Erik F.

Add friend
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Erik F..


Lanark
Erik F. is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Wagner's Ring of ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Don Quixote
Erik F. is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
See all 5 books that Erik F. is reading…

Erik F.’s Recent Updates

Erik F. is currently reading
Lanark by Alasdair Gray
Rate this book
Clear rating
Erik F. started reading
Wagner's Ring of the Nibelung by Stewart Spencer
Rate this book
Clear rating
inkedblues inkedblues marked as to-read-non-fic Paris Vagabond
Erik F. is now following Ash and Monica
68891601 4739465
Erik F. and 1 other person liked Camille A’s status update
Camille A Camille A wants to read Middlemarch
Erik F. started reading
The Complete Short Stories of James Purdy by James Purdy
Rate this book
Clear rating
Erik F. liked a quote
147
“Every day we slaughter our finest impulses. That is why we get a heartache when we read those lines written by the hand of a master and recognize them as our own, as the tender shoots which we stifled because we lacked the faith to believe in our own powers, our own criterion of truth and beauty. Every man, when he gets quiet, when he becomes desperately honest with himself, is capable of uttering profound truths. We all derive from the same source. there is no mystery about the origin of things. We are all part of creation, all kings, all poets, all musicians; we have only to open up, only to discover what is already there.”
Henry Miller
Erik F. is on page 112 of 371 of Herzog: In every community there is a class of people profoundly dangerous to the rest. I don't mean the criminals. For them we have punitive sanctions. I mean the leaders. Invariably the most dangerous people seek the power. While in the parlors of indignation the right-thinking citizen brings his heart to a boil.
Herzog by Saul Bellow
Herzog
by Saul Bellow
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Erik F.'s books…
Marcel Proust
“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.”
Marcel Proust

Doris Lessing
“Ideally, what should be said to every child, repeatedly, throughout his or her school life is something like this: 'You are in the process of being indoctrinated. We have not yet evolved a system of education that is not a system of indoctrination. We are sorry, but it is the best we can do. What you are being taught here is an amalgam of current prejudice and the choices of this particular culture. The slightest look at history will show how impermanent these must be. You are being taught by people who have been able to accommodate themselves to a regime of thought laid down by their predecessors. It is a self-perpetuating system. Those of you who are more robust and individual than others will be encouraged to leave and find ways of educating yourself — educating your own judgements. Those that stay must remember, always, and all the time, that they are being moulded and patterned to fit into the narrow and particular needs of this particular society.”
Doris Lessing, The Golden Notebook

George Eliot
“But the effect of her being on those around her was incalculably diffusive: for the growing good of the world is partly dependent on unhistoric acts; and that things are not so ill with you and me as they might have been, is half owing to the number who lived faithfully a hidden life, and rest in unvisited tombs.”
George Eliot, Middlemarch

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
“If we could read the secret history of our enemies, we should find in each man's life sorrow and suffering enough to disarm all hostility.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, The Complete Works of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

James Baldwin
“You think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read. It was books that taught me that the things that tormented me most were the very things that connected me with all the people who were alive, who had ever been alive.”
James Baldwin

80277 The Kindred Spirits — 296 members — last activity May 25, 2017 06:17AM
Place to meet and talk about anything.
152644 2015: The Year of Reading Women — 768 members — last activity Oct 16, 2017 12:45PM
Join us for a year of member-run group reads to make 2015 the year of reading women! Rules Members are free to create author threads by surname if the ...more
2835 Classical music lovers — 592 members — last activity Oct 24, 2016 08:16AM
Our fast-growing classical music group is sometimes erudite - and maybe a little eccentric - but we aim never to be exclusive. Classical music is a gi ...more
25x33 Dalkey Archive Devotees — 49 members — last activity Aug 27, 2018 08:18AM
for fans of Flann, S.B., and the best there is in publishing today
202644 Theatre Books and Plays — 957 members — last activity Sep 10, 2018 05:12AM
A room for lovers of theatre, theater books, texts on acting, directing, theory and scripts.
More of Erik F.’s groups…
See your year in books badge
Annelies
4,539 books | 284 friends

Cymru R...
241 books | 256 friends

Steven ...
1,223 books | 737 friends

Marie
1,885 books | 79 friends

Jeffrey...
3,469 books | 4,994 friends

Mary
1,849 books | 288 friends

Rebecca...
9,711 books | 1,121 friends

Kris
12,873 books | 1,161 friends

More friends…
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García MárquezScaramouche by Rafael SabatiniA Frolic of His Own by William GaddisNightwood by Djuna BarnesThe Go-Between by L.P. Hartley
Great First Lines
85 books — 103 voters
Paradise Lost by John MiltonGravity's Rainbow by Thomas PynchonEverything That Rises Must Converge by Flannery O'ConnorEvening Edged in Gold by Arno SchmidtOne D.O.A., One on the Way by Mary Robison
Best Book Titles
2,643 books — 2,531 voters

More…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
24 (0.0%)

correct:
22 (91.7%)

skipped:
6 (20.0%)

404837 out of 2573866

streak:
0

best streak:
15

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by Erik F.

Lists liked by Erik F.