Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Then You Were Gone” as Want to Read:
Then You Were Gone
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Then You Were Gone

by
3.28  ·  Rating Details  ·  701 Ratings  ·  138 Reviews
In the tradition of 13 Reasons Why, a suspenseful and heart-wrenching novel from the author of Nothing Like You and Her and Me and You.

Two years ago, Adrienne’s best friend walked out of her life. One week ago, she left Adrienne a desperate, muffled voicemail. Adrienne never called back.

Now Dakota is missing. She left behind a string of broken hearts, a flurry of rumors, a
...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published January 8th 2013 by Simon Pulse
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Then You Were Gone, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Dare You To by Katie McGarryThis Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. SmithJust One Day by Gayle FormanEleanor & Park by Rainbow RowellThe Moon and More by Sarah Dessen
2013 Contemporary YA
53rd out of 209 books — 1,497 voters
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra ClareThe Selection by Kiera CassIncarnate by Jodi MeadowsAcross the Universe by Beth RevisThe Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Oh My Gosh! Beautiful Covers
239th out of 1,274 books — 1,170 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Jasprit
“Either way she did this. She chose this. There’s nothing you need to sort out. Finding her, jamming all these jagged, arbitrary puzzle pieces into place, won’t get you any closer to understanding why she shit all over you and your friendship”

Adrienne and Dakota have been best friends forever, they were inseparable until little cracks started to develop and then one day Dakota and Adrienne just stopped talking. The sweet innocent Dakota that Adrienne knew abruptly changed into some dark edgy per
...more
Kelly
Jan 15, 2013 Kelly rated it really liked it
Adrienne and Dakota stopped being friends two years ago, but it's Adrienne who receives a mysterious call for help from Dakota before she goes missing. Before she's presumed dead. Before she's presumed dead because she killed herself. There's no body found, but Dakota's reckless rockstar lifestyle is all the clue anyone needs to draw that conclusion.

It's then Adrienne sinks into deep grief over the loss. Is it her fault since she didn't answer the voice mail for days? Why does she miss Dakota so
...more
Michelle
Jan 04, 2013 Michelle rated it it was ok
Then You Were Gone is a quick read. Literally. I read it in about two hours, one sitting. Which sadly, has become more of a sign that a book didn't hit the mark with me than I was just so into the story that I couldn't stop reading. And that's just it. The story was quick and then it was over and I felt no differently about it at the start as I did at the end. For me, that's all there was: quickness--well-paced scenes that eventually led to a rather generic conclusion. For such a strong premise, ...more
Terra
Apr 27, 2012 Terra rated it it was amazing
I swear to the heavens, I wish I could write as well as Lauren Strasnick. If you haven't ever read anything of hers, start doing so now.
Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Books)
Mar 13, 2014 Michelle (Pink Polka Dot Books) rated it it was amazing
Shelves: tbr-2013
Adrienne hasn't talked to Dakota in 2 years. That's how long it's been since Dakota walked away from their friendship without so much as a glance back. Sure Adrienne has moved on, she has a new BFF, a boyfriend. But there's always been a part of her that has hung on to Dakota. Dakota has turned into a rockstar. The girl everyone wants to be and nobody really knows.

Then one day Adrienne gets a mysterious voicemail from her old friend... and when Dakota turns up missing, Adrienne feels a crushing
...more
Abbe Hinder
Although my hopes were high for this novel and I was very disappointed, I think that it might be able to touch someone's heart. But it could also annoy the crap out of them just like it did me. Then You Were Gone is told from the perspective of Adrienne, a girl who seems to be freaking out over the disappearance of her ex-best friend. Everyone around her has told her again and again to forget about her, yet she can't.

At first, I really liked the writing style. Very short chapters, and short sen
...more
Jacquelyn
Dec 13, 2015 Jacquelyn rated it it was ok
Actual Rating: 1.5 stars

This was definitely not what I thought I was getting myself into. I thought it was going to be a great mystery book but I don't even think the main point of the book was the mystery. In the end, (view spoiler) Maybe it was the short length of this one that didn't work for me? The characters weren't my favorite and I don't find this book to b
...more
inactive
Actual rating: 2.5 stars

I didn't know what to expect when I went into this, but it's wasn't this. Maybe something darker?

Then You Were Gone is a very fast paced book, and incredibly short. I read this in one sitting and in not even two hours.

None of the characters were developed very well, but this is a very short book so I guess that's why. I didn't like Adrienne because she was focused on all the wrong things. Her relationships were weird, if you can even call it a relationship. Lee was an oka
...more
WJ
Jun 25, 2013 WJ rated it it was ok
Shelves: young-adult
This book was actually a really short read and nothing at all like how I imagined it would've been. The premise was intriguing and it seemed to be a realistic portrayal of how friendships can break down, how opportunities missed can lead to regret. Unfortunately the book didn't live up to my expectations of it and had quite a few messed up messages interwoven into it...

First of all, the self-destructive tendencies about Adrienne. She doesn't seem like a person who likes herself very much, not wi
...more
Ariana
Mar 05, 2014 Ariana rated it did not like it
Shelves: annoyed-me, 2013
The story could have been interesting but I couldn't get past the writing style. It felt like a movie script with commentaries and it played in my mind like some movie flashbacks: short phrases, pretty easy to read but pretty easy to lose interest in as well.

Not much character development - maybe because it was quite short, maybe because of the way it was written. Didn't care much about the characters, didn't relate to the girl's grief at all and I really wanted to punch Dakota in the face. I d
...more
XxForeverXx_XxVampire_DiariezxxLuvsSHERLOCKandSUPERNATURAL
Jul 21, 2014 XxForeverXx_XxVampire_DiariezxxLuvsSHERLOCKandSUPERNATURAL rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of suspensful thrillers.
Recommended to XxForeverXx_XxVampire_DiariezxxLuvsSHERLOCKandSUPERNATURAL by: Goodreads.com, public library.
Shelves: library-books
I finished this book super fast which really surprised me. When I first got this book, I thought it would be a good, suspensful thriller. But after finishing it, I thought it went a little to fast and there was not a lot of action in it. I was superised by why Dakota did what she did, but leading up to it wasn't that interesting. I found some parts good like the friendship between Kate and Adrianne. The chapters were short which made the book easy to read and fast which was good, but it was a li ...more
Renae
The thing when writing a book that deals with serious issues is that, well, you have to deal with the issue well. It’s important to be respectful of the issue, to portray it accurately, to not rely on stereotypes or weak devices. Then You Were Gone is not a respectful book; Lauren Strasnick does not deal well with the issues she chose to write about. Beneath a tired, overdone concept, this book trivializes suicide and makes rape look like a joke. This book is insensitive and thoughtless. It give ...more
Michelle Arrow
*3.5 star rating*



FRIENDSHIP IS PRECIOUS. I guess in more than a thousand ways, that's the main message of this book. And that tears me up, mainly because we don't get a lot of books that revolve around the importance and beauty of friendship. WHY DON'T WE, HUH, HUH? I really don't know, and the fact that I don't know makes me even sadder because the world of books is a mystery and we actually don't know anything about what this book is about.

But what I can tell you is that this is a crazy m
...more
Kelsey
Dec 26, 2012 Kelsey rated it really liked it
Shelves: arcs, 2013

This is my second book by Lauren Strasnick, the first being Nothing Like You. Each of these books deals with heavy subject matter and Strasnick is a very strong contemporary writer. All of her characters feel extremely real and her writing is fantastic. I was immediately drawn into Then You Were Gone and I was completely engrossed in Adrienne's story. Adrienne is such a complex character and she had a lot on her plate. I'm sure people will find a way to relate to at least one character in this b
...more
Julia
Jan 01, 2013 Julia rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: someone looking for a shallow, quick read
Shelves: pulse-it
I'm not that good at writing reviews, so this might not make much sense.

I found this on a Goodreads list of young adult novels that were being released in 2013, and I added it to my to-read bookshelf. I really liked the plot idea. A girl's ex best friend goes missing after making a desperate call. It sounds like it would be a good story. I got the opportunity to read it in advance with Simon and Schuster's "Pulse It program, a program for young adults ages 14-18 that allows them to read young ad
...more
Bobbie
You know, for once I'm at a loss for words. I really don't know WHAT to think of this book. I didn't expect this at all.

I'm going to be nice here and not be a big ol meanie, but this did remind me of a cult-classic book that is a favorite of mine. Just on a way more average scale.

The suspense part of the book was well done, but by the time I was halfway through I had it mostly figured out.

Like I said, this just reminded me of a favorite book of mine. In more ways than one. Actually, comparing
...more
Isamlq
Jan 16, 2013 Isamlq rated it liked it
The girl’s life is shaken up by a certain someone’s absence. It shakes up all aspects of the lead’s life, touching a little on BFF who read smart and funny and not at all lacking in personality… as well as affecting the romance she was having with a boyfriend who in turn read like a puppy too loyal for its own good. Or maybe that’s Adrienne? Puppy dog loyal even when she’s aware of how and who Dakota was/is/could be?

It’s Adrienne’s eventual frank recognition of where she’d fallen short as well a
...more
Nicole
Jan 25, 2015 Nicole rated it did not like it
As seen on The Quiet Concert

DISCLAIMER: I understand that authors write these conflicted novels for one reason or another but there should be some clear cause and effect to explain why a teen could stumble down a dark path. Without that clarity, the book looses its purpose.

Adrienne and Dakota were "friends" growing up and by "friends" I mean Adrienne followed Dakota like a cowed puppy. She didn't make her own decisions and wasn't her own person. Even though Dakota was selfish and manipulative,
...more
Jen
Jan 09, 2013 Jen added it
Shelves: arcs-for-trade
I did not find this book anything like Thirteen Reasons Why, as advertised in the blurb. Yes, one book has a girl who writes a suicide note and the other has a girl who leaves tapes explaining why she killed herself. If you are looking for a readalike for Thirteen Reasons, try something like Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Okay, that aside, once I adjusted to the fact that this book was not suspense or dual narration or really much of a mystery, I did find it a nice example of literary YA -
...more
Sofia Lazaridou
Jan 13, 2013 Sofia Lazaridou rated it really liked it
Dakota leaves a message to Adrienne a little before she disappears.When she is considered dead by most people Adrienne feels guilty for not answering her phone and tries to solve the mystery behind Dakota and what happened to her.But what happens when she loses herself in the process?

The story itself it was good.The thing is that I don't have an opinion for the book and that worries me.When that happens it's because the book left me complete uninteresting or I was expecting a better book without
...more
Jodi Papazian
Jan 17, 2013 Jodi Papazian rated it it was ok
Shelves: ya-reads
This was an OK read. The chapters are short and the pace is quick so I went through it pretty quickly. I just never really got a chance to like any of the characters. I didn't feel much sympathy for Adrienne and Dakota had zero redeeming qualities. For some reason, the writing style distracted me. The sentences seemed very halting (for lack of a better word) and didn't seem very complete.
There was a lot of debauchery throughout - excessive drinking (at school - really, no teachers ever noticed
...more
Dahlia
Apr 23, 2014 Dahlia rated it it was amazing
I could see this being a hard book to connect with if you've never had one of those friends, the kind you know are bad for you, or fleeting, or both, and yet you let yourself get sucked in anyway...but I have, and this book resonated with me so, so hard. I love Strasnick's bare writing style, I love "the supper club," I love that the MC is fully aware that she's her own undoing, and I love the ways realistic flaws abound in the twisted characters. I also loved that Adrianne's family wasn't super ...more
Kimberly Sabatini
Apr 07, 2013 Kimberly Sabatini rated it it was amazing
Shelves: mg-ya
This book had an amazing voice! Too often, in young adult literature, protagonists are described as being different, but they do not necessarily emote this through their language and actions. I became obsessed with Adrienne on the first page of chapter one. She was a girl who didn't need to be described--her voice was the biggest presence in the book. She is unique and interesting and very real. This strength of character combined with an excellent combination of suspense and contemporary person ...more
Ashley
Jul 11, 2014 Ashley rated it it was ok
Shelves: ebook, 2013, 2-stars
I didn't really like this book. All the characters kind of sucked, especially the main assholes, so I didn't really care about what happened to any of them. The only characters that had any saving grace was the new BFF Kate, and the mom's boyfriend Sam. I wasn't a fan of the writing style, either. I can't quite put my finger on why, it just seemed really choppy or something.

On the plus side, the book was really short, so it was a super quick read. So at least I didn't invest too much time or ene
...more
Valeriane
First of all, let me just say, Then You Were Gone has nothing in common with Thirteen Reasons Why. Don't let the summary above fool you.

I had read Nothing Like You (translated in French though) and, in spite of its averageness, I had enjoyed it. The themes spoke to me and I found the book quite interesting. Now, having read Then You Were Gone, I wonder if I would have felt the same if I had read it in English...

On the contrary, this one left me disappointed and puzzled. I'm really lukewarm about
...more
Kim Ortiz
Apr 24, 2015 Kim Ortiz rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Desiree
Nov 29, 2014 Desiree rated it really liked it
Shelves: young-adult
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Lydia Peters
Apr 22, 2014 Lydia Peters rated it it was ok
For the past month, I have been reading Then You Were Gone. This book was written by Lauren Strasnick. It is a realistic fiction novel and contains 212 pages. This book was very similar to some of the other books I have read. I found it at a book store and it looked good, so I decided to try it. However, I was disappointed in the book.

In this twisted tale, Adrienne is faced with her past and herself. When her ex-best friend Dakota suddenly disappears, Adrienne finds a mysterious voicemail on h
...more
Emma
Aug 20, 2014 Emma rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Su
Mar 12, 2014 Su rated it liked it
Dakota Webb. The girl whom Adrienne used to call her "best friend". The female lead singer of the local indie band named Dark Star. Guys liked her and girls wanted to be like her. One day she was gone with her jeep abandoned near the beach with a possible suicide note inside. Adrienne seemed to be the only one who didn't think Dakota would kill herself let alone in a way that copied the suicide of a sophomore in the previous year. Then she started to search the missing pieces of Dakota's disappe ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
  • Return to Me
  • Uses for Boys
  • Meet Me at the River
  • Criminal
  • Empty
  • Stand Tall, They'll Break Your Heart
  • The Murmurings
  • Nobody But Us
  • Hysteria
  • Ink Is Thicker Than Water
  • The S-Word
  • Fault Line
  • Canary
  • Shadowlands (Shadowlands, #1)
  • Bruised
  • Leap of Faith
  • Blaze (or Love in the Time of Supervillains)
  • Over You
2777625
Lauren Strasnick is a graduate of the California Institute of the Arts MFA Writing Program. Her debut novel, NOTHING LIKE YOU (Simon Pulse/S&S, 2009), was an RWA RITA award finalist in two categories, Best First Book and YA Romance. Her second novel, HER AND ME AND YOU (Simon Pulse/S&S, 2010), was a 2012 ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. THEN YOU WERE GONE (Simon Pulse/S&am ...more
More about Lauren Strasnick...

Share This Book