Lanka Hues is a woman who knows struggle best. At an early age she was apparent to what it was like to not have and want and need things but couldn’t obtain it. When she was at the age where she could make a change, she stopped at nothing to turn around she and her sickly mother’s life.
Exceeding her goals; she transitioned them both from a shelter to a home. She got her dream car and her bank account was no longer saying zero.
One night out celebrating one of the best accomplishments of her life, takes an abrupt turn she wasn’t quite ready for. Lanka wanting to let her hair down and have a little fun, engages in a spontaneous moment with the very sexy and smooth Rio. It changes her life drastically, resulting in Lanka losing everything that she had worked hard for.
But how? How can one night of passion with a stranger destroy everything someone has worked hard to gain, you might ask? We’ve all heard of the saying “When a good girl goes bad”. But what happens when a good guy is wronged?
Donterio is a hardworking man who did all he could to provide for his wife and son. He would do any and everything just to see them smile. He soon finds out sometimes your best is just not enough, when he receives a text from his wife, calling it quits; not only leaving him but their son as well. He couldn’t have been more devastated. He was hurt. He couldn’t comprehend how someone he loved, and trust could do him that way.
The saying “misery loves company” was indeed true in this twisted tale. Lanka receives a firsthand course when she encounters a man who has it made up in his mind that all women are conniving.
Find out how a one-night stand flips Lanka’s life upside down; literally.
Dymond Taylor came through dropping bombs from chapter 1!!!...Man the drama pulled me in frfrfr!! Rio was a good guy turned bad after his wife and best friend betrayed him by having an affair with each other!!! Gina was so trifling for leaving her child in that car in the cold!!! Now she's stuck with nothing claiming pregnancy!!! I hope it's not Rios baby!! I was on pause when Adoree revealed who she was and that her baby is Jahdai's daughter!!! Oh but Bren was not playing with her daughter's father!! He is bold af to be sleeping with that 13yr old from next door!!! That lil girl is so brainwashed man!!! This is a definite 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟Read!! Hurry with part 2!!
Woooowwwww. This was an unexpected twist and turn of events. The more I read the crazier it got. Rio was a hot a** mess. I felt for him in the beginning but he really lost his mind and the way he did Lanka was extra dirty. Bren....omg I feel so bad for her and what she is going through. Jahdai is so freaking nasty and I mean that literally. I was like woooow. Part 2 me please.
This is a good start to a what is sure to be a dope series! Nothing was typical or predictable on this tale. Rio did a complete 180 and is now a savage. Lanka got the bulk of his savagery undeserved but I’m interested in what will happen next. I wonder how the Adore’s revelation will impact everything!
I don't even know what to think. Here I thought Latoya Nicole was twisted. I don't think I've read anything like that before. This book was everything. I can't wait to see where this going to turn out.
This book was great; kind of got on my nerves at first; all that begging, but when he found out. Can't wait for the drama. Too much going on not to be. Baby mama gonna be hell. Really love Rio and Lanka together. They both know it.
Awww heck naww did he really have his own daughter thinking she was his girlfriend. I wanna see how Rio and Lanka turn out. Its crazy how jah just found out that Amore is his daughter. Cant wait for part 2
Can’t believe Ant turned out like this Lanka is what you call a strong woman How the hell Jah going to take he has a daughter Can’t wait for book 2 cause Rio is about to be a beast
This book was kinda a different read for me but still good. I believe it's the first time I've read anything by this author. I will read part 2 whenever it drops.
I think this was a good start to the next series by this author. The characters were developed. The plot was one I hadn't read and it tied into today's culture of airing your "dirty laundry" on social media and it's damaging effects. I like that the primary male character was not the typical "hood" boy and the primary female character was not weak or unintelligent. There were a few twists that added to the complexity of the plot. The story moved well and was well-structured. Good job!
WOW BETRAYAL STAY MUCH CLOSER THAN YOU THINK AND BECAUSE OF THAT IT HARDEN RIO HEART THE WAY HE DID LANKA WAS WRONG IT PROVES A SPLIT DECISION + SOCIAL MEDIA CAN COST YOU MORE THAN YOU WAS WILLING TO PAY.. I LOVE LANKA AND BREN FRIENDSHIP WHEN EITHER CALL THE OTHER IS PULLING UP NO QUESTIONS ASK .. IT TOOK ME A MINUTE TO LIKE JAH .. CLEM WAS FUNNY EVERYTIME HE CAME AROUND AND A GREAT MATCH FOR BREN..
Amore' most definitely left Jahdai in shock! I'm sure he wasn't expecting that information. Lanka and Rio are gonna end up catching feelings. Their arrangement may seem fine now, but they're doing too much! Bren shocked me, but anger makes us all act off impulse. Can't wait to read part two!
This book was all over the place. No real plot. Everybody was everywhere. Ppl that didn't need to be added and had no real part in book to me was just a place filler. I don't know if I'm a read part 2 or not. I'm disappointed in this book but I love this author work
I have never read anything like this before. This is such a page turner. I commend Bren on what she did to Ant her deserved it and more. I just hope she doesn't go down for it. Can't wait to read part 2. I love Jah straight forward ass. You can't get no realer than him lol.
Wow is all I can say a thirteen year old and he's her boyfriend. That's some nasty sh*t, I would be afraid that he molested my daughter too after seeing that. She should have killed him because I would have.
1. Lanka should have beat the shit out of Rio and then gave the cat up 2. Waowwwwwww Jahdai, just wow. Now fall in love because you just jacked up 3. Bren, poor Bren. Casey, sorry not sorry BUH-BYE baby girl. She was on some straight up f**kin Robert Kelly shit.