Sharon Winters

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Sharon.


Add as a Friend Follow Reviews   Send Message | Compare Books





House of Many Gods
Sharon Winters is currently reading
by Kiana Davenport (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Sharon’s Recent Updates

House of Many Gods by Kiana Davenport
" Well, I never finished it, but the book group seemed to like it. Made it half-way through but was not compelled to finish it. "
Sharon Winters wants to read
Swapping Lives by Jane Green
Swapping Lives
by Jane Green (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sharon Winters has read
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sharon Winters wants to read
Madness by Marya Hornbacher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sharon Winters rated a book liked it
Cane River by Lalita Tademy
Cane River
by Lalita Tademy (Goodreads Author)
recommended to Sharon Winters by: Book Discussion Group
recommended for: Students interested in southern Black/White relations prior to 1940s, geneology buffs, Oprah Winfrey
Rate this book
Clear rating
Easy to read/interesting descriptions of how author's ancestors lived as poor blacks and interacted/intermarried in the Cane River region. Lots of characters but fortunately a family tree is included within the last pages of the book -- found too lat ...more
Sharon Winters rated a book it was amazing
The Bedford Boys by Alex Kershaw
Rate this book
Clear rating
True story of inexperienced Reserves from Bedford Virginia are trained to fight in the first wave of D-day (Normandy). It would not have interested me had I not seen the opening scene of Saving Private Ryan.
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
" Incredible story of someone that uses her upbringing (by parents with totally selfish wacked-out values) to become an accepting, non-judging, producti ...more "
Sharon Winters rated a book it was amazing
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sharon Winters rated a book it was amazing
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
A Thousand Splendid Suns
by Khaled Hosseini (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Fans of The Kite Runner, Anyone wanting insight into how women are treated by the Taliban
Rate this book
Clear rating
I was concerned that I was expecting too much after reading the "Kite Runner" but I wasn't disappointed. Provided me with my first insight into how pervasive the Taliban is and how basic rights are not universal.
Sharon Winters rated a book it was amazing
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini (Goodreads Author)
recommended for: Everyone: Males/Female Young/Old
Rate this book
Clear rating
Touching story of relationships, "doing the right thing", courage, survival and those left behind. After finishing this book I recognized how many books I've dismissed simply because they take place in a different culture.
More of Sharon's books…
Karencl...
337 books | 19 friends

Marci
36 books | 4 friends

Laura
14 books | 7 friends

Molly D
4 books | 7 friends




Polls voted on by Sharon

Lists liked by Sharon