The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > New Kid in Town

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Andra (new)

Andra (aezadnik) Hey all!
My name's Andra and I'm a grad student at Boston University getting my Master's in Fine Arts with a concentration in Film Studies.

I adore communities online that are specifically tailored to my specific interests, so I was really excited when I found out about goodreads!

I'm constantly reading to avoid writing my thesis (bad grad student!) and love to hear about new books and recommendations. I recently realized I love epic books. The ones that tell long, life tales. They don't have to be too long or weigh a ton in my bag but they do need to have that something that takes me on a journey I never want to end.

I can't wait to really dig into this group and to goodreads in general. I hope to hear some suggestions and all as soon as possible, and share my insights as well. Thanks guys!

message 2: by Jeane (new)

Jeane | 4891 comments Welcome Andra. I know we should tell you to write your thesis but....enjoy the reading!

message 3: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (TNBBC) | 9633 comments Mod
Hi Andrea... welcome! Reading is a great reason to avoid those nasty school papers and thesis requirements! Keep up the great work :)

message 4: by Fiona (new)

Fiona (bookcoop) Welcome Andrea. I always used reading to avoid doing any work at uni. In fact, I'd take a 3 hour lunch just to read over a cup of coffee and a sandwich. I used to work for about 8-10 hour shifts in the uni library though but I always took a one hour break to read my book whilst still in the library. I never felt guilty.

message 6: by Heather (new)

Heather (hsditto) Hi Andra! This is such a fun group, I know you will love it here! There are lots of great discussions to join in on and tons of wonderful book recommendations to look forward to. I look forward to reading your posts :)