Tips for Self Promotion, Sales, and Advertising discussion

How does everyone prioritize their promotions?

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jennie (new)

Jennie (jennienash) | 7 comments I'm new to Goodreads and to this group, and I would love to ask how everyone prioritizes the time they spend on various promotions when they have a book coming out. My fifth book will be out next month (a novel called The Only True Genius in the Family) and I am so swamped doing a virtual book tour, with all the attendent guest blogs and Q&As, etc., that I barely have time to do anything else. How do you know whether it's best to spend that time on GoodReads, for example....or Twitter or LinkedIn or MySpace? How do you know what works?

message 2: by Bradley (new)

Bradley | 19 comments Hello Jennie, I spend most of my time lurking on Goodreads. I suppose it depends on your subject manner to be able to garner people's interest. =)

http://www.cardshark.com/content/view...

message 3: by G.R. (new)

G.R. (grcollia) I think discovering which sites work best for you is a case of trial and error. I signed up for so many sites, but as the weeks have passed I've drifted away from many of them as they simply didn't work for me.

Goodreads and Red Room are my favourites. I like the sense of community here... I think Goodreads is quite unique.

message 4: by Rowena (new)

Rowena (rowenacherry) | 334 comments Mod
Jennie,

A lot depends on your genre. Some of my friends see a real boost in sales from MySpace. Others are doing stealth marketing by setting up Pages on Facebook and then playing various games (such as piratesrule) to make friends with their target audience without appearing to promote their books.

Whatever else you do, subscribe to penny sansevieri's newsletter penny@amarketingexpert.com

Best wishes,
Rowena Cherry

message 5: by Jennie (new)