After trumpets of the apocalypse proclaim the fall of humanity, vampires arise from the shadows to rule the earth. Yuichiro wants just one thing—to get revenge by killing each and every vampire.
Yu and Mika continue to watch as long-lost, forbidden memories of the past unfold before their eyes. Paimon reveals the truth to Mikaela—that his existence is taboo and a threat to his father, Sika Madu. Distraught, the angel Mikaela takes matters into his own hands… Sika Madu watches as the perfect world made to reach the heavens crumbles around him and in a final desperate attempt, uses the Tower of Babel to enact the ultimate sin…
[Yu]: I found you, Mika. [Mika]:…Sure took you long enough! [Yu]: Hey! I didn’t have any of my memories, thanks… [Mika]: If I did, I wouldn’t have been able to bear it… [Yu]: What’s it mean to live, then? We’re all just gonna die anyway. Then forget…Why am I trying so hard to turn you back into a human? [Mika]: Are you really bringing that up NOW? Besides, I already gave you my answer to that…Let’s both run away somewhere. We’ll go into hiding. Live a quiet, peaceful life. Then we’ll die together….that was the only viable answer I could find. Arrgh, my heart!
Here we get into the angel mythology backstory more deeply. I think I can say without spoiling too much – because it was kind of clear that this is where we were going – that The First really is Paradise-Lost-style-Lucifer…only instead of a sort of “sexy bad boy Satan” he/they is more “grieving parent Satan”. Not to mention coming back to why Yu and Mika are supposedly abominations that shouldn’t exist! So, some good Christian religious trauma metaphors, mixed with a bit of Buddhist “attachment is the root of suffering” going on.
Bael: God will never forgive suicide. Paimon’s soul is – The First (cradling Angel Mika): Don’t say it… Bael: I’m sure I needn’t tell you, but all happens in accordance with God’s plan. Which means this is another trial too. The First: Are you going to tell me I just have to accept this? Just roll over and take it? All of this? Every horrible thing? Bael: Majesty! You’re still in the midst of your journey! To be punished for arrogance while only partway to your goal- The First: Silence! I won’t accept this! I don’t feel arrogant in the least! All I feel right now is despair! Exhaustion! Helplessness!
I’m not fully sure where the author is going with this, so it’s hard to judge at this point…but I do dig a good philosophical discussion on when to hang on vs. when to let go, when to favor the needs of the (often theoretical) many vs. the needs of those who are special to you, etc., and this series does a fair bit of that.
Also, gotta love a bit of extra angsty gay angel shit thrown in there just because:
And gosh, the TWIST! I don’t know yet whether it is really clever or overly convoluted…but for now I like how it creates a variant on the “reincarnated lovers”/ “other half” thing that I’ve never seen before.
Also, the very last bit has brought me back around to hating Guren again…but I’m trying to reserve judgement just a smidge, because he’s also caught in this cycle of the attempt to save people he loves bringing with it a terrible cost.
New info dump goes crazyyy. Ultimately it leads to more questions than answers though because ??????? What???? Where the hell are we even going with this like it's biblically CONFUSING. I do appreciate that Yu and Mika were equally hella confused during the flashbacks.
I guess do NOT piss off god because damn that was a little rude of them. Nonbinary god goes hard.
I can't even talk about it because I simply cannot make sense of what I even read. Sooo much angel lore like what happened to the original plot of the series.😭 How did we get here?
I'm not even surprised at Guren being shady again lmao likely place for him to be.
All I know is that this yet again shows how Yu and Mika are soulmates, destined for each other.🫶
So we finally finish the flashback arc and it really does not answer much but instead leads to more confusion as there is so much that happens that is not really properly explained. We find out that the First one became a vampire after trying to resurrect the dead angel Mikela as it was meant to be curse for him to burn for all of eternity but then how did seem to just stop burning after a while and we learn that he created humans but him creating new life was also said to be forbidden so how did that not get God's attention. It just feels we are still missing so much.
This entire review has been hidden because of spoilers.
Every time I get a volume of Seraph of the End from the library I think of how ridiculous, complicated, drawn out, and dumb modern Seraph of the End is. And then I read the volume and I fall for it. And then by the end I'm usually back in the “what the fuck even is modern Seraph of the End's story.” Due to this cycle I just think I'll struggle to give many books more than a 3. Each book individually is good but as a part of a larger series it just complicates itself more and more. Please do bear with my review. They serve partly for me to look back on to remember wtf is going on when a new volume releases.
This includes vague spoilers but necessary ones if you enjoy certain characters. Please don’t report.
Absolute trash. Mika was my favorite character from the start of series, which I had read when it first came out. I loved his character and knew there was still so much character development for him to come which I hoped would make his character just as, if not more important than Yuu. I was getting really excited for these chapters and that it would finally actually give Mika more character development and storyline importance and then all of that was completely stripped away when the author did the whole “Mika and Yuu actually switched bodies to trick god (or whoever the f)” so not only is my favorite character not my favorite character but took away so much from him. I haven’t read anything since these chapters and I don’t plan on reading the rest. It actually genuinely breaks my heart every time I think about it.
RATING THIS ONE ONE STAR BC IT'S NONSENSICAL THIS IS SO ANNOYING AND STUPID also it's so funny how they're introducing all this nonsense and then they're just like "oh yeah and akane and the kids" LIKE YEAH REMEMBER THEM.....THE SERIES' HUMBLE BEGINNINGS......THE GOOD OLD DAYS.....literally how did we get here
Not going to drop this yet bc this volume was (slightly) better [not by much], but still…seraph of the end really needs to end… no pun intended. Everything is hella confusing and makes no sense. The story is unraveling as it's simultaneously being developed. There's no way this entire backstory was planned from the beginning.
OKEJ MAM ŁEB ROZWALONY CO TU SIĘ STAŁO JAK TO WPLYNIE NA RESZTĘ FABULY? CZY POPRZEDNIE TLUMACZY TO WYDARZENIA? MOŻLIWE Chce kolejny tom już mimo, że nie był ten genialny, ale był ciekawy i ten plot twist?
I like when I get to have a look at their past. I want to know who Paimon and Bael are right now. Are they Ferid and the guy that does what he says despite saying he don't like him? 🤔
Se está yendo todo taaaan a la mierda jajajja pero ellos siempre juntos, los adoro. Los plot-twists cada vez me dejan más así ???????? Es muy bueno. Amo las explicaciones que nos dan para cosas que vienen pasando desde el capítulo 1, este mangaka es un máster del foreshadowing.