Frank Miller is an American writer, artist and film director best known for his film noir-style comic book stories. He is one of the most widely-recognized and popular creators in comics, and is one of the most influential comics creators of his generation. His most notable works include Sin City, The Dark Knight Returns, Batman Year One and 300.
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.
The evil Kandorians have managed to turn Lara, Superman and Wonder Woman’s daughter, against her dad – watch a super-powered teen beat the ever-loving snot out of a non-resisting Superman! Nothing more exciting than a one-sided fight… Then the Kandorians present Earth with an ultimatum: hand over Batman or humanity is wiped out. Batman bravely takes painkillers and watches Superman get beaten up. What a hero!
Why didn’t anyone help Superman when he was getting beat - he might not want to raise a hand to his daughter but where were the other superheroes? Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash, Aquaman – all of whom appear in this issue – stand back and watch the best among them get taken out. They had HOURS to stand up to Lara! I guess all of the superheroes hate each other in this miserable Dark Knight world? The Atom at least has an excuse – he’s floating in limbo at a microscopic level. It’s probably just a case of mean old Frank Miller flaunting his contempt for Superman yet again. “Hehe, hit that stinkin’ boy scout again, more, MORE!”
So, the fight: who was filming it? It was being televised everywhere despite the action taking place at super-speed at various locations around the world – I guess one of the Kandorians had a camera (even though we never see any of them holding one)?
Remember the bait and switch of the first two issues where Carrie was pretending to be Bats? Look at the way she’s drawn in this issue – she’s practically a midget compared to Bruce, how could anyone mistake her for Batman? Andy Kubert’s character design for her is very inconsistent.
The issue feels shorter than the others and it’s not helped with a backup where even more nowt happens. Carrie dons the Batgirl outfit and Aquaman appears – that’s about it. It’s also full of some ghastly Miller art that looks rushed and clumsy - DKII-level bad. DC tries to justify the inflated price tag of this issue by throwing in some of Kubert’s pencil pages and a wad of variant covers but I would’ve preferred paying less than having this irrelevant filler that doesn’t add anything for me.
The Master Race #4 is unfortunately another crappy issue but I am interested to see what the Kandorians want with Batman – hopefully now the pace will pick up and we’ll see what Bruce has planned for the alien invaders.
What a great disappointment DKIII is. I could not believe that this is the worst hyped Batman story I have ever read!
Superman did nothing and got beaten, Batman showing up and did nothing, Wonder Woman and the Flash showed up randomly and did nothing. You also got The Atom doing nothing. That's basically DKIII issue 4, nothing. At least Donald Trump showed up! So, Kandorian terrorists beat Superman, and none of the heroes came to the rescue, even Superman himself did not lift a finger? Why, because her daughter was brainwashed, and he is putting some sense into her? Oh crap. Then for some reason they want Batman to surrender (or Gothan to surrender Batman, whatever). I wish they could just get over with this overly annoying Kandorian stuff.
The crappy main story is made even crappier with the Batgirl minicomics and worse, it is just issue #1! She fought thugs and Aquaman showed up riding something I don't even know. I don't care.
I regret to have collected DKIII and the collector's edition. That means I have to read on and finish it. Please DC, there's 4 more issues to go, you can still fix this.
Superman's fall by his daughter's hand was great (no doubt he's going to rise again before the end) and I'm in love with Andy Kubert's artworks. A set-up issue: the Justice League is gathering again. Slowly but you can see that.
Thanks to Big Bang Theory's Rajesh for makin'me laugh loud at Aquaman's entering on scene in Miller's Carrie/Batgirl bonus story... My point of view about the character is ruined forever! XD
Dark Knight III: the master race starts with Superman getting into a fight with his own daughter, and it is a rather one sided affair with the Super Boyscout doing not a lot. His fellow Kryptonians seem to take their time in a bottle not very well.
With the demise of Superman their aim their arrows at the Dark knight himself, Gotham gets a deadline in delivering their knight within 24 hours before the city will be destroyed.
It is about time for the Dark Knight to once again suit up and unveil his plans to stop the new master race crushing mankind like ants.
Episode 4 is still unfolding the story and as a reader you get frustrated when will the fighting back begin, how and when.
Remember Superman II from the 70's? General Zod and his gang? All the trouble/damage they caused? Well, add in about hundreds more and you have The Master Rack #4. How in the world is Batman going to fight this? Best story yet...setting for a very exciting ending.......I am hooked!
hasta ahora, el peor número de master race de los cuatro que han salido. se sintió un poco como un número innecesario; la trama avanza prácticamente nada, batman ha aparecido un par de veces pero nomás han sido amagos huecos que no llevan a ningún lado. hasta el tercer número la historia parecía ser puro build-up para algo interesantísimo, pero este número no recompensó de ninguna forma. supongo que en el quinto número --para cuando llegue-- explotará todo. espero.
Andy Kubert is amazing with pencils, He is keeping a pseudo Miller style, devoid of his weirdness. Did I see Trump and Obama in the run? Anyway there is an awful Batgirl in tie in coz Miller cant leave something good. He has to ruin it with his touch somehow.
Solid installment If they get to explain Batmans negligence towards Superman being Kandors public punching bag.
I continue to love the artwork but I'm underwhelmed by the story. I'm open to wait for it to come together, but this issue didn't have enough story for me.