Warhammer 40k lovers discussion

Stories > Treyton Entails

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Henry (new)

Henry | 6 comments Mod
The corridor was long, and I was cold even as I walked down between the oak fires. Even their warmth could not begin to combat the frigid temperatures. Perhaps the people of this world were used to it, growing up and dying here. As if the planet had affected their evolution, to form some kind of immunity. But, unlike them, I was not born here. I was still chattering from a two minute walk outside. I was born on a desolate, barren world, filled with heat and nausea. The only thing that kept me from dying here was those oak fires which slowly thawed the icicles from my hair, the mucus in my nostrils, and the saliva soon to dribble down my chin. But that’s beside the point. I was here for one reason. I was The Best of the Best. I was a Cadian officer. That was the reputation of the Cadian guard. But it wasn’t true for us all. I was just an average fellow, who got the luck of the Cadian draw to go off-world. It’s a frightening thing really. You never know what you were going to face. And I was not The Best of the Best.