Read all of the volumes that have been translated. And it's a really cute spinoff! The more slice of life vibes were the parts I liked most about the series, so I definitely was fond of it .
But also:
- way too much bakugo i am soo over him. maybe it's just flanderization from a new author but i was so over him. this series ought to be used to display under the radar characters not Bakugo Again 40th Time. - really jarring to see like. a whole chapter dedicated around them being worried that monoma is being mistreated in class B. all for behavior theyre reading into which ISNT EVEN AS BAD AS THE STUFF BAKUGO DOES. REPEATEDLY. IN FRONT OF THEM. CONSTANTLY - way too much mineta too. why the fuck is he always driving the bus - i wish this series liked women more. why was one of the only female centric chapters about them dieting to try and lose weight for bikini season. the ultimate message was 'oh we had to eat sugary treats to have energy to fight the villains' but still idk man. i know the author did a spinoff called My Heroine Academia prior to this, so maybe that would be more of what i was looking for?
The most meh volume in the series where I was just fine with or a bit bored with the stories.
The one standout though is the one where several of the teens make a manga and it illustrates just how hard and grueling the job is, which I really appreciated seeing and it makes me love the media even more in seeing just how much love and effort is put into each volume/series.
I seriously love the Team-Up missions and I'd suggest them to anyone who really likes the show and wants to get to see more of the world and side characters
Lowkey, Camie’s story was the best one. I laughed out loud several times.
1. The story with the kids form Heroes Rising was pretty cute. Obviously a Bakugo/Midoriya parallel between Katsuma and Koga. 2. The trash story seemed kinda pointless. Reminded me of the fact that (for a while anyway) Marvel refused to say who’d win in a fight between the Hulk and Wolverine. I have never given a solitary f*ck about power scaling arguments. They bore me to tears. But I know there are dudebros who have very, very strong opinions on Bakugo v Todoroki. They won’t find any answers here. 3. Froppy’s story was adorable. She’s honestly underrated, IMO. All the female characters in MHA are. 4. Kaminari’s story made me wonder if young kids are meant to get lessons from these. It’s about the important of prioritizing studying over goofing off. Very Disney channel esque. 5. Camie’s story was my favorite. I laughed out loud a lot . I also we got MHA characters in the style of shojo. That was fun! I also really think this author used Camie in a way the series didn’t. She’s presented as trying really hard to “up her quirk game” because she actually cares. She’s not an airhead and it was cool seeing this emphasized. I love this series for the depth given to characters that we don’t get more of in the main series. 6. The story about the guy with the crush was pretty cute. I loved Iida being at an 11 at all times. 7. The manga story was kinda boring, but I like the spirit of teamwork 8. Fat Gum’s story wasn’t for me, but we rarely see the cake guy get any focus, so that was nice. Always like seeing Tamajiki.
Overall, I really enjoy these books. There’s usually at least a couple stories that make me smile and they use the female characters surpassingly well compared to the main series. A recommend if you like the main series and want slice of life stories.
Extrait : Dernier tome que j’ai de la série pour le moment, de mémoire, elle se termine au tome huit, donc on approche de la fin malgré tout. Ses petites histoires sont vraiment sympathiques, un peu plus que Smash mais les deux n’ont rien avoir aussi, il faut le dire. C’est l’occasion de mettre en avant d’autres personnages, des missions parfois loufoque et des groupes de personnages auxquels on ne s’attend pas. Si je devais conseiller l’une des deux, je vous conseillerais tout de même plus cette série, les tomes sont plus épais pour le même prix.
Il y a un total de huit histoires pour ce sixième volume. Pas une seule d’entre elles ne concerne une véritable mission aux côtés de héros professionnels ! Deux d’entre elles concernent plutôt des spectacles ou compétitions pour les élèves de filières héroïques. La première me paraît assez originale et drôle, puisqu’il s’agit de ramasser le plus d’ordures possibles dans un temps donné. Une compétition qui a lieu régulièrement et que même All Might a faite (sans gagner). De quoi raviver la flamme de la rivalité chez certains élèves, sans pour autant qu’ils se mettent en danger en s’affrontant. En plus, cela fait également une bonne action auprès du public, même s’il faut avouer que le Japon n’est pas vraiment le lieu le plus sale au monde. Il doit y avoir quelques coins qui correspondent à ses critères, mais je pense que l’on en trouve d’avantages par chez nous… La seconde histoire les ramène dans un sacré complexe, avec les autres écoles ayant une filière héroïque. Il s’agit d’une sorte de simulation de sauvetage en conditions réelles, où ils devront coopérer. Toutefois, l’histoire n’est pas centrée spécialement sur cet événement, mais sur une jeune fille venue les voir. La pauvre espère toujours avoir un meilleur alter, sans vouloir admettre que celui est défini et ne peut pas être changé avec le temps. C’est un peu triste, mais elle trouve son alter nul et elle n’est sans doute pas la seule enfant à penser ainsi… Je n’imagine pas combien d’enfants ont dû réagir comme Isuku, alors même qu’ils ont eu un alter. Ça montre vraiment toute la pression sociale qu’il peut y avoir autour, surtout pour ceux souhaitant devenir des héros. Heureusement, dans son cas, son côté aventureux lui fera rencontrer une héroïne qui lui ressemble. Ainsi, elle ne souhaite plus avoir d’autres alters, mais bien développer le sien pour atteindre son rêve. Cette histoire paraît simple, mais je l’apprécie beaucoup, Tsuyu s’est fait une nouvelle fan. D’un autre côté, cela montre également toutes les compétences qu’elle a acquises au sein de l’école et le fait qu’un alter peut évoluer au cours d’une vie. Je n’avais pas vraiment capté toutes ses évolutions ou peut-être que je ne suis pas encore au passage qui en parle dans la série principale. C’est cool de voir que même des alters « normaux » peuvent évoluer tout en restant crédible avec leur base.
Pour le reste, même si j’ai globalement aimé toutes les intrigues, il y en a deux autres qui ressortent un peu plus. La première concerne Denki, il faut dire qu’il n’est pas spécialement mis en avant, même si on sait pertinemment qu’il n’est pas doué pour les études. C’est ce que présente d’ailleurs cette intrigue, mais aussi une partie du pourquoi il a du mal. Au final, il est surtout un personnage assez influençable, il est content de passer du temps avec ses amis et se laisse donc facilement emporter. Cela ne l’empêche pas d’être un cancre naturellement, même avec l’aide des autres il aura tout juste eu la moyenne. Il veut tellement profiter de tout qu’au final il finit totalement débordé. Sauf qu’évidemment les professeurs ne l’entendent pas de la même oreille, il ne faut pas négliger les autres matières, même si décompresser est important. C’est une histoire assez simple, mais je l’ai bien aimé justement pour cela. La seconde intrigue qui m’a bien plu à lieu vers la fin du tome, c’est peut-être même la dernière. Dedans, les deux classes de filière héroïque coopèrent pour créer un manga pour le journal de l’école. C’est un peu triste, parce qu’ils montrent clairement comment fonctionnent les vrais mangakas, notamment avec les deadlines qui ne sont pas toujours évidentes. Même en ayant plusieurs paires de bras, finir plus tôt parce que la date a été avancée n’est pas évident. Surtout dans le cas présent où ce sont des néophytes à l’origine de l’œuvre. J’ai bien aimé que, pour une fois, Minoru soit mis positivement en avant (même si son côté pervers est bien présent aussi). Mezô aussi est mis en avant, même si c’est assez bref dans son cas. Il faut dire que plusieurs bras ça aide, surtout qu’il a une sacrée habileté à les utiliser séparément. Un personnage clairement sous-coté dans l’intrigue principale à mes yeux.
Super cute, great volume. Loved the handling of all the characters, gorgeous and pleasing art, and even Mineta wasn't too terrible this time around (maybe I'm just feeling more kindly too him because he managed to draw such an adorable manga protagonist? Seriously, I want to read about her!)
A few standouts, with minor spoilers:
My favorite story was likely Todoroki and Bakugo's competition for cleaning up the city, they're my favorites and the art for that one was super beautiful as well.
The story where Kaminari was procrastinating studying stressed me out, but I love how it showcased how much he values his friends.
Izuku talking to Camie in 2010s slang was HILARIOUS. I love Camie and loved seeing Meatball in this story, too!
The guy having a crush on Ochako was great, especially when he realized he'd made her into someone she wasn't in his fantasies.
The one where they all work on manga is great, and should be a little relatable to any art student who's worked late at the studio, though obviously it's hard for anyone to imagine the weekly manga grind.
Fat Gum! I loved seeing more of him in his slimmed down form; not to say he's not totally handsome as his usually chubby self, but I love both forms and don't get to see much of his non-fat form!
And lastly, the bonus with Toga and the villains. Always great to see them, especially in more lighthearted stuff.
I battled with this rating. I felt the art was excellent. The story was fun. But...it definitely had the individual stories all in one volume vibe. And while that is not bad...it felt like I should have read this volume as independent issues. Nothing is wrong about this, but there is also a feeling I had that if I had never read this...would it have mattered? It's fun and a great addition to the main stories...but this might be the toughest review I have ever given to a book I liked, but don't have any particular reason to give it this high of a rating. Still...you will enjoy if you have enjoyed the previous installments.
Who was your favorite character? (My favorite character is Ejiro Kirishima because he gave a movie to Kaminari so he could watch it.)? What surprised you? There was a trash monster that needed the trash to grow. Would you change the ending? Why/why not? I would say no because it is good to have an extra part.
Honestamente, no se como a Fat Gum se le ocurrió que comer una cosa comprimida de muchas cosas iba a estar rico, pero bueno, recupero peso Gusto dio ver a los personajes de la pelicula, me cae bien Katsuma (buen don, próximo Recovery Girl) Ese dibujo de Ochako esta en otro nivel la verdad. Las historias de Kirishima y Asui también estuvieron interesantes
(Aviso: lectura hecha en ejemplar en español, publicado en México. La presente nota se modificará cuando se dé de alta en GR la edición correspondiente).
I love the team up series and this volume was great. Not my fav but I still love this volume. Great plot and great art. I hope they make more even after the end of MHA main series.