Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?” as Want to Read:
Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?

by
4.55  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews
In the tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King’s Stride Toward Freedom and Malala Yousafzai’s, I Am Malala, Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? presents thought-provoking and compelling personal essays that probe a concept professed to be the very foundation of our democracy—a concept that may even be more vital today than in the past.

From internatio
...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published January 15th 2017 by Vine Leaves Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
4.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Nathan Burgoine
Feb 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
One of the nice things about being in a collection or an anthology is the ability to discuss the other pieces in the book, and to rub elbows—if in a nonliteral but literary way—with authors both known and unknown to me.

Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? is a collection of short nonfiction pieces by twenty five essayists, and I’m lucky enough to find myself among them. Equality has been my “coffee shop project” book for the last few weeks.

My what? Right. The coffee shop
...more
Theresa Milstein
Apr 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Buzz about this book began right around the time of the election, and I thought this type of book was probably more important than ever. Now that I've read it, I know this book IS more important than ever. The first pages grabbed me from the biography of an activist to an analysis of the phrase "all men are created equal." The variety of time, place, subject, voice, and perspective kept my interest high. I have too many favorites to mention. We are living in troubling times for so many reasons, ...more
Ann Epstein
Apr 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Paul Fahey has assembled a unique, diverse, and often surprising collection of essays on the meaning of equality. Unique because it’s rare for so many angles on equality to be examined in one book. Diverse because the writers represent a wide range of ages, races, regions, religions, gender and sexual identities, and occupations and preoccupations. Surprising because of the honesty with which they recount their personal experiences, shortcomings, attempts at self-improvement, and cautious optimi ...more
D.J. Adamson
Jun 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A review on the essays could never merit the words on the pages in this simple but powerful contemplation of equity—or lack thereof.
Edited by Paul Fahey. A MUST READ!



Elisa Rolle
Dec 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
2017 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention: Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?
1) "Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?" consists of essays describing different meanings of equality. Sometimes it's about LGBTQ rights, sometimes it's about understanding people and their various problems. This collection showed me that I still have a lot to do, because even though I fight about equal rights for everyone, there are still issues that I do not think about
...more
Jessica Bell
rated it it was amazing
Oct 26, 2016
Kellie
rated it it was amazing
Jan 31, 2017
Crissy
rated it it was amazing
Mar 16, 2018
Annette
rated it did not like it
Oct 23, 2017
Susan
rated it really liked it
Oct 16, 2017
Barbara
rated it it was amazing
May 05, 2017
Nazire
marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2016
Baxter Trautman
Oct 28, 2016 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: non-fiction
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2016
Carol Taniguchi
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2016
Eldonna Edwards
Dec 04, 2016 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Bibliophagist89
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2017
D Mulanax
marked it as to-read
Feb 18, 2017
Regina Fake
marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2017
Joyce
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2017
Christy Kennedy
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2017
Mischa Kelvin
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2017
Indira
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2017
Tonni Callan
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2017
Adriana
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2017
Phyllis
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2017
Renee LaFollette
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2017
Tara Brown
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2017
Taisa Minto
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2017
Debra Wolsleben
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2017
Virginia White
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2017
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2017
Tina
marked it as to-read
Oct 21, 2017
Tereza
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2018
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2018
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2018
Erik Thoresen
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2018
Ellen
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2018
michelle smith
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2018
Susan Serota
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2018
Igrowastreesgrow
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2018
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Please add Rainbow award winner, 'Equality' 2 13 Dec 20, 2017 08:09AM  
48 followers
PAUL ALAN FAHEY writes for JMS Books. He is the author of the Lovers and Liars series and the editor of the 2013 Rainbow Award-winning anthology, The Other Man: 21 Writers Speak Candidly About Sex, Love, Infidelity, &Moving On. His first LGBT novella,
The View From 16 Podwale Street, published by JMS
Books, won a 2012 Rainbow Award. Over the years, his writing has appeared in numerous literary
...more