Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “What Is Node?” as Want to Read:
What Is Node?
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

What Is Node?

3.34  ·  Rating details ·  492 Ratings  ·  16 Reviews

Node.js. It’s the latest in a long line of “Are you cool enough to use me?” programming languages, APIs, and toolkits. In that sense, it lands squarely in the tradition of Rails, and Ajax, and Hadoop, and even to some degree iPhone programming and HTML5.


Dig a little deeper, and you’ll hear that Node.js (or, as it’s more briefly called by many, simply “Node”) is a server-si

...more
ebook, 10 pages
Published July 2011 by O'Reilly Media
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about What Is Node?, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about What Is Node?

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Nels
May 04, 2014 rated it really liked it
As long as you're clear what this is, I think it delivers on it. It's basically a 30 minute read about what Node is and when/why you would use it. It doesn't teach you Node, but it doesn't purport to do so either. Plus it's free (at least it was when I got it). If I'd paid more than $1 for it, then I'd probably give it 1 star.
Eder Sanchez
Pude haber leído la entrada de Wikipedia y habría aprendido más. Buen post para un blog (que es de donde supongo que salió).
Ricardo Lino
It's a good introduction
Mark Bondurant
It's an essay, not a book, or perhaps the introduction to a book. As far as an explanation goes, it's not good. It's unnecessarily simplistic, with way too much hand holding for "non-coders." Who is going to want to read this? Non-coders? I doubt it. The truth is it's a free give away on a hot topic. McLaughlin is building download numbers to establish credibility without have to do any work, a gambit that will probably work.
Jerold Haas
Dec 25, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good Intro

Great introduction for those uninitiated. Spelling correction for next revision: "As simple as it sounds, there are tends[tens] of thousands of web applications submitting forms with Ajax, just because the lead web developer is up on Ajax."
Erich Cervantez
Short and to the point

Very short but somewhat effective introduction to Node. Examples of typical node architectures would have been nice to see what other technologies would play nicely with Node.
Miguel Arvelo
Jul 14, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The title says it all....

Good paper for explaining what Node is, what it is that it does, what it is best at and so forth. A must read for anyone thinking whether or not they should invest time on learning it.
Enmanuel Toribio
May 10, 2014 rated it liked it
This may as well have been an article in some webpage. Very good lecture though. Also i got it for free on amazon so no complains on the price. If you are a bit curious about nodejs, have half an hour free and you can get it for free go ahead and read it.
Joel Wallis Jucá
What Is Node is an interesting introductory book about Node.js. It'll explain you what the technology is and what it's designed for. I recommend the reading! :-)
Eric Gragsone
Mar 08, 2014 rated it liked it
Certainly explained the reason for using Node.js, but left me wanting to learn more.
Vedran
Oct 08, 2012 rated it liked it
Basic introduction to the Node.js technology. A nice and short read, up to the point.

Seems too short though for such a technology, hence the 3 stars.
Dhul Wells
Mar 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great introduction

Being wanting to dive deep into Node for a while now and this book really gave me the head start. Thanks!
Marwa Eldawy
A simple introduction to NodeJS. Not suitable for people who want a complete reference for NodeJS. For me, this book is like reading a wiki page on NodeJS. Don't expect more than this!
Robert Rusu
Feb 06, 2014 rated it it was ok
Nice introduction to Node.js
Steven
Dec 15, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: programming, american
Good introduction for the first thing you ever read about Node. It gives you a solid start and points you in right direction to continue.
Serge Boucher
It's good for what it is, but it's too short to really provide much value.
vivek kumar
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2017
Eugene Rudenko
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2014
Erik
rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2014
Richard Hoffbeck
rated it it was ok
May 23, 2014
Michael Demastrie
rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2013
Ssd293
rated it really liked it
May 29, 2014
Raluca
rated it liked it
Oct 08, 2011
Ketil Moland
rated it really liked it
May 28, 2013
Joshua Gobin
rated it really liked it
May 10, 2017
Jakub T
rated it really liked it
Aug 28, 2014
Lalit Verma
rated it really liked it
Nov 10, 2015
Chris Jacob
rated it really liked it
Oct 14, 2015
Jonathan Plaster
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • HTML5 for Publishers
  • What's New in Java 7?
  • Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar
  • Building Data Science Teams
  • CSS and Documents
  • Publish on Amazon Kindle with Kindle Direct Publishing
  • The Truth about Getting the Best from People (Truth about)
  • Presentations in Action: 80 Memorable Presentation Lessons from the Masters
  • The Leader's Checklist: 15 Mission-Critical Principles
  • Backpack Gourmet: Good Hot Grub You Can Make at Home, Dehydrate, and Pack for Quick, Easy, and Healthy Eating on the Trail
  • The Crowdfunding Bible: How to Raise Money for Any Startup, Video Game or Project
  • What is DevOps?
  • Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics
  • Big Data Now: 2012 Edition
  • Social Media Marketing for Publishers
  • I Surrender All: Rebuilding a Marriage Broken by Pornography
  • Planning for Big Data: A CIO's Handbook to the Changing Data Landscape
  • 40 Days without Food: Divine Goodness to a Starving Soul

Goodreads is hiring!

If you like books and love to build cool products, we may be looking for you.
Learn more »

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“Node.js (or, as it’s more briefly called by many, simply “Node”) is a server-side solution for JavaScript, and in particular, for receiving and responding to HTTP requests.” 0 likes
“But this inertia often causes you to use a tool because you know it, rather than because it’s the right tool.” 0 likes
More quotes…