Litwit Lounge discussion

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Reggia (last edited Mar 10, 2009 03:56PM) (new)

Reggia | 2284 comments Poets and poetry...

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Well, my favorite poet is Edgar Allan Poe so I am also on a list for him. A stamp just came out for him and its a good one.
I also like Robert Frost which I guess everyone does.

message 3: by Reggia (new)

Reggia | 2284 comments I've enjoyed the few Robert Frost poems I've read, I think all in collections such as textbooks.

message 4: by Rhonda (last edited Mar 10, 2009 10:25AM) (new)

Rhonda (rhondak) For some reason or other, I suppose my laconic mood, I began thinking of Gerard Manley Hopkins this morning. I was introduced to him by a very close Jewish friend who was in graduate school in literature when I studied philosophy. I thought it odd that she was reading a Jesuit poet, but she found his poetry revealing. She often told me I didn't deserve Hopkins because I was not willing to put forth the effort to understand him and perhaps, at the time, she was right. I am in awe of how he used words in primitive ways, for not only their meaning, but also their sound.

Patience, hard thing! the hard thing but to pray,
But bid for, Patience is! Patience who asks
Wants war, wants wounds; weary his time, his tasks;
To do without, take tosses, and obey.
GMH #68

message 5: by [deleted user] (last edited Mar 10, 2009 07:51PM) (new)

Very interesting but very hard to understand for me Rhonda. Long ago someone once told me never to pray for patience.

The book I am reading now Following the Sun has many poems about the sun I have never read before. One is:

O Day-spring, Brightness of the Light eternal, and Sun of Justice, come and enlighten those who sit in darkness and the shadow of death.
Roman Catholic: The Great Antiphon
(traditionally sung on the day of the winter solstice)

Also:

E pur si muove