Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poetry” as Want to Read:
Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poetry
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poetry

by
4.88  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  5 reviews
...And goodness knows
we are all as welcome
as we ever were here,
in the holy, flowing hold of now.

This is a book of mindfulness poetry, in the tradition of Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, John O’Donoghue, the ancient wisdoms of Rumi and the most recent inspirational Instapoets.

The thirty poems in this selection are intimately alive to the teachings offered by the smallest life m
...more
Kindle Edition, 49 pages
Published October 25th 2019 by Font Publications
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Allowing Now, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Allowing Now

Community Reviews

Showing 1-14
Average rating 4.88  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poetry
Mala Naidoo
Oct 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing

‘Allowing Now,’ is an exhilarating and thought-provoking selection of poems that speak to soothe the heart and settle the disquieted mind. The brilliance in selected imagery is evocative and pulsating, whisking the reader into the moment — the now of each word and every line. The poet’s introduction to the collection offers insight on mindfulness allowing for layered interpretations of her poems. Orna Ross has certainly rekindled my joy in celebrating the natural world, landscapes, the sacred, a
...more
Ken Goudsward
Oct 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Allowing Now is not just a collection of good poetry. It is an exercise in wellness. It is not programmatic in any way, but its intentionality both provides space for, and evokes imagery of those everyday mundane glimpses of profound beauty that are typically overlooked, overrun, and driven past.
Slow down. Breathe deeply. Read a poem.
Christine Miller
Oct 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Orna Ross's book 'Allowing Now'; A Book of Mindfulness Poetry is a collection of moments of presence, periods of inspiration and insight, and clear, deep observations of beauty and value in the everyday and the extra-ordinary.

It is the kind of book one will keep close, perhaps by the bedside, for dipping and delighting and drawing calm, joy and solace in our hectic world where allowing 'what is' can be a challenge.

Great appreciation for your talent and dedication, Orna, may there be many moments
...more
Sondra
Nov 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is a collection of meditative moments. I've been using it to ease into my days, reading a poem as I wake. And letting it tuck me in as the last thing I read at night. Beautiful. Quieting. Layered with emotive wonder. ...more
Sean Archer
Jun 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Great book on mindfulness.
Orna Ross
Oct 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Elisabeth Zguta
rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2020
Josie Winfield
rated it really liked it
Nov 24, 2020
Heather
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2019
Karen Moss
is currently reading it
Nov 09, 2019
Blaine
is currently reading it
Feb 22, 2020
Joella Lummis
is currently reading it
Apr 10, 2020
claire
is currently reading it
Aug 05, 2020
Tracey
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Girl, Woman, Other
  • This Time Next Year
  • Quite
  • Things I Learned in the Night : A collection of poetry about love, heartbreak, and healing
  • Carfax House - A Christmas Ghost Story
  • More Christmas Ghost Stories
  • Choose the Best Self-Publishing Services
  • One More for Christmas
  • The Experiment
  • Unlimited Memory: How to Use Advanced Learning Strategies to Learn Faster, Remember More and be More Productive (Mental Mastery Book 1)
  • Egyptian Mythology: A Fascinating Guide to Understanding the Gods, Goddesses, Monsters, and Mortals
  • Sons of Vikings: A Legendary History of the Viking Age
  • Medical Medium Liver Rescue: Answers to Eczema, Psoriasis, Diabetes, Strep, Acne, Gout, Bloating, Gallstones, Adrenal Stress, Fatigue, Fatty Liver, Weight Issues, SIBO & Autoimmune Disease
  • Path of Gods (The Valhalla Saga, #3)
  • Blood Will Follow (The Valhalla Saga, #2)
  • Overthinking: How to Eliminate Anxiety, Stress and Negative Thinking, Declutter Your Mind and Achieve Your Goals with Powerful Programs (Mindfulness Meditation and Positive Self Talk)
  • The Spy and the Traitor: The Greatest Espionage Story of the Cold War
  • Of Rice and Men (Annotated): From Bataan to V-J Day, A Survivor’s Story
See similar books…
221 followers
Hello! I'm Orna Ross, an Irish novelist and poet living in London, founder of the Alliance of Independent Authors and the Creativist Club.

I write poetry or story every day and I'm also on a mission to bring digital publishing and creative business to as many people as possible, especially to creatives who may not yet understand the opportunities embedded in digital technology. (Yes, poets and lite
...more

News & Interviews

  As dedicated readers already know, some of the best and most innovative stories on the shelves come from the constantly evolving realm of...
51 likes · 13 comments