Cynthia

Add friend
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Cynthia.


Loading...
Dean F. Wilson
“Dynamite is loyal to the one who lights the fuse.”
Dean F. Wilson, Skyshaker

Dean F. Wilson
“Nox didn’t say a word. He waited, counting the seconds in his mind. Sometimes you counted bullets and sometimes you counted time. Either one could kill you.”
Dean F. Wilson, Rustkiller

Dean F. Wilson
“That was the trouble with explaining with words. If you explained with gunpowder, people listened.”
Dean F. Wilson, Dustrunner

Dean F. Wilson
“When writing, there are some scenes that are emotionally overwhelming. They completely overcome the author, and only when they do this can they cause a similar reaction in the reader.

Through this, the author gets to experience multiple lives. If a character's life flashes before their eyes, it flashes before the author's eyes too, and he or she remembers it as his or her own.

With reading, we get to live other lives vicariously, and this is doubly so with writing. It is like a lucid dream, where we guide the outcome. In this, we don't merely write *about* a character -- we momentarily *become* them, and walk as they walk, think as they think, and do as they do. When we return to our own life, we might return a little shaken, likely a little stronger, hopefully a little wiser.

What is certain is that we return better, because experiencing the lives of others makes us understand their aims and dreams, their fears and foils, the challenges and difficulties, and joys and triumphs, that they face. It helps us grow and empathise, and see all the little pictures that make up the bigger one we see from the omniscience of the narrator.”
Dean F. Wilson

Dean F. Wilson
“There are always periodic opportunities to give up, while every single moment is an opportunity to persevere.”
Dean F. Wilson

93271 Laura DeLuca (YA and NA Author) — 331 members — last activity Sep 30, 2013 05:17PM
For fans of Laura DeLuca and Young Adult and New Adult books. Laura's website: http://authorlauradeluca.blogspot.com/ Laura's author page on Faceboo ...more
115513 The Sarah Addison Allen Fan Group — 4460 members — last activity Feb 12, 2019 02:55AM
Where readers can discuss all things Sarah Addison Allen and receive exclusive sneak peeks from Sarah's enchanting novels. ...more
127053 Stacey's Squad (Author Stacey O'Neale) — 927 members — last activity May 05, 2020 09:57PM
In addition to book discussions, members of this group will have access to exclusive contests, ARC's, swag, tours, and much more. ...more
112736 Fire and Ice Book Promos: Reading Recommendations, Giveaways, & E-Book Deals — 562 members — last activity Mar 04, 2021 09:35PM
Looking for your next great read? See our featured books, author interviews, e-book deals and freebies, and giveaways! http://www.fireandicebooktours. ...more
124330 Readers That Love Giveaways, Ebook Deals, and Free Books! — 3378 members — last activity 2 hours, 46 min ago
This group is for readers, bloggers, & book lovers who enjoy entering giveaways, sweepstakes, and finding freebies! Hosted by Fire & Ice Book Promos. ...more
More of Cynthia’s groups…
year in books
Beth  (...
1,598 books | 3,038 friends

Mary
2,661 books | 4,947 friends

Lisa (l...
4,137 books | 1,756 friends

Lauren ...
11,950 books | 1,181 friends

Doug Co...
487 books | 3,789 friends

Wickedl...
1,436 books | 503 friends

Monica
689 books | 559 friends

Kenya W...
2,347 books | 2,796 friends

More friends…
Strong Heroine Series
1,476 books — 2,216 voters
Coilhunter by Dean F. Wilson
Best Alternate History
308 books — 716 voters

More…


Polls voted on by Cynthia

Lists liked by Cynthia