Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Harvard Business Review on Decision Making” as Want to Read:
Harvard Business Review on Decision Making
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Harvard Business Review on Decision Making

3.75  ·  Rating details ·  69 Ratings  ·  3 Reviews
This collection will help people at all levels understand the fundamental theories and practices of effective decision making so that they can make better decisions in their personal and professional lives. Articles include: The Effective Decision by Peter F. Drucker; Even Swaps: A Rational Method for Making Trade-offs by John S. Hammond, Ralph L. Keeney, and Howard Raiffa ...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published June 1st 2001 by Harvard Business Press (first published April 30th 2001)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Harvard Business Review on Decision Making, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Harvard Business Review on Decision Making

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jorge Reyes
Jul 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Where should I live? Is it time to get a new job? Which job candidate should I hire? What business strategy should I pursue? We spend the majority of our lives making decisions, both big and small. Yet, even though our success is largely determined by the choices that we make, very few of us are equipped with useful decision-making skills. Because of this, we often approach our choices tentatively, or even fearfully, and avoid giving them the time and thought required to put our best foot forwar ...more
Maximiliano
Jul 08, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is a great book about decision making techniques. Granted, each chapter is from a different author and independent subject, most of them are great, but some of the chapters are not very good (or relatable to me), that's the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

Great chapters:
1. The Effective Decision
2. Even Swaps
5. Can You Analyze This Problem?
6. How to Analyze That Problem: Part II of a Management Exercise
7. The Hidden Traps in Decision Making

Weak or not new/relevant to me:
3. Humble
...more
Kelly Dodge
Feb 09, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Dated, but full of helpful insights for both teacher and student.
Cecilia
rated it really liked it
Jul 12, 2013
Rafael Telles
rated it really liked it
Jul 08, 2016
Pâmela Cuenca
rated it it was amazing
Mar 26, 2018
Mrs Diane
rated it it was ok
Feb 28, 2016
V
rated it liked it
Mar 24, 2011
Jason
rated it liked it
Oct 03, 2017
Kay
rated it it was amazing
Dec 03, 2016
Alexey Turyanytsya
rated it it was amazing
May 17, 2016
Edwin Harianto
rated it liked it
May 08, 2015
Kaspars Purmalietis
rated it liked it
Dec 25, 2012
Ben Linders
rated it really liked it
Dec 07, 2012
Peter Frasca
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2016
CK Yau
rated it liked it
Apr 17, 2014
Yan Gao
rated it really liked it
Sep 08, 2012
Carol
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2015
Pierre Dussault
rated it liked it
Jul 07, 2015
David
rated it really liked it
Jun 07, 2012
Chuck
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2009
Steve
rated it liked it
Feb 22, 2016
Ohkeun Kwon
rated it liked it
Feb 27, 2016
Natarajan Gajapathy
rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2014
Mark Bergstrom
rated it liked it
May 15, 2014
Spiridione
rated it liked it
Sep 03, 2012
ln
rated it really liked it
Jun 30, 2017
Phil
rated it it was amazing
Nov 08, 2015
Ingus Rūķis
rated it really liked it
Apr 08, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Nonfiction Deals

  • Hope and Other Luxuries: A Mother's Life with a Daughter's Anorexia
    $19.99 $2.99
  • Manic: A Memoir
    $12.99 $1.99
  • Who Gets What — and Why: The New Economics of Matchmaking and Market Design
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Card Catalog: Books, Cards, and Literary Treasures
    $19.99 $1.99
  • Without a Doubt
    $5.99 $2.49
  • The Trip to Echo Spring: On Writers and Drinking
    $9.99 $3.99
  • Paris Letters
    $14.99 $2.99
  • Fear: Essential Wisdom for Getting Through the Storm
    $13.74 $1.99
  • My Cross to Bear
    $11.24 $1.99
  • The Warrior Ethos
    $6.99 $1.99
  • A Chance in this world
    $5.99 $0.99
  • It's Easier Than You Think: The Buddhist Way to Happiness
    $13.99 $1.99
  • A Deadly Game: The Untold Story of the Scott Peterson Investigation
    $14.99 $1.99
  • Everyday Zen
    $11.24 $1.99
  • In Harm's Way: The Sinking of the U.S.S. Indianapolis and the Extraordinary Story of Its Survivors
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Somebody Else's Kids
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Maude
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Here Is Where: Discovering America's Great Forgotten History
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Mindful Eating: A Guide to Rediscovering a Healthy and Joyful Relationship with Food (Revised Edition)
    $13.99 $1.99
  • The Rational Optimist (P.S.)
    $14.49 $2.99
  • Bored and Brilliant: How Spacing Out Can Unlock Your Most Productive & Creative Self
    $13.99 $2.99
  • Of Wolves and Men (Scribner Classics)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • God: A Story of Revelation
    $8.74 $1.99
  • Ben & Jerry's Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert Book
    $10.95 $1.99
  • The Story of the Jews: Finding the Words, 1000 BC - 1492 AD
    $13.99 $2.99
  • I'm Your Man: The Life of Leonard Cohen
    $11.74 $1.99
  • Unseen: The Gift of Being Hidden in a World That Loves to Be Noticed
    $9.99 $2.99
  • I'd Like to Apologize to Every Teacher I Ever Had: My Year as a Rookie Teacher at Northeast High
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Imaginary Girlfriend
    $14.99 $1.99
  • Things I've Been Silent About
    $4.99 $1.99
  • GI Brides: The Wartime Girls Who Crossed the Atlantic for Love
    $8.49 $2.99
  • The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Dharma Punx: A Memoir
    $11.49 $1.99
  • Princesses Behaving Badly: Real Stories from History Without the Fairy-Tale Endings
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Arctic Dreams
    $9.99 $2.99
  • This Life I Live: One Man's Extraordinary, Ordinary Life and the Woman Who Changed It Forever
    $9.99 $2.99
  • As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning: A Memoir (The Autobiographical Trilogy Book 2)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • An Appeal to the World: The Way to Peace in a Time of Division
    $9.99 $1.99
  • How to Have a Good Day: Harness the Power of Behavioral Science to Transform Your Working Life
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Feminist Fight Club: An Office Survival Manual for a Sexist Workplace
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Everything That Remains: A Memoir by The Minimalists
    $8.99 $2.49
  • The Seven Spiritual Laws of Superheroes: Harnessing Our Power to Change The World
    $7.74 $1.99
  • Jack and Rochelle: A Holocaust Story of Love and Resistance
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Catch Me If You Can
    $10.99 $1.99