Johannes Brahms - Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Author: Johannes Brahms


The Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73, was composed by Johannes Brahms in the summer of 1877 during a visit to Pörtschach am Wörthersee, a town in the Austrian province of Carinthia. The cheery and almost pastoral mood of the symphony often invite comparisons with Beethoven's Sixth Symphony. The premiere was given on December 30, 1877 in Vienna under the direction of Hans Richter.

Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Orchestra: Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks…more


No comments have been added yet.