Rick Shrader

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Rick.

http://www.aletheiabaptistministries.org
https://www.goodreads.com/RickShrader

Add as a Friend Follow Reviews   Send Message | Compare Books





Rick’s Recent Updates

Rick Shrader has read
Israel and the Church by Ronald E. Diprose
Rate this book
Clear rating
Diprose is Academic Dean at the Istituto Biblico Evangelico Italiano in Rome. This is part of his PhD dissertation. He is also an MA from Trinity University. This is an interesting look at the history of Replacement Theology from the church fathers t ...more
Rick Shrader has read
A Call to Discernment by Jay E. Adams
Rate this book
Clear rating
Adams (the author of Competent to Counsel and many other books) wrote this book in 1987 which was reprinted in 1998. He defines discernment by first explaining that the world sees things in a “continuum thinking” with black and white being the extrem ...more
Rick Shrader has read
The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment by Tim Challies
Rate this book
Clear rating
I was given this book (a 2007 book) together with Jay Adams’ book (a 1987 book) on discernment. Challies does follow Adams a lot and even uses some of his very illustrations. For example his biographical note on A.W. Pink, how he left church altogeth ...more
Rick Shrader has read
Things Which Become Sound Doctrine by J. Dwight Pentecost
Rate this book
Clear rating
In my year of concentrating on reading more theology, some of these shorter books (See Ryrie, A Survey of Bible Doctrine in the January issue) serve as great refreshers and reminders of important doctrines. This is a 1965 edition from Pentecost, long ...more
Rick Shrader has read
This World, Playground or Battleground? by A.W. Tozer
Rate this book
Clear rating
What Christian doesn’t enjoy another book by A.W. Tozer? After all that I have read of Tozer over the years, this title was brought to my attention in a recent article and I had not read it. The publisher’s forward (for Wing Spread Publishers, Camphi ...more
Rick Shrader has read
Sackett by Louis L'Amour
Rate this book
Clear rating
I don’t know if you like reading things that are different from your normal reading and that allow your mind to rest a while. For me this is usually night-stand reading. I like western Americana and adventure, and I have reported before on Zane Grey, ...more
Rick Shrader has read
Thomas Cranmer by Colin Hamer
Rate this book
Clear rating
While visiting my son’s apartment, I spent the afternoon reading this small book which is in a series on church history. Having been in England many times and being interested in its history, especially from Henry VIII forward, I found this book fasc ...more
Rick Shrader has read
Jesus on Trial by David Limbaugh
Rate this book
Clear rating
I am always open to reading new material from a variety of authors. I have been interested in seeing and hearing David Limbaugh (the brother of the well known Rush) on television and radio because of his conversion to Christianity and his effective w ...more
Rick Shrader has read
Is God anti-gay? by Sam Allberry
Rate this book
Clear rating
In the midst of trying to read current material on the Christian & homosexuality issue I was given this little book at a seminar. Among the many issues facing believers on this subject is the proposition that people (including Christians) can hav ...more
Rick Shrader has read
The Trail of the Lonesome Pine by John Fox Jr.
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is my third John Fox, Jr. book. I like reading these westerns written in the vein of Grey and L’Amour. Fox wrote this in 1909 and my copy has three previous names in it, none of which are dated. This is a story about the Virginia and Kentucky wi ...more
More of Rick's books…
Rebekah...
108 books | 53 friends

Andy St...
52 books | 91 friends

Lyosha ...
3 books | 23 friends

Dan Per...
118 books | 48 friends

Debbie Rea
5 books | 30 friends

Pearl King
14 books | 12 friends

Aron M.
3 books | 2 friends



Favorite Genres



Polls voted on by Rick

Lists liked by Rick