for young children. This story shows dad’s love for his bunny will protect him no matter what. Even more fun sung to the tune “Hush Little Baby”.
Alexa
Sep 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
One of the cutest books ever!
Theresa Grissom
Very cute book based on the old lullaby Hush, Little Baby. I am going to a baby shower soon and have decided that this will be a perfect book to give.
Lynn
Mar 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An adorable bedtime story from a papa bunny to his little one with new lyrics to the favorite lullaby Hush Little Baby.

Warm and sweet and absolutely enchanting! Stein's watercolor illustrations use a warm palette and close up perspective and evoke a sense of reassurance and love. Charming small details can be found on all the pages. This is sure to be a favorite with the pre-school set.

I loved this!
...more
Tasha
Mar 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Caldecott Honor-winner Stein has rewritten the classic song of Hush Little Baby into a rabbit-filled delight. A papa bunny spends a day with his little bunny, experiencing a day in spring just as the snow is disappearing. The two of them explore the meadow together, running under the big blue sky. They munch on clover, hide from a hawk, and then return to play in the sun. In the afternoon, the little bunny plays with other young bunnies and papa bunny intervenes when someone is mean. As the day ...more
Jane
Nov 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
One thing I did when my kiddos were young was to “re-write” the lyrics to a familiar song to include things familiar to our family. In Hush, Little Bunny David Ezra Stein has re-written the lyrics to “Hush, Little Baby” and applied it to a bunny and its parent. The situations mentioned in the could easily be part of the life of a rabbit. The illustrations are child-like and show the text in picture form. Hush, Little Bunny will most likely have the most appeal for young children.

I would not hesi
...more
Sandy Brehl
This lyrical twist on the "Hush little baby, don't you cry" traditional song and lyric is delightfully pended in scenes, simple content about the habits of rabbits, and the remarkably gentle but lively art of David Ezra Stein. This would make a delightful bedtime book, or any anytime story, since each "Papa's gonna give you" verse introduces a natural event in the life of a rabbit.
(I'll forgive the fact that bunnies are nocturnal and these are all daytime images, because they are so charmingly
...more
Karen
Jan 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
When little bunny and his mother come out of the den into spring there is a big, beautiful world to discover! Things are in bloom, other bunnies are playing, there is a blazing blue sky. Mother rabbit introduces little bunny to the world to the cadence of "Hush Little Baby Don't Say a Word". She assures him that she will be there for him no matter what happens and no matter what the weather brings, she ends her assurances with, "And when the spring has come and gone, I'm still gonna love you all ...more
Gabrielle Stoller
You familiar with the tune "Hush Little Baby?" Well, this book is almost exactly like it--only a bunny and his daddy is the main focus of the book. I did love that being a father focus; you don't see that very often in books.

David Ezra Stein, Caldecott winning illustrator, does a fantastic job at illustrating and authoring this tale. I just wanted it to be more. But it was enough.

I think it would work very well in a storytime....so I should use it when I get back to the library ;)
...more
Michelle
Apr 10, 2021 rated it really liked it
A sweet retelling of the “hush little baby” lullaby, this book is told from a papa bunny to his baby. Just like the original, papa promises to give baby bunny things that make him happy and keep him safe. The illustrations are beautiful and lovely. Maybe it’s the nature theme, maybe it’s the pictures, but whatever the reason, I like this better than the original song, and I plan to learn it by heart to sing to my little one. ❤️
Beverly
Mar 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: pbf-mammals
I really liked Stein's adaptation of the words of the traditional lullaby "Hush, Little Baby" into a celebration of spring and rabbits cavorting in spring time. I loved the illustrations--the colors and the execution. I also liked how the illustrations extended the text by showing actions and objects not specifically mentioned. ...more
Audrey
Mar 30, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: young-adult
I thought this was a very cute book since it is a spin on Hush Little Baby from a dad's perspective. Books are often written about the relationship between a mom and child so I really enjoyed that this story was about a father and child. The illustrations were well done, but overall I don't know if I loved the story because it felt a bit long and drawn out. ...more
Janet
This is an adorable takeoff on the well known traditional lullaby, “Hush, Little Baby”. Delightful papa rabbit and his young one are enjoying the day and papa is ever watchful and protective. Love the illustrations and the color palette primarily in yellows, greens, and browns. And who knew rabbits could be so expressive. This is a good picture book.
Barbara
Dec 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-books
Hush, Little Bunny by David Ezra Stein is a lovely new addition to bedtime lullaby books. Follow a father and baby bunny through their romps and adventures as little bunny experiences growing up in the wild. Sung to the tune of "Hush, Little Baby, Don't You Cry", this endearing picture book is sure to become a classic for ages 2 - 7. ...more
Jessica Furtado
Jan 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
A singable tale inspired by the tune of "Hush, Little Baby" provides gentle story that is perfect for bedtime. Beautifully illustrated in soft hues, parents will love sending little ones off to bed with this story about Papa & Baby bunny and the arrival of spring. ...more
Stacy
Mar 05, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: picture-books
It would make a great bedtime story because it would put anyone to sleep. It was too long, and seemed to drag on and on. Some of the rhymes felt forced as well. I did enjoy the illustrations on the "And if those bunnies don't play fair, I'll growl at them just like a bear" pages. ...more
Carol  V
Hush, Little Bunny is a retelling of the tradition lullaby, Hush, Little Baby. It has a comfortable message to listeners of love and protection. What a nice book to share at Easter and to welcome Spring.
Bethany Lafferty
Apr 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
An updated version of the classic lullaby, "Hush Little Baby." Stein adapts the rhymes for a little bunny exploring the world with a parent. I found the action fresh and new and the text is well supported by Stein's recognizable illustrations (reminiscent of "Leaves"). ...more
Cara Byrne
Dec 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
"And if the afternoon brings showers, we'll stay by a tree that's hung with flowers. And when those flowers blow away, we'll find some other bunnies and play." I love this soft, sweet take on a lullaby. It's easy to sing and it's great as a bedtime read for little ones. ...more
Edward Sullivan
Jan 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
A lovely reimagining of the lullaby.
Erin
Jan 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
Different words to "Hush, Little Baby" lullaby. Be sure to look at the photo of Author Sten and a (his?) white rabbit on the jacket. ...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • There Are No Bears in This Bakery
  • Sea Bear: A Journey for Survival
  • Tomorrow Most Likely
  • Carl and the Meaning of Life
  • The Donkey Egg
  • Another
  • What Is Given from the Heart
  • Elvis Is King!
  • My Heart
  • Hey, Water!
  • Because
  • Nobody Hugs a Cactus
  • The Book Hog
  • A Stone Sat Still
  • The Bell Rang
  • The Little Guys
  • Crab Cake: Turning the Tide Together
  • Princess Puffybottom . . . and Darryl
See similar books…
See top shelves…
99 followers
David Ezra Stein is an author-illustrator whose previous books include LEAVES, winner of an Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award. He lives in Kew Gardens, New York.

News & Interviews

Believe it or not, we're halfway through 2021! As is our tradition, this is the time when the Goodreads editorial team burrows into our data to...
106 likes · 79 comments