Women Who Love Books Too Much discussion

Any Writers?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ashley (new)

Ashley (readerandwriter) Are there any writers in this group?

I'm a writer :). I actually had my very first book published. It is called "My Written Thoughts" . It is a compilation of poems I wrote over a period of 4 and 1/2 years.

message 2: by Alice (new)

Alice Gold (alicewgold) I think that everyone has a writer inside. Some of us just really want to be a writer, unlike others who cosider themselves published writers and others who just have the capability to write, but don't care for the artform.

I write, but do not consider myself a writer. I don't know what will make me a writer. I don't think it has anything to do with being published, but that may help.? I hope that at some point in my life, I will be confident enough in my writing to call myself a writer. That will truly be a lifelong ambition come true.

Does any writer out there have any suggestions in how to become a true writer?

message 3: by Cathy (new)

Cathy | 48 comments Mod
i saw that you are a writer, ashley, and wondered about your book. it is so fun that you are a poet.
i have a daughter-in-love who is a poet. her work always astounds and impresses me. she is, alas, not published. but she may not have ever tried to be published. i gave her a copy of Sylvia Plath's poems which she ate with a splash of milk and bourbon chaser.
I have written a dissertation. does this make me a writer? probably not. oh well ...

message 4: by Ashley (new)

Ashley (readerandwriter) Being published does not make you a writer. If you write poems, anectdotes, stories, true stories, etc., you are a writer. I don't think there is such a thing as a "true writer". Anyone can be a writer...i think its a matter of if that person percieves themselves as a writer or not.