Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Multiple Signatures: On Designers, Authors, Readers and Users” as Want to Read:
Multiple Signatures: On Designers, Authors, Readers and Users
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Multiple Signatures: On Designers, Authors, Readers and Users

by
3.89  ·  Rating details ·  66 ratings  ·  4 reviews
In the tradition of John Berger’s Ways of Seeing, Michael Rock, principal and founder of 2x4 Design in New York, explores the history and development of twenty-first-century visual and design culture. This book presents a thoughtful and witty exploration of graphic design today produced by Michael Rock of 2x4, the powerhouse creative firm that partners with some of the mos ...more
Paperback, 400 pages
Published May 14th 2013 by Rizzoli (first published April 16th 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Multiple Signatures, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Multiple Signatures

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  66 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Multiple Signatures: On Designers, Authors, Readers and Users
Eric
Jul 23, 2013 rated it really liked it
(3.75 stars) With this book, 2x4's MIchael Rock cements himself as one of the best design writers, thinkers, and makers out there. Much like 2x4's work, his writing is smart, insightful, and intellectually challenging, free of academic pretense. Unfortunately, this type of showboat posturing does come to the fore when Rock cedes the stage to other writers, who do their best to out-overanalyze each other in writing about 2x4's design output. 2x4's work is that rare combination of the intelligent ...more
Peter
Jan 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
The perspective might be a tired and well trod one - the fortunate, client-rich NYC graphic designer elite - yet this remains a solid collection of very thoughtful essays. A lovely testament to a dying generation in an increasingly zero-history industry.
Cam Hoff
Nov 18, 2013 rated it did not like it
There are some pearls of wisdom to be found in this book, really good ones. However you have to dig through pages and pages of pretentious, self-important drivel to find them.
Tommy Shimko
Oct 31, 2017 rated it it was amazing
If you want to feel connected to people living in this time of design who care, lasso yourself to this 1
Sam
rated it liked it
Sep 22, 2013
Courtney
rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2017
g p crowley
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2019
Young Sun Compton
rated it really liked it
Dec 19, 2017
Tim Belonax
rated it really liked it
Jun 21, 2014
Nicholas De
rated it it was amazing
Oct 14, 2014
Micah
rated it it was amazing
Dec 17, 2017
Dakota
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2018
Alexander Chin
rated it it was ok
Feb 13, 2020
Irina
rated it it was ok
Aug 02, 2015
Matthew
rated it liked it
Jul 30, 2013
Adi Dahiya
rated it it was amazing
Dec 28, 2013
Jim
rated it liked it
Aug 22, 2018
Roger
rated it it was ok
Dec 22, 2015
Jansen Cümbie
rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2017
Jeremy Hamman
rated it liked it
Apr 16, 2017
Derek Love
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2018
Daniel
rated it it was amazing
Mar 19, 2016
MP
rated it liked it
Jun 14, 2014
Eduardo Pereira
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2015
Kristian
rated it liked it
Aug 19, 2016
betweenego
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2018
Rory
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2015
Jarrett Fuller
rated it it was amazing
May 18, 2013
Ryan
rated it it was amazing
Oct 20, 2013
Elizabeth
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • What Is a Designer: Things, Places, Messages
  • If Cats Disappeared from the World
  • Can graphic design save your life?
  • Sorry for the Lobsters
  • 79 Short Essays on Design
  • Tibor Kalman: Perverse Optimist
  • Publishing Manifestos: An International Anthology from Artists and Writers
See similar books…

News & Interviews

Bryan Washington, the acclaimed author of 2019’s short story collection Lot, has returned with his debut novel, Memorial. The story follows...
14 likes · 3 comments