Kathrine

Add friend
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Kathrine.

http://bogpaatvaers.blogspot.com/

Hjernesmarte børn
Kathrine is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Way of Kings
Kathrine is currently reading
by Brandon Sanderson (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Stenløvens brøl
Kathrine is currently reading
by Sidsel Sander Mittet (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Loading...
“We have two families in life. One were born with that shares our blood. Another we meet along the way that's willing to give it's life for us.”
Mark Frost, The Paladin Prophecy

George R.R. Martin
“Bran thought about it. 'Can a man still be brave if he's afraid?'
'That is the only time a man can be brave,' his father told him.”
George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

Brandon Sanderson
“Our belief is often strongest when it should be weakest. That is the nature of hope.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Final Empire

“You should date a girl who reads.
Date a girl who reads. Date a girl who spends her money on books instead of clothes, who has problems with closet space because she has too many books. Date a girl who has a list of books she wants to read, who has had a library card since she was twelve.

Find a girl who reads. You’ll know that she does because she will always have an unread book in her bag. She’s the one lovingly looking over the shelves in the bookstore, the one who quietly cries out when she has found the book she wants. You see that weird chick sniffing the pages of an old book in a secondhand book shop? That’s the reader. They can never resist smelling the pages, especially when they are yellow and worn.

She’s the girl reading while waiting in that coffee shop down the street. If you take a peek at her mug, the non-dairy creamer is floating on top because she’s kind of engrossed already. Lost in a world of the author’s making. Sit down. She might give you a glare, as most girls who read do not like to be interrupted. Ask her if she likes the book.

Buy her another cup of coffee.

Let her know what you really think of Murakami. See if she got through the first chapter of Fellowship. Understand that if she says she understood James Joyce’s Ulysses she’s just saying that to sound intelligent. Ask her if she loves Alice or she would like to be Alice.

It’s easy to date a girl who reads. Give her books for her birthday, for Christmas, for anniversaries. Give her the gift of words, in poetry and in song. Give her Neruda, Pound, Sexton, Cummings. Let her know that you understand that words are love. Understand that she knows the difference between books and reality but by god, she’s going to try to make her life a little like her favorite book. It will never be your fault if she does.

She has to give it a shot somehow.

Lie to her. If she understands syntax, she will understand your need to lie. Behind words are other things: motivation, value, nuance, dialogue. It will not be the end of the world.

Fail her. Because a girl who reads knows that failure always leads up to the climax. Because girls who read understand that all things must come to end, but that you can always write a sequel. That you can begin again and again and still be the hero. That life is meant to have a villain or two.

Why be frightened of everything that you are not? Girls who read understand that people, like characters, develop. Except in the Twilight series.

If you find a girl who reads, keep her close. When you find her up at 2 AM clutching a book to her chest and weeping, make her a cup of tea and hold her. You may lose her for a couple of hours but she will always come back to you. She’ll talk as if the characters in the book are real, because for a while, they always are.

You will propose on a hot air balloon. Or during a rock concert. Or very casually next time she’s sick. Over Skype.

You will smile so hard you will wonder why your heart hasn’t burst and bled out all over your chest yet. You will write the story of your lives, have kids with strange names and even stranger tastes. She will introduce your children to the Cat in the Hat and Aslan, maybe in the same day. You will walk the winters of your old age together and she will recite Keats under her breath while you shake the snow off your boots.

Date a girl who reads because you deserve it. You deserve a girl who can give you the most colorful life imaginable. If you can only give her monotony, and stale hours and half-baked proposals, then you’re better off alone. If you want the world and the worlds beyond it, date a girl who reads.

Or better yet, date a girl who writes.”
Rosemarie Urquico

Brandon Sanderson
“There has to be a balance, Vin," Elend said. "Somehow, we'll find it. The balance between whom we wish to be and whom we need to be." He sighed. "But for now," he said, nodding to the side, "we simply have to be satisfied with who we are.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Hero of Ages

26678 Danske Læsere / Danmark — 1788 members — last activity Aug 26, 2022 02:07AM
En gruppe for læsere af dansk litteratur, eller bare danske læsere af verdenslitteratur. Kan du dansk eller interesserer dig for Danmark er du velkomm ...more
8632 Study Buddies — 627 members — last activity Oct 31, 2021 05:57AM
For fans of Maria V. Snyder and The Study Series. CHASING THE SHADOWS (Sentinels of the Galaxy, Book 2) is coming! November 18, 2019... mark your ca ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 161333 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
3801 Brandon Sanderson Community — 3345 members — last activity Aug 12, 2022 11:03AM
Your go-to community for people who love the works of Brandon Sanderson (Cosmere, Reckoners, Rithmatist, Legion, Skyward, etc.) The 17th Shard, the of ...more
4738 Rothfussians — 4357 members — last activity May 07, 2021 04:15AM
Patrick Rothfuss needs a goodreads.com group! For fantasy fans and anyone that appreciates beautifully written books. Discuss The Name of the Wind, T ...more
More of Kathrine’s groups…
year in books
Denlill...
2,242 books | 96 friends

Rikke S...
798 books | 538 friends

Iben
2,489 books | 130 friends

Simone ...
1,814 books | 128 friends

Malene
1,199 books | 233 friends

Anne
878 books | 113 friends

Susbogblog
2,087 books | 207 friends

Sabrina
1,038 books | 378 friends

More friends…
Half a King by Joe Abercrombie
See YA in 2016
17 books — 22 voters
The Winds of Winter by George R.R. MartinThe Doors of Stone by Patrick Rothfuss
Hurry Up and Release It!!!
313 books — 8,519 voters

More…



Polls voted on by Kathrine

Lists liked by Kathrine