Kathrine

Add friend
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Kathrine.

http://bogpaatvaers.blogspot.com/

The Great Bazaar ...
Kathrine is currently reading
by Peter V. Brett (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Messenger’s Legacy
Kathrine is currently reading
by Peter V. Brett (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Charmcaster
Kathrine is currently reading
by Sebastien de Castell (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
See all 4 books that Kathrine is reading…
Loading...
Brandon Sanderson
“Faith means that it doesn't matter what happens. You can trust that somebody is watching. Trust that somebody will make it all right.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Hero of Ages

Brandon Sanderson
“Our belief is often strongest when it should be weakest. That is the nature of hope.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Final Empire

Patrick Rothfuss
“It's like everyone tells a story about themselves inside their own head. Always. All the time. That story makes you what you are. We build ourselves out of that story.”
Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind

Brandon Sanderson
“There has to be a balance, Vin," Elend said. "Somehow, we'll find it. The balance between whom we wish to be and whom we need to be." He sighed. "But for now," he said, nodding to the side, "we simply have to be satisfied with who we are.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Hero of Ages

“You should date a girl who reads.
Date a girl who reads. Date a girl who spends her money on books instead of clothes, who has problems with closet space because she has too many books. Date a girl who has a list of books she wants to read, who has had a library card since she was twelve.

Find a girl who reads. You’ll know that she does because she will always have an unread book in her bag. She’s the one lovingly looking over the shelves in the bookstore, the one who quietly cries out when she has found the book she wants. You see that weird chick sniffing the pages of an old book in a secondhand book shop? That’s the reader. They can never resist smelling the pages, especially when they are yellow and worn.

She’s the girl reading while waiting in that coffee shop down the street. If you take a peek at her mug, the non-dairy creamer is floating on top because she’s kind of engrossed already. Lost in a world of the author’s making. Sit down. She might give you a glare, as most girls who read do not like to be interrupted. Ask her if she likes the book.

Buy her another cup of coffee.

Let her know what you really think of Murakami. See if she got through the first chapter of Fellowship. Understand that if she says she understood James Joyce’s Ulysses she’s just saying that to sound intelligent. Ask her if she loves Alice or she would like to be Alice.

It’s easy to date a girl who reads. Give her books for her birthday, for Christmas, for anniversaries. Give her the gift of words, in poetry and in song. Give her Neruda, Pound, Sexton, Cummings. Let her know that you understand that words are love. Understand that she knows the difference between books and reality but by god, she’s going to try to make her life a little like her favorite book. It will never be your fault if she does.

She has to give it a shot somehow.

Lie to her. If she understands syntax, she will understand your need to lie. Behind words are other things: motivation, value, nuance, dialogue. It will not be the end of the world.

Fail her. Because a girl who reads knows that failure always leads up to the climax. Because girls who read understand that all things must come to end, but that you can always write a sequel. That you can begin again and again and still be the hero. That life is meant to have a villain or two.

Why be frightened of everything that you are not? Girls who read understand that people, like characters, develop. Except in the Twilight series.

If you find a girl who reads, keep her close. When you find her up at 2 AM clutching a book to her chest and weeping, make her a cup of tea and hold her. You may lose her for a couple of hours but she will always come back to you. She’ll talk as if the characters in the book are real, because for a while, they always are.

You will propose on a hot air balloon. Or during a rock concert. Or very casually next time she’s sick. Over Skype.

You will smile so hard you will wonder why your heart hasn’t burst and bled out all over your chest yet. You will write the story of your lives, have kids with strange names and even stranger tastes. She will introduce your children to the Cat in the Hat and Aslan, maybe in the same day. You will walk the winters of your old age together and she will recite Keats under her breath while you shake the snow off your boots.

Date a girl who reads because you deserve it. You deserve a girl who can give you the most colorful life imaginable. If you can only give her monotony, and stale hours and half-baked proposals, then you’re better off alone. If you want the world and the worlds beyond it, date a girl who reads.

Or better yet, date a girl who writes.”
Rosemarie Urquico

26678 Danske Læsere / Danmark — 1575 members — last activity Aug 26, 2020 12:01AM
En gruppe for læsere af dansk litteratur, eller bare danske læsere af verdenslitteratur. Kan du dansk eller interesserer dig for Danmark er du velkomm ...more
8632 Study Buddies — 630 members — last activity Nov 25, 2016 03:21PM
For fans of Maria V. Snyder and The Study Series. CHASING THE SHADOWS (Sentinels of the Galaxy, Book 2) is coming! November 18, 2019... mark your ca ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 113220 members — last activity 4 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
3801 Brandon Sanderson Community — 2734 members — last activity Sep 11, 2020 02:40PM
The community for people who love the works of Brandon Sanderson (Stormlight Archives, Elantris, Mistborn, Reckoners, Rithmatist, Arcanum Unbounded, L ...more
4738 Rothfussians — 4256 members — last activity Jul 14, 2020 09:45AM
Patrick Rothfuss needs a goodreads.com group! For fantasy fans and anyone that appreciates beautifully written books. Discuss The Name of the Wind, T ...more
More of Kathrine’s groups…
year in books
Iben
2,128 books | 129 friends

Sabrina
921 books | 339 friends

Gitte W...
718 books | 172 friends

Simone ...
1,430 books | 192 friends

Maria
2,171 books | 78 friends

Denlill...
1,917 books | 91 friends

Helene ...
1,141 books | 5,000 friends

Susbogblog
2,312 books | 199 friends

More friends…
Half a King by Joe Abercrombie
See YA in 2016
17 books — 21 voters
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. RowlingTwilight by Stephenie MeyerHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling
The BOOK was BETTER than the MOVIE
1,506 books — 18,581 voters

More…



Polls voted on by Kathrine

Lists liked by Kathrine