Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin

Add friend
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Chris.

http://elflands2ndcousin.com
https://www.goodreads.com/KingElflands2ndCousin

Hamlet on the Hol...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Chris’s Recent Updates

38325130
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book really liked it
Artificial Paradises by Charles Baudelaire
Rate this book
Clear rating
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book liked it
Orb Sceptre Throne by Ian C. Esslemont
Orb Sceptre Throne (Novels of the Malazan Empire #4)
by Ian C. Esslemont
recommended for: Fans of Steven Erikson and Ian C. Esslemont
Read 2 times
Rate this book
Clear rating

NOTE: This review first appeared on May 22, 2012 over at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin. If you enjoy it, please stop by!


As I've written about before (here, and here) I'm a big fan of the Malazan universe created by Steven Erikson and Ian C. Esslem

...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book really liked it
The Steel Seraglio by Mike Carey
The Steel Seraglio
by Mike Carey (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Fans of Cat Valente and Gregory Frost
Read 2 times
Rate this book
Clear rating
NOTE: This review first appeared on April 3rd, 2012 at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin . If you enjoy it, please stop by!

Several years ago, I discovered N.M. Penzer's The Harem: Inside the Grand Seraglio of the Turkish Sultans , which opened my ey
...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book liked it
Ride the Moon by M.L.D. Curelas
Ride the Moon
by M.L.D. Curelas (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Fans of eclectic fantasy from new voices
Read 2 times
Rate this book
Clear rating
When I think about the anthologies I have read, I tend to break them out into three different types: exploring a particular style (e.g. Supernatural Noir ed. Ellen Datlow, reviewed here), showcasing a particular sub-genre (e.g. Steampunk ed. Ann ...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book liked it
Southern Gods by John Hornor Jacobs
Southern Gods
by John Hornor Jacobs (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Fans of the Cthulhu Mythos, Lovecraft Fans, Southern Gothic Fans
Read 3 times
Rate this book
Clear rating
NOTE: This review first appeared at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin on January 17th, 2012. If you like it, please check out the web site!

Fiction has been mining myth since the first storyteller hushed a campfire crowd. Myths are - at some level -
...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book it was amazing
Fantastic by Tzvetan Todorov
Fantastic: A Structural Approach to a Literary Genre
by Tzvetan Todorov
recommended for: Fans of critical theory
Rate this book
Clear rating
NOTE: This review first appeared at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin on January 3rd, 2012. If you enjoy it, you'll find more stuff like it there!

Happy New Year! Now that the formalities are out of the way, I thought I'd take a few moments to share
...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book really liked it
Planesrunner by Ian McDonald
Planesrunner (Everness #1)
by Ian McDonald
recommended for: Fans of Ian McDonald's adult fiction and fans of YA SF like Kat Falls Dark Life
Read 2 times
Rate this book
Clear rating
NOTE: This review originally appeared at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin on December 13th, 2011. If you enjoy it, please come check us out!

As I've mentioned before, I am a huge fan of Ian McDonald's adult science fiction. His complex, multi-layere
...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book liked it
Down the Mysterly River by Bill Willingham
Down the Mysterly River
by Bill Willingham (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Fans of the Fables graphic novel series, fans of middle-grade adventure fantasy
Rate this book
Clear rating
NOTE: This review was first published on my blog at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin on October 4, 2011. If you enjoy this review, please come check out the rest of the blog!

I've been a fan of Bill Willingham's writing for years. His work on Vertig
...more
Chris King Elfland's 2nd Cousin rated a book liked it
With Fate Conspire by Marie Brennan
With Fate Conspire (Onyx Court, #4)
by Marie Brennan (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Fans of Non-romantic Urban Fantasy
Read 2 times
Rate this book
Clear rating
NOTE: This review was first published at The King of Elfland's 2nd Cousin on September 27, 2011. If you enjoy this review, please come take a look!

A while back, I received a review copy of Marie Brennan's With Fate Conspire , the fourth in her Ony
...more
More of Chris's books…
41948 Fantasy-Faction.com — 709 members — last activity Jan 01, 2017 01:36AM
Fantasy-Faction is a Fantasy Book Review Site and Forum Community. We review some of the genres leading titles as well as interview authors and post u ...more
Yyib badge
Greg
373 books | 20 friends

Sarah
1,367 books | 846 friends

Nicole
548 books | 118 friends

Danger
606 books | 3,469 friends

Domenic...
372 books | 2,303 friends

Melissa...
236 books | 4,999 friends

Jared S...
4,385 books | 463 friends

Fran
988 books | 220 friends

More friends…


Polls voted on by Chris

Lists liked by Chris