Then You Were Gone
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Then You Were Gone

by
3.24 of 5 stars 3.24  ·  rating details  ·  487 ratings  ·  110 reviews
In the tradition of 13 Reasons Why, a suspenseful and heart-wrenching novel from the author of Nothing Like You and Her and Me and You.

Two years ago, Adrienne's best friend walked out of her life. One week ago, she left Adrienne a desperate, muffled voicemail. Adrienne never called back.

Now Dakota is missing. She left behind a string of broken hearts, a flurry of rumors, a...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published January 8th 2013 by Simon Pulse
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Then You Were Gone, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Then You Were Gone

Dare You To by Katie McGarryJust One Day by Gayle FormanThis is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. SmithEleanor & Park by Rainbow RowellThe Moon and More by Sarah Dessen
2013 Contemporary YA
51st out of 236 books — 1,401 voters
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra ClareThe Selection by Kiera CassIncarnate by Jodi MeadowsAcross the Universe by Beth RevisThe Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Oh My Gosh! Beautiful Covers
188th out of 941 books — 927 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Jasprit
“Either way she did this. She chose this. There’s nothing you need to sort out. Finding her, jamming all these jagged, arbitrary puzzle pieces into place, won’t get you any closer to understanding why she shit all over you and your friendship”

Adrienne and Dakota have been best friends forever, they were inseparable until little cracks started to develop and then one day Dakota and Adrienne just stopped talking. The sweet innocent Dakota that Adrienne knew abruptly changed into some dark edgy per...more
Kelly
Adrienne and Dakota stopped being friends two years ago, but it's Adrienne who receives a mysterious call for help from Dakota before she goes missing. Before she's presumed dead. Before she's presumed dead because she killed herself. There's no body found, but Dakota's reckless rockstar lifestyle is all the clue anyone needs to draw that conclusion.

It's then Adrienne sinks into deep grief over the loss. Is it her fault since she didn't answer the voice mail for days? Why does she miss Dakota so...more
Leah
Short, breezy, concise, well-paced...but really more of a novella. I think if this had been a novella, I would've had lower expectations and been more impressed. As it was, there was very little plot stretched way, way too thin. The mystery around what happened to Dakota needed to be fleshed out with a subplot or two, the friendship between the two girls built up better with more flashbacks, etc. (view spoiler)...more
Michelle
Then You Were Gone is a quick read. Literally. I read it in about two hours, one sitting. Which sadly, has become more of a sign that a book didn't hit the mark with me than I was just so into the story that I couldn't stop reading. And that's just it. The story was quick and then it was over and I felt no differently about it at the start as I did at the end. For me, that's all there was: quickness--well-paced scenes that eventually led to a rather generic conclusion. For such a strong premise,...more
Terra
I swear to the heavens, I wish I could write as well as Lauren Strasnick. If you haven't ever read anything of hers, start doing so now.
Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Book Blog)
Adrienne hasn't talked to Dakota in 2 years. That's how long it's been since Dakota walked away from their friendship without so much as a glance back. Sure Adrienne has moved on, she has a new BFF, a boyfriend. But there's always been a part of her that has hung on to Dakota. Dakota has turned into a rockstar. The girl everyone wants to be and nobody really knows.

Then one day Adrienne gets a mysterious voicemail from her old friend... and when Dakota turns up missing, Adrienne feels a crushing
...more
Ariana
The story could have been interesting but I couldn't get past the writing style. It felt like a movie script with commentaries and it played in my mind like some movie flashbacks: short phrases, pretty easy to read but pretty easy to lose interest in as well.

Not much character development - maybe because it was quite short, maybe because of the way it was written. Didn't care much about the characters, didn't relate to the girl's grief at all and I really wanted to punch Dakota in the face. I d...more
Angela (:
Actual rating: 2.5 stars

I didn't know what to expect when I went into this, but it's wasn't this. Maybe something darker?

Then You Were Gone is a very fast paced book, and incredibly short. I read this in one sitting and in not even two hours.

None of the characters were developed very well, but this is a very short book so I guess that's why. I didn't like Adrienne because she was focused on all the wrong things. Her relationships were weird, if you can even call it a relationship. Lee was an oka...more
WJ
This book was actually a really short read and nothing at all like how I imagined it would've been. The premise was intriguing and it seemed to be a realistic portrayal of how friendships can break down, how opportunities missed can lead to regret. Unfortunately the book didn't live up to my expectations of it and had quite a few messed up messages interwoven into it...

First of all, the self-destructive tendencies about Adrienne. She doesn't seem like a person who likes herself very much, not wi...more
Abbe "The Sexy Gryffindor" Hinder
Although my hopes were high for this novel and I was very disappointed, I think that it might be able to touch someone's heart. But it could also annoy the crap out of them just like it did me. Then You Were Gone is told from the perspective of Adrienne, a girl who seems to be freaking out over the disappearance of her ex-best friend. Everyone around her has told her again and again to forget about her, yet she can't.

At first, I really liked the writing style. Very short chapters, and short sen...more
XxForeverXx_XxVampire_DiariezxxLuvsSHERLOCKandSUPERNATURAL
Jul 21, 2014 XxForeverXx_XxVampire_DiariezxxLuvsSHERLOCKandSUPERNATURAL rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of suspensful thrillers.
Recommended to XxForeverXx_XxVampire_DiariezxxLuvsSHERLOCKandSUPERNATURAL by: Goodreads.com, public library.
Shelves: library-books
I finished this book super fast which really surprised me. When I first got this book, I thought it would be a good, suspensful thriller. But after finishing it, I thought it went a little to fast and there was not a lot of action in it. I was superised by why Dakota did what she did, but leading up to it wasn't that interesting. I found some parts good like the friendship between Kate and Adrianne. The chapters were short which made the book easy to read and fast which was good, but it was a li...more
Kelsey

This is my second book by Lauren Strasnick, the first being Nothing Like You. Each of these books deals with heavy subject matter and Strasnick is a very strong contemporary writer. All of her characters feel extremely real and her writing is fantastic. I was immediately drawn into Then You Were Gone and I was completely engrossed in Adrienne's story. Adrienne is such a complex character and she had a lot on her plate. I'm sure people will find a way to relate to at least one character in this b...more
Voldemortsn0se
Jan 01, 2013 Voldemortsn0se rated it 2 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: someone looking for a shallow, quick read
Shelves: pulse-it
I'm not that good at writing reviews, so this might not make much sense.

I found this on a Goodreads list of young adult novels that were being released in 2013, and I added it to my to-read bookshelf. I really liked the plot idea. A girl's ex best friend goes missing after making a desperate call. It sounds like it would be a good story. I got the opportunity to read it in advance with Simon and Schuster's "Pulse It program, a program for young adults ages 14-18 that allows them to read young ad...more
Bobbie
You know, for once I'm at a loss for words. I really don't know WHAT to think of this book. I didn't expect this at all.

I'm going to be nice here and not be a big ol meanie, but this did remind me of a cult-classic book that is a favorite of mine. Just on a way more average scale.

The suspense part of the book was well done, but by the time I was halfway through I had it mostly figured out.

Like I said, this just reminded me of a favorite book of mine. In more ways than one. Actually, comparing...more
Isamlq
The girl’s life is shaken up by a certain someone’s absence. It shakes up all aspects of the lead’s life, touching a little on BFF who read smart and funny and not at all lacking in personality… as well as affecting the romance she was having with a boyfriend who in turn read like a puppy too loyal for its own good. Or maybe that’s Adrienne? Puppy dog loyal even when she’s aware of how and who Dakota was/is/could be?

It’s Adrienne’s eventual frank recognition of where she’d fallen short as well a...more
Nicole
As seen on The Quiet Concert

DISCLAIMER: I understand that authors write these conflicted novels for one reason or another but there should be some clear cause and effect to explain why a teen could stumble down a dark path. Without that clarity, the book looses its purpose.

Adrienne and Dakota were "friends" growing up and by "friends" I mean Adrienne followed Dakota like a cowed puppy. She didn't make her own decisions and wasn't her own person. Even though Dakota was selfish and manipulative,...more
Jen Ryland
I did not find this book anything like Thirteen Reasons Why, as advertised in the blurb. Yes, one book has a girl who writes a suicide note and the other has a girl who leaves tapes explaining why she killed herself. If you are looking for a readalike for Thirteen Reasons, try something like Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Okay, that aside, once I adjusted to the fact that this book was not suspense or dual narration or really much of a mystery, I did find it a nice example of literary YA -...more
Sofia Lazaridou
Dakota leaves a message to Adrienne a little before she disappears.When she is considered dead by most people Adrienne feels guilty for not answering her phone and tries to solve the mystery behind Dakota and what happened to her.But what happens when she loses herself in the process?

The story itself it was good.The thing is that I don't have an opinion for the book and that worries me.When that happens it's because the book left me complete uninteresting or I was expecting a better book without...more
Jodi Papazian
This was an OK read. The chapters are short and the pace is quick so I went through it pretty quickly. I just never really got a chance to like any of the characters. I didn't feel much sympathy for Adrienne and Dakota had zero redeeming qualities. For some reason, the writing style distracted me. The sentences seemed very halting (for lack of a better word) and didn't seem very complete.
There was a lot of debauchery throughout - excessive drinking (at school - really, no teachers ever noticed...more
Dahlia
I could see this being a hard book to connect with if you've never had one of those friends, the kind you know are bad for you, or fleeting, or both, and yet you let yourself get sucked in anyway...but I have, and this book resonated with me so, so hard. I love Strasnick's bare writing style, I love "the supper club," I love that the MC is fully aware that she's her own undoing, and I love the ways realistic flaws abound in the twisted characters. I also loved that Adrianne's family wasn't super...more
Kimberly Sabatini
This book had an amazing voice! Too often, in young adult literature, protagonists are described as being different, but they do not necessarily emote this through their language and actions. I became obsessed with Adrienne on the first page of chapter one. She was a girl who didn't need to be described--her voice was the biggest presence in the book. She is unique and interesting and very real. This strength of character combined with an excellent combination of suspense and contemporary person...more
Ashley
I didn't really like this book. All the characters kind of sucked, especially the main assholes, so I didn't really care about what happened to any of them. The only characters that had any saving grace was the new BFF Kate, and the mom's boyfriend Sam. I wasn't a fan of the writing style, either. I can't quite put my finger on why, it just seemed really choppy or something.

On the plus side, the book was really short, so it was a super quick read. So at least I didn't invest too much time or ene...more
Lydia Peters
For the past month, I have been reading Then You Were Gone. This book was written by Lauren Strasnick. It is a realistic fiction novel and contains 212 pages. This book was very similar to some of the other books I have read. I found it at a book store and it looked good, so I decided to try it. However, I was disappointed in the book.

In this twisted tale, Adrienne is faced with her past and herself. When her ex-best friend Dakota suddenly disappears, Adrienne finds a mysterious voicemail on h...more
Emma
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Su
Dakota Webb. The girl whom Adrienne used to call her "best friend". The female lead singer of the local indie band named Dark Star. Guys liked her and girls wanted to be like her. One day she was gone with her jeep abandoned near the beach with a possible suicide note inside. Adrienne seemed to be the only one who didn't think Dakota would kill herself let alone in a way that copied the suicide of a sophomore in the previous year. Then she started to search the missing pieces of Dakota's disappe...more
Jill Rogan
Then You Were Gone is suspenseful in the beginning, upsetting to read at times. Adrienne does not handle ex best friend Dakota's disappearance well, and absolutely de-rails her life, letting everything fall apart in the aftermath. A fractured friendship, with no sense of closure, is at the heart of this story, and Adrienne has many questions and painful emotions tied to it. The subject matter in this book is mature and most appropriate for older teens, looking for a more extreme and powerful rea...more
Brandy
Compelling, suspenseful, fast paced read that deals with friendship and implied suicide. Dakota goes missing and Adrienne's life quickly spirals out of control. While Adrienne tries to find out the truth she must also save herself from the downward spiral she is caught up in. The story is complete with a twist ending that will surely make the reader gasp in surprise.
Liana
This was written in a very minimalist style that some authors do well and this author is one of them. It read very quickly. Some people might be able to solve the mystery quickly but I'm not one of them. It came to a very swift conclusion, somewhat pat for the severity of the situation. But I enjoyed reading it and I recommend it.
Paula  Phillips
Looking for a novel that holds an edge to it ? Are you fascinated by edgy teen novels with friends that disappear and the stories behind why, makes you wonder what type of town they lived in or what was really going on ?
Then You Were Gone is a teen psychological novel which takes us into the world of two girls Dakota Webb and Adrienne. Growing up these girls were the best of friends and nothing could tear them apart, though as the years passed as they got older. They were into different things...more
Hannah
I read and adored a draft of this. Cannot wait to read the finished product.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
  • Return to Me
  • Empty
  • Criminal
  • Over You
  • Nobody But Us
  • All the Rage
  • Meet Me at the River
  • The Murmurings
  • White Lines
  • Uses for Boys
  • Five Summers
  • Fault Line
  • 17 & Gone
  • Catherine
  • Panic
  • Ink is Thicker Than Water
  • Notes from Ghost Town
  • Stand Tall, They'll Break Your Heart
2777625
Lauren Strasnick is a graduate of the California Institute of the Arts MFA Writing Program. Her debut novel, NOTHING LIKE YOU (Simon Pulse/S&S, 2009), was an RWA RITA award finalist in two categories, Best First Book and YA Romance. Her second novel, HER AND ME AND YOU (Simon Pulse/S&S, 2010), was a 2012 ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. THEN YOU WERE GONE (Simon Pulse/S&S),...more
More about Lauren Strasnick...
Nothing Like You Her and Me and You

Share This Book